We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel for a night's stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Super 8 Remington

Super 8 Remington
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Super 8 Remington to your Saves list
Super 8 Remington
4278 W Us 24, Remington, IN 47977   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Remington
Virginia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Good hotel for a night's stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2011

We were driving a long leg of a road trip from norther WI, through Chicago to VA in terrible weather, and ended up on a very deserted stretch of highway in Indiana very late at night. There are not many places to stay along this road, and they seem VERY far apart when you are exhausted from a long drive in terrible weather. We found this hotel just in time! Room was clean, beds were comfortable. There was a flat screen TV, in the room, which was nice. This seems like a fairly new, or newly renovated hotel. The girl at the desk was friendly and helpful. The area seemed safe (our room's window looked out onto acres and acres of farmland). The breakfast was basic (danishes, bagles, fruit) but it was enough for our needs. The price seemed a little high for the quality of hotel, but we were "walk-ins" and I imagine if we booked ahead online it would have been a better price, but at the time, it was WELL WORTH the price.

  • Stayed November 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    24
    16
    12
    7
See reviews for
28
7
4
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Goodland, Indiana
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2010

this hotel was very nice , had a game room and fitness room, kept my teens busy at minimal cost as ping pong was free. breakfast was better than i would have at home. room was clean, lots of channels on tv, wireless internet was a plus. staff was friendly.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elgin, Illinois
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2010

I liked the large screen LCD tv and the extra space in our room. Had a big refrigerator, but didn't use it. It was nice to see free table tennis in the game room. The problems: our Smoke-Free room smelled so much like smoke I could smell it on my clothes when I opened up my suit case when I got home. When we got to the room we opened the bathroom door and an insect flew out. When I used the bathroom in the middle of the night there were at least 15 ants crawing aorund on the bathroom floor. I didn't eat any breakfast during our stay becasue I was worried if the food was safe from bugs. The water pressure was horrible. The hotel doesn't allow pets, but there were three dogs staying there -- we had to put our dog in a kennel becasue they said there are no pets allowed and there are signs everywhere saying the same. I asked one dog owner if the hotel knew his dog was there and he said they did. The pillows on the bed were far too big to use. Only got a few hours of sleep because I couldn't fall asleep.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2010

The toilet was dirty and shower didn't provide enough water pressure. Wireless Hi-speed Internet worked. Quiet area. Does not allow pets, which is a plus. Would rate this motel as acceptable overall.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2009

The hotel itself was ok, we stayed there because we were going to Indiana Beach, it was a much longer drive than we thought. The hotel itself is ok, my problem was with the staff. There is a truck stop next door and a few fast food joints, we didnt want any of those. They didnt really know of any other places to eat. Then when we checked in the girls at the desk seemed upset that they had to get up from their dinner, they were eating in the lobby, also the lobby smelled of a dirty bathroom.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marshfield, WI
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2007

There isn't anything special about this hotel. The rooms are pretty much standard issue (hard beds & pillows). I don't know if it's an Indiana thing or Super 8 thing, but we had to pay in full for our room prior to getting the keys. Pet owners should be warned that they no longer allow them in the hotel!

The continental breakfast is ok. There's coffee and juice and a couple cereal choices and breads. About all you can expect for the price you pay for the room.

Don't be fooled by the pictures... the cute little pool in the pictures no longer exists. It's all covered over now. One of the main reasons we stayed there was because of the pool (we travel with children) and now it is going to be a conference room or something.

  • Liked — Convenient location for travel itinerary
  • Disliked — No pool and hard beds
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Appleton
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2005

Stayed twice trip from WI to NC. Bed was good. Shower heads need replacing, and exhaust fan in both rooms we stayed in needed to be replaced. Cont bkfst was not much. For a place south of Chicago and north of Indy, to spend one night, it was Okay.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Super 8 Remington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Remington

Address: 4278 W Us 24, Remington, IN 47977
Location: United States > Indiana > Remington
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Remington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, TripOnline SA and Travelocity so you can book your Super 8 Remington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super Eight Remington
Remington Super 8
Remington Super Eight

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Super 8 Remington, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.