We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic value and service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Country Inn & Suites Portage

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Country Inn & Suites Portage to your Saves list
Country Inn & Suites Portage
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1630 Olmsted Drive, Portage, IN 46368   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book early and Save 15%
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Portage
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersSilver level
Milford, PA
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Fantastic value and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

We stayed here for Thanksgiving 2012 (11/21-11/24/12). The outdoor grounds are well maintained and the check in area is warm & welcoming (love the fireplace). We booked a family room online, but were given the better Government rate @ check in (none were available when we first booked). We opted for the more quiet room (away from highway & vending) for the extra $. It was well worth the cost. The family suite is furnished with a King sized bed in a seperate room from the common area with 2 twin beds. All beds were by Tempurpedic (we love ours). Karen (General Manager) and all of her staff were attentive, informative, professional and courteous. They addressed any issues we had immediately and gave wonderful recommendations for local places to eat. If you are ever in the area (about an hour to hour & half from Chicago), this is the place to stay. Their workout equipment is sturdy and the pool area is wonderful for families with small children. It has a slide for the kids in their own pool, hot tub & another family pool.

Room Tip: Request the room upgrade at booking for a quiet room. Although it costs a little more, it is well wo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jimdaly, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites Portage, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Thank you so much for your kind words.

Our staff members will be pleased to see your comments and to know that their hard work has yet again paid off in a teriffic guest experience.

Now if we could just get the word out to everyone about how great the Portage area is our mission would be completed.

Please come back to see us soon.

Happy Holidays to you and your family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    148
    56
    17
    9
    2
See reviews for
151
21
7
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Willmar, MN
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

Nice room, one of our beds was great, the other was average. Rooms were clean and staff was EXCELLENT! Carpets need to be cleaned. We stay often at the Country Inn and Suites chain and are always pleased. Breakfast was "typical."

Room Tip: Get the suites!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jimdaly, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites Portage, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Dano thanks for taking the time to share your experience. We are very pleased that you had a pleasant stay with us.

We hope the next time you are in the Portage area that you will choose us again as your temporary home.

Happy holidays to you and your family!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012 via mobile

I was overjoyed to find such a wonderful place for my family of five to stay. We have a four-year-old, a three-year old, and a baby. The two room suites, with two twin beds in the suite area and a king size bed in the bedroom was ideal! There is coffee, tea, cookies and fruit all day and evening in the reception area, which is perfect!! I love my coffee! The pool area has a kiddie splash pool with frog slide, plus a hot tub, and a full sized pool! There's a workout room and great breakfasts! Last but not least, there is a lending library with books for kids and adults. Also, the staff was very pleasant and friendly and very helpful. i felt like the staff treated us as if we were guests of a five star resort. I was so happy with our stay. This place was perfect! Oh, and there is a drive-thru Starbucks, McDonalds, a deli sandwich place, Lonestar steak, and a Quaker Steak and Lube all within easy walking distance! (LOVE)!!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jimdaly, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites Portage, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
We have a huge base of corporate clients who spend time with us every week but when it comes down to what we do best, its taking care of families. We are all about families.

When you come here and allow us acces to your most precious belongings, your family members we owe you. We owe you an experience they will remember. We owe you value for your money. We owe you a safe envoirnment in which your family can have fun without security worries and we owe you our complete attention and best effort at all times.

Please come back to see us soon.

Happy holidays to you and your family!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012 via mobile

Rooms were very nice and clean. Love the beds in the room. Bathroom was very nice big and updated. Breakfast was okay the staff could have been more friendly. My daughter loved the kiddy pool with the slide. Overall a nice place. Would stay again and recommend to family and friends.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jimdaly, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites Portage, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Marie to have you recommend us to others is the ultimate compliment. It means we have done our job and you received an experience to remember. I cant think of anything better than that.

Please come back to see us again very soon.

