We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a better average” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn Rochester

Comfort Inn Rochester
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Inn Rochester to your Saves list
Comfort Inn Rochester
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   289 McDonald Dr., Rochester, IN 46975-8029   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Rochester
Slovakia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“a better average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

in its price category, it is a good hotel, although its obvious that it needs some maintenance and reparations. Mainly bath area looked like its getting old.
But room was clean. Bed comfortable, Cable TV,, AC quiet.
2 Things I couldnt get used to. The window couldnt be open, so the whole time you are running on AC air. Second thing was a certain, light, hotel smell. Wasnt bad, but not something I can consider as normal.
Stuff was very friendly and helpful with anything needed. I personally valuate good food recommendation [not a fast food] in such a small town like Rochester.
Hotel is surrounded by different shops, so one can buy daily stuff easily.
Breakfast is typical for US. Cookies, pancakes, eggs, joghurt, fruits, toasts.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    9
    12
    7
    1
See reviews for
5
5
3
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rayleigh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

Stayed here for a few days: room was comfortable although the hot breakfast was a bit repetitive with mini burgers and eggs each morning. The staff are outstanding here, helpful courteous and super friendly, whatever they are paid - it's not enough. Would recommend for a pit-stop if you are passing through and need a room for the night.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TMoore2013, General Manager at Comfort Inn Rochester, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Thank You for takeing time to fill out our survey. Your feedback helps us to understand and correct areas that we need to improve in. We are happy you enjoyed your stay and the staff also thanks you for the Compliments. We hope you will stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Bend, Indiana
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

I used to stay in Comfort Inns a lot but have moved away from it due to properties like this. I thought Comfort Inns were the "top" of the line for this chain, but the standards appear to be lower than before. The staff person on duty (she indicated that for the evening/night, she was the only person on duty - not really a very wise thing to tell customers) was nice enough. The room had a strange smell to it and the room was pretty worn - a couple of small stains on the carpet, etc. The bathroom was very poorly lit, especially when the shower curtain was pulled. There was rust on the shower surround near the spigot, with paint peeling as well. If Choice Hotels chain wants to keep customers, they need to pay some attention to facilities such as this.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TMoore2013, sales associate at Comfort Inn Rochester, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
We are very sorry we did not meet your expectations. Your response will help us to address these issues. Thank You.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

We stayed 5 nights while visiting family. The room was comfortable & the breakfast ready as advertised each morning. Staff was friendly & helpful. We did a prepaid stay so it cut the room cost by $20 a night - making the overall price nominal. Workout room extremely small & not in the best repair. Pool filled with dirt - but not an advertised feature. A grocery store, Walmart & every possible fast food choice w/in walking distance.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewisville, Texas
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

Had a very pleasant stay. Hotel was comfortable and clean. Room was a nice size. Shower and bathroom were good. Television worked without snow. Parking was convenient. Clerk was very nice and helpful. Breakfast had a variety of items. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

We were planning on driving to another city, but it became too late to make it. So, we found this motel. The desk clerk was very accomodating. We were able to park our pickup and trailer right in front of the motel. The room seemed clean. This is not a newly built motel, but not too badly outdated. The bedspread was terribly wrinkled,so don't know why that was. The bed seemed to curve to the middle. When we opened our curtain, there was what was formerly the outdoor swimming pool! It was grown full of tall weeds! The pool furniture was mostly tipped over and there were weeds growing in the cemented area around the pool. We did see the desk clerk taking her break, smoking and sitting out there. The tub did not drain well and we ended up standing in water while showering. Perhaps the thing that most bothered me, was that we could hear through the walls! I first noticed it when I heard a man's and child's voices. I couldn't hear their exact words, just the sound of talking. Later, when I was still watching TV and they must have retired for the night, I could hear the man coughing very clearly! When I did turn off the TV and went to bed, I could not only hear the first man cough, but could hear the TV and another man coughing in the room on the other side of our room! The topper is that my husband told me that he was awakened during the night by the sounds of a lady - in the next room - enjoying sex!!!!!!
I will add that they did have a great free breakfast with many choices! I did buy a bottle of water from the beverage machine and it was dated March, 2013 (we were there May,2013)!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huron, Ohio
Top Contributor
153 reviews 153 reviews
104 hotel reviews
Reviews in 98 cities Reviews in 98 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

I have stayed at this location before for business and did again this week. Best stay of all the times I've been here. Room 102 was good overall. Hotel is dated, but pretty we'll kept up. Front desk service was very good. Breakfast selection is good overall as well. I would recommend this location. The pool has been filled in.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Inn Rochester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Rochester

Address: 289 McDonald Dr., Rochester, IN 46975-8029
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > Rochester
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Rochester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Inn Rochester 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Choice Hotels, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Comfort Inn Rochester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rochester Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn Rochester, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.