We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sort of sad” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Quality Inn

Quality Inn
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Quality Inn to your Saves list
Quality Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   289 McDonald Dr., Rochester, IN 46975-8029 (Formerly Comfort Inn Rochester)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Rochester
Shawnee Mission, Kansas
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Sort of sad”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

The property is not consistently maintained and has a run down feel to it. Access to the second floor was through a stairwell with peeling paint and perpetually sticky doors. Outside trash cans stayed full to overflowing.
Inside, both our room and the lobby/breakfast area were clean. There was the standard assortment of breakfast options and staff made sure things never ran out.
Check-in and check-out went smoothly and they made an effort to be friendly and welcoming.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    9
    13
    7
    1
See reviews for
5
5
3
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Indiana
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2011

We spent a night here over the July 4th weekend. The hotel is older, and it shows in a few areas. The bathrooms are really in need of renovation. The ceiling in our room showed signs of leaking in the past. The room itself, and the beds seemed to be a little newer, and I found the bed to actually be really comfortable. We didn't have any problems with noise, and the air conditioning worked fine even on a hot summer night.
The staff we encountered were all very friendly and helpful, especially the woman working the breakfast area. She was super friendly, and made sure everything remained available right up to the end of the breakfast service times. I've stayed at several places and if you get there in the last 15 you are lucky to get some toast, but not here, she was on top it. We did book this hotel partly because it had an outdoor pool available. Sadly, the pool was very small, and I'm not sure what had gone on in it the day before, but it was the murkiest cloudiest pool water I think I have ever seen. I was definatley not getting in that. We did spend some time outside around the pool, and it was very peaceful and quiet.

Great location, comfortable beds, friendly staff, but really in need of a bathroom renovation, and the addition of an elevator would be fantastic.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corydon, Indiana
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2011

I was traveling from Holland, Mi back home to Corydon, In. I had been on the road 7 hrs to Mi taking my nephew home, hoping to make the 7 hr trip back home that night. By 4:30 am I was very tired. So I stopped in Rochester off 31 and pulled into the Comfort Inn. Front desk girl was very nice. She gave me a king size bed for full bed price and late check out of 1:00 pm. Room was very clean, bed was comfy. By the time I showered and tried to wind down to go to sleep it was about 6 am and guest were getting up and making an awful racket. The walls are very thin, I could hear everything. I called the front desk and relayed my dilema ask for a box fan, she gladly brought me one, I turned that baby on high and slept like a log. Now that is service!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2010

Very nice rooms, clean and quiet, and a great staff. We will be back at this hotel!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2010

This Comfort Inn is a quiet and apparently older hotel (no elevator) but we found it to be clean and comfortable for a reasonable price. There were already enough towels and washcloths for 4 persons in our room so we didn't have to go looking for more. The breakfast was OK with the usual fare - doughnuts, bagels, hot and cold cereal, make-your-own-waffle, yogurt, etc. but nothing to rave about. The staff was friendly and apologetic about our one complaint - we could not use the outdoor pool. because the maintenance person had recently put chemicals in the pool. When we arrived at about 6:30 pm, we were told the pool could not be used for 12 hours - a major disappointment after a long hot day with two kids, 8 and 3 yrs old, who had been looking forward all afternoon to having fun in the pool. For gosh sakes, let the guests use the pool in the early evening and put chemicals in later at night after the pool is closed. Other than irritation about the closed pool, this was an OK hotel.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2010

We travel to Rochester, Indiana each year for a big 4th of July party which includes extended family members from across the country. We always stay at the Comfort Inn, as the location is perfect. It's right off US 31, so it's easy to find as well. There is a Wal-Mart, gas station, & fast food restaurants all within walking distance. You are literally five minutes from them. We always get a non smoking room, & never have had an issue with smelling smoke from other rooms. The room itself & the bathroom were very clean. We did not have any problems with the plumbing, & water was always hot for showers. Staff couldn't have been nicer. The breakfast was substantial, with yogurt, fruits, cereals, sweet rolls, coffee, juice, & waffles. We do not eat big breakfasts though, so it was perfect for us. The motel has a new manager, & it was apparent that the motel is in the process of making many positive changes. There is a small pool, but we were too busy to use it. It looked clean & well kept. I had my laptop & found it easy to get on line with the code the hotel provided at check in. No, it isn't a 5 Star motel, but it's clean, comfortable, & close to everything in Rochester. BTW, if you're there in the summer, be sure & stop by the Flag Pole for ice cream. They have great Hot Fudge Sundaes! Also, a fun way to spend an afternoon, is at Amish Acres, which is just Northeast of Rochester.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frog Jump, TN
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2009

The room was pretty clean. My biggest complaint was the bathroom. It was as clean as was possible considering the deterioration. Stained and marked tub with cracking paint made the bathroom feel dirty even though i really found no signs of actual dirt. The connecting room door was not very secure without a knob on it. Walls were drab. The beds were surprisingly comfortable and the beadspreads appeared fairly new. I've stayed in worse, but wouldn't stay here unless I had no other location choices.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Rochester hotels

Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Quality Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn

Address: 289 McDonald Dr., Rochester, IN 46975-8029 (Formerly Comfort Inn Rochester)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > Rochester
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Rochester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Quality Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Choice Hotels, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Quality Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Rochester
Rochester Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quality Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.