We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BEST STEAKHOUSE IN PORTAGE” 5 of 5 stars
Review of LongHorn Steakhouse

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
LongHorn Steakhouse
1650 Olmstead Drive, Portage, IN 46368
219-762-5911
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 71 Restaurants in Portage
Cuisines: Steakhouse
Restaurant details
Portage, Indiana
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“BEST STEAKHOUSE IN PORTAGE”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Longhorn Steakhouse is the only option to consider for a real good quality steak dinner. We dine here 3 to 4 times a month. Steaks (New York Strip, T-Bone, and Flo's Filet) are fabulous and the BBQ Ribs and Pork Chops are excellent. My wife enjoys the variety of Salads offered and the Desserts are terrific! The servers are efficient and attentive. It has a fabulous Western ambiance and the restrooms are clean. You could try Kelsey's Steakhouse, Texas Corral, Texas Roadhouse, or Applebees but they are not as good a meat quality as Longhorn. We have been to all of these places. We keep returning to Longhorn because we have had consistently good meals and great service and we feel that it is a good value for the money paid.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    14
    6
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“We were pleasantly surprised”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

There are not many restaurants at this exit, and we were staying in a local lodging on our way to Chicago. Since we do not eat red meat, we were thinking options would be tough, but the chicken dishes were excellent. Healthy options were noted in the menu. Salads were abundant and fresh, and service was top-notch. We will return when we pass this way again.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Excellent food but a little pricey”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

Our meals and service were excellent. Close to our hotel so we could walk. Prices were a little expensive.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Illinois
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“good food, but expensive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

We ate here because we stayed at the County Inn next door and had a $50 gift card and a free appetizer coupon for Longhorn. We ordered 2 meals, a sandwich, soda, 2 beers, and 2 mixed drinks. Our bill and tip was $80. So we paid $30. This is more than we usually like to spend. That being said...each of us liked our food and drinks. Complimentary wheat bread was offered before the meal. We usually eat this and ask for more, but we didn't like it that much. It tasted to wheaty/healthy. We did notice that most of the diners were age 50 and up. We joked that they were the only ones that could afford to eat here. Probably won't go back to a Longhorn unless it's a special occasion and then I would still look for a Lone Star or Texas Roadhouse steakhouse.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valparaiso, Indiana
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“relaxing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

The decor was nice. The place made you feel comfortable and relaxed. The food was good. The service was good. We will go back.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed LongHorn Steakhouse also viewed

 

Been to LongHorn Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage LongHorn Steakhouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.