We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Step Back in Time” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Streamliner Restaurant

Streamliner Restaurant
201 East 9th Street, Rochester, IN 46975
(574) 223-4656
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 29 Restaurants in Rochester
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch
Rochester, Indiana
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Step Back in Time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

This place is a gem. They have a glass cabinet with antique items which is neat to look at. The "ice-cream social" room is very cool and fits partys. This is my favorite place to stop for pie and old fashioned sodas. They have Green-Rivers, Suicides and my favorite Marshmellow Cokes. The service is good, but I am not there are amazing service or to be entertained. They do have a lunch counter which is retro and fun to sit with the kids.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    6
    7
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rochester
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Too expensive”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

I have lived here in Rochester for twenty years and have only been here a handful of times. The food is good but the prices are way out of line for anyone trying to eat affordably. there are much better deals at other local restaurants. Both times I have ordered carryout my order has been wrong. The tenderloin sandwich is very good but also expensive.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nappanee, Indiana
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Overrated and overpriced”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

Food was good but certainly nothing special. Very expensive for what you get. I know a lot of people love this place, but I can only imagine that is because of tradition rather than an individual decision to eat here.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mrs.rose@cox.net
Level Contributor
74 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Best down-home meals! Takes me back to my childhood!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Best item on the menu, hands-down is their tenderloin sandwich. We used to go every Sunday when I was a child. Now when I go back to Indiana for a visit I make time to visit the Streamliner for my fix. Still family owned and ran and still have familiar faces like Deb! She's the best!

In fact, last visit I took 1 dozen frozen tenderloins home with me and shipped them on dry ice. That's how good they are! Service is top notch also and best bang for your buck.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, Indiana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Family restaurant with overpriced food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

Nice booth style family restaurant with a great selection, but too expensive for my family to return.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Streamliner Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Streamliner Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Streamliner Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.