We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Back in time...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Econo Lodge Rockville

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Econo Lodge Rockville to your Saves list
Econo Lodge Rockville
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1659 East US Hwy 36, Rockville, IN 47872 (Formerly Billie Creek Inn)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Rockville
Indianapolis, Indiana
1 review
“Back in time...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2010

We stayed two nights. Furnishings and amenities are old and shabby, yet clean. This is an old-fashioned hotel with a meager continental breakfast, old TVs, and a dark floral 50s feel. The event for which we were registered--the Parke County Bicycle Tour 2010--started right next to the hotel, so the location was perfect for us.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    10
    7
    2
    15
See reviews for
8
14
Solo
0
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Indiana
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2009

The hotel itself was not bad but the management was terrible! During a mix up with the rate quoted previously at booking and the rate given to us at check in, the owner/manager became irrate and started yelling at us. He even threatened to call the police on us! (a bunch of middle aged women trying to enjoy themselves at the Covered Bridge Festival) We were treated like we were worthless. After finally coming to an agreement we spent the night on beds as hard as rocks. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange Co, Indiana
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2009

The owner/manager done a bait & switch on us. I was quoted a rate first, then I made the reservation with that rate and even confirmed everything a month prior to visit and was given the same rate. When we went to check in, he demanded a higher rate due to a local festival occuring. He was irate, yelling at us, threatened to call the police. He basically called me a liar because he said no one there would have given me such a rate. I have never been treated in such a manner. Several patrons came out of their rooms because of the yelling and witnessed the scene. I didn't get his name but he is Hindu and as long as he owns this inn, I would never return and recommend that no one else does either.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martinsville
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2009

As the current State Chair for Kairos of Indiana; we reserve 25 rooms at the Billie Creek Inn in May and November. We have stayed in a couple of hotels in Rockville, and have visited several others. This is by far the nicest we reviewed; quiet, clean, continental breakfast, brand new pillows came in our first night there on our May visit. The beds are comfortable. The Hotel is only a few miles away from Rockville Correctional Facility where we deliver a 3 1/2 day short course on Christianity. We have already signed our contract for 25 rooms in November 2009. We strongly recommend this hotel, as the hotel of choice in Rockville. Frank Rowe, 2009 State Chair, Kairos of Indiana

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carroll, IA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2009

I sent a group to Billie Creek Inn on the last night of a 10 day trip and unfortunately it was a very bad experience for the group. There were 43 people in my group and we were occupying 25 of the 30 rooms at the Inn and the owners had no idea how to handle a group that size, they did not have keys ready for them and wanted to check everyone in one at a time which doesn't work with a group that size. When they got to their rooms, they had to open the windows because of the horrible smoke smell throughout the hotel (we were told it was non smoking)and our club director was put in the honeymoon suite and there was dust so thick in that room that you just knew it hadn't been used or cleaned in awhile. Most time with a group that size we have baggage handling and if it's not something the hotel usually does, they will hire someone local kids or people to help with luggage but that was not offered or available to us at Billie Creek Inn. Some people in the parking lot (who were also staying at the hotel) offered to help some of our elderly people with their luggage but no one from the hotel offered. Over all it was not a good way to end a trip for this group.

  • Stayed April 2009
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2009

I go to Billie Creek Every Year to reenact. I don't stay in a tent due to the fact I am a yound drummer boy and have not been in reenacting all that long. The location is only a two minute walk from the historic living museum of Billie Creek Village. The staff was helpful and friendly, plus the rooms were very nice. If you're coming to Billie Creek, IN, this is the place to stay!

  • Stayed June 2008
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearwater, FL
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2008

My wife and I visited Parke County the first week in October 2008 and stayed at the Billie Creek Inn. After checking other local accommodations, the Billie Creek Inn was definitely the best value.

We found our room to be clean, quiet and spacious, and the new owners were very cordial and helpful. The Internet access was faster than most other places we stayed on this trip.

We highly recommend you consider this motel for your visit to Parke County.

RHW

  • Liked — Friendly Owners, Clean Room, Good Value
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Econo Lodge Rockville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Rockville

Address: 1659 East US Hwy 36, Rockville, IN 47872 (Formerly Billie Creek Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > Rockville
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Rockville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge Rockville 2*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Choice Hotels, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Econo Lodge Rockville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Billie Creek Hotel Rockville

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Econo Lodge Rockville, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.