We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Food, Great Atmosphere” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Quaker Steak & Lube

Quaker Steak & Lube
6245 Ameriplex Dr, Portage, IN 46368-1391
219-764-9464
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #34 of 72 Restaurants in Portage
Cuisines: Steakhouse
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
inft
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Awesome Food, Great Atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

This place is great for those of you that are traveling with kids. The menu is huge and the food is really good. There is so much to choose from and the place itself is so comfortable and a real good atmosphere. The service wasn't great, but my family and I had a memorable experience. We definitely will be back!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheOfficialQSL, Franchisor at Quaker Steak & Lube, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
ThanQ for sharing your experience, it's always great to hear from our guests! We are glad you and your family had a memorable visit and enjoyed the food and atmosphere. We hope you will visit again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    25
    23
    13
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Portage, Indiana
1 review
“Best wings ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

I don't know why people aren't giving higher ratings on here. Went here again last night for the AYCE wings and had the tex mex. They were so good and there was no problem with having to wait for anything! Definitely the best wings that I have EVER had and we will keep going back!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheOfficialQSL, Franchisor at Quaker Steak & Lube, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
ThanQ for the great review! We are always thrilled to hear from our guests. Glad that you enjoy our All You Can Eat night and that the service has been friendly and fast! Please come back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Good Food and Service and Fun Place to Eat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Ate here while visiting Lake Michigan for our son's 10th Birthday. We all had a good time and the kids loved the cars hanging from the walls and above our table. Steak and shrimp were great and we had a wonderful waitress. Good experience. We will go back.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheOfficialQSL, Franchisor at Quaker Steak & Lube, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
ThanQ for the wonderful review! We are glad to hear you and your family had such a great time, we love hearing from our guests. We look forward to seeing you again at The Lube!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
“Fun Placeto Visit...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

This place is really neat with all the motorcycles hanging from the ceiling, old cars, nascar and indy car out front, and vintage signs. There are also lots of games you can play while waiting for a table, but some were out of order while we were visiting. There are lots of food choices and our table tried lots of different items. I ordered the shrimp tacos and they were good, just seemed like most of the food was fried fare and not very healthy. Some people from our table ordered the dessert carmel apple nachos and the majority of the table did not like them. 3 of us ordered the brownie with hot fudge and ice cream and it was good. Our waitress was friendly and they even gave us one dessert for free because the we had to complain about the table next to us dropping several "f bombs" and it is a FAMILY restaurant. The staff was very friendly about the whole situation. Would recommend this place...also next to the Bass Pro Shop!!!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“If you like noise while you dine”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

First, let me say that this is not the usual sort of restaurant I frequent but I was travelling and needed to eat some protein and they were close by.

I do have food allergies, and I know that can be a pain for restaurants, so I kept it simple: steak and sides.

The only side I could have (and I had a choice of any two) that was FODMAP friendly was broccoli.

So steak, medium rare and a double order of broccoli was what I had.

The steak was fine -- could have been cooked an additional minute. The broccoli was not overcooked.

The restaurant is *very* noisy so if that's not what you like when you eat, avoid.

The menu is heavy on wings (they have over 20 sauces) and other 'heavy' foods. Lots of alcohol drinks, of course.

My waitress, April, was lovely. Chatty, fun, friendly.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Quaker Steak & Lube also viewed

 

Been to Quaker Steak & Lube? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quaker Steak & Lube, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.