Happy holidays to you and your family!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrews, IN
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

My wife and I took some family friends to Chicago for a weekend and decided to use this hotel as our base. We stayed in a family suite which was essentially a two bedroom suite, one with two double beds for the kids and one with a king bed for us. The kids room also included a microwave, fridge, and sink. The bathroom was roomy with a good shower. Our room was the first one from the parking lot, so in and out was easy as well. Price was acceptable, service was adequate and the kids loved the pool area. Breakfast had a lot of hot options as well as plenty of other breakfast options. I would recommend this place to anyone with kids who have to stay for a couple of days while in the Northwest Indiana area.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jimdaly, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites Portage, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
William, hosting you and your family was our pleasure. We take the responsibility of looking after your family very seriously and are proud to have made your stay in NW Indiana a pleasant one.

We hope that you and your family will grace us with your presence again the next time you come back our way.

Happy holidays to you and your family!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torrance
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

We stayed here for almost a week during our vacation in Indiana. We had plenty of room to get comfortably settled in while we did our hiking and visiting in the area. We took advantage of many amenities which enhanced our experience in pleasant surroundings. Our ground floor room was located close to the parking area, making it easy to transfer to and from our car. The property was clean and well maintained by a courteous staff.

Many families stayed here over the weekend taking advantage of an attractive, large pool and game area.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jimdaly, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites Portage, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
NW Indiana and in particular the Portage area has so much to offer for vacationing families. From great beaches to great fishing to great fish restaurants and great hotels, we have it all!

We are so pleased that you choose to stay with us during your vacation and that we were able to add to your enjoyment of this great City and area. We are truly blessed to be residence and to have great visitors like you spending time with us.

Have a wonderful holiday season and please come back to see us very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, Michigan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

After reading great reviews of this hotel, I was excited for our stay. Maybe I am harder to please, but I felt for the cost of the room, this hotel was not such a great value. We had a double queen room for our family. We could have used more space and thought about asking for an upgrade, but with the small amount of time we expected to be there, we didn't think it was worth any more money. We were able to check in early which was very helpful. The room had many stains on the floor and the bedspreads. And the beds were made in a very sloppy manner which begs to wonder how well they were cleaned prior to our arrival. No cookies at the front like the kids were expecting and when there was, they were under cooked. Hotel staff other than check in/check out were very friendly and the breakfast staff were very nice. Check in staff were just kinda impersonable. The pool has a very high chlorine content, don't expect to be able to hang out there more than 30 minutes. The pool does have long hours and that is a plus. We didn't have any problem with noise and in general our stay was just okay. Pretty sure another trip to this area would have me looking around for other options.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jimdaly, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites Portage, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
First of all we are Sox fans here so we will not hold it against you that you are a Tigers fan lol.

Clearly we didnt live up to your expectations and I am sorry for that. It is always our goal to provide clean and confortable accomodations and to do so at a price point that is acceptable to our guests. We let you down and feel badly for having done so.

Please come back the next time you are in the area and we will provide you with the type of experience that you expect and deserve.

Happy holidays to you and your family!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Country Inn & Suites Portage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites Portage

Address: 1630 Olmsted Drive, Portage, IN 46368
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > Portage
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Portage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites Portage 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located near the the Indiana Dunes National Lakeshore and just 1 mile from Portage's Riverwalk beach park. We are a family friendly hotel with a large aquatic center featuring a kiddie pool, hot tub, swimming pool and an arcade area. We offer a great free breakfast every morning that includes fresh homemade waffles, various hot items like sausage and eggs as well as lots of fruits and cereals. We are just 45 minutes from downtown Chicago with great rail service available daily until midnight or later. The famed Lighthouse Outlet mall is less than 20 minutes away as are numerous casinos. Portage is a great place to vacation or just visit. Our beaches are second to none and our people are friendly and always inviting.. The famed Steel Mills of NW Indiana are just minutes away from the hotel so business clients are always welcomed. Specially negotiated rates are available for all contractors and vendors doing business with the mills. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Carlson, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Country Inn & Suites Portage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn & Suites Portage Hotel Portage
Country Inn And Suites Portage
Country Inn Portage
Portage Country Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Country Inn & Suites Portage, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.