We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fast Service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of El Meson Mexican Restaurant

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
El Meson Mexican Restaurant
1724 E Main St, Plainfield, IN 46168-1849
317-839-2717
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 85 Restaurants in Plainfield
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Indiana
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Fast Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

We usually go there when we want a quick dinner or to celebrate after a sporting event or school function because they get the food out so fast. The prices are great and the fried ice-cream is a nice treat!

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    5
    3
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Grand Haven
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

Staff is always friendly, smiling. Service is quick, food is great, prices are reasonable. Love to come here when visiting in Plainfield. Only complaint is that we can't convince them to open a restaurant in our town in Michigan!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naperville, Illinois
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Not As Good As Expected”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

In a word, "disappointed." I really was looking forward to having dinner at El Meson based on previous reviews. Candidly, I can't find much to recommend it. If anyone looks at any of my prior restaurant/hotel reviews, they would find that that is unusual for me.

I had a "top shelf" margarita that was over-priced, and virtually devoid of tequila. Also tasted as if it was made with a bottled mix. My wife ordered a "Tequilla Sunrise." It's basically tequila, orange juice and grenadine. They couldn't make it for her because they didn't have the "right ingredients." What bar doesn't have tequila, orange juice, and grenadine?

I ordered steak fajitas. I think they were probably the worst that I have ever had, and I've ordered them hundreds of times. Dry, overdone, lukewarm, and with virtually no vegetables. I didn't finish what they brought, which was an absolute first. My wife ordered a chimichanga which was okay, but was presented with some sort of cream sauce on the top. We've never seen that before.

I think the restaurant tries hard and wants to do well, but I would never go back.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Salvador
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Great Service and tasty Mexican food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

My family decided to eat Mexican food during recent road trip. Our hotel staff recommended El Meson as the best option in Plainfield, IN. Despite been busy on a Saturday night, the hostess was able to find a nice table for our family near the window. The staff was very friendly and knowledgeable of the menu, (you will be surprise how many servers don't know their menu...). Every night El Meson offers drink and food specials, that night the margaritas were excellent! The chips were served warm and the salsa was freshly made with a nice cilantro accent. The mixed fajitas were great, in particular the quality of the chorizo. The beans were unusually spicy, and a bit overcooked. The tamales and the chimichangas were good, prepared with fresh ingredients, including the corn masa (corn dough). The chile con queso was OK, this can be improved by improving the quality of the cheese (queso blanco). Also, the dessert menu could be improve, yet the portions were nice. Considering the service, quality and taste of the food and friendly environment, El Meson provides an unique option for travelers and locals, alike, in Plainfield. Highly recommended.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plainfield, IN
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“We tried the new location, about a mile east of the Krogers”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

My wife and I tried the new El Meson location last night, across from Walmart. This location has been a lot of different restaurants in the last 20 years, so we were skeptical but curious. We shared a double order of steak & chicken fajitas and it was a great choice. It tasted great and was more than enough for both of us..
Down side of the visit was my wife thought the restaurant smelled musty but I didn't notice. Worth trying again.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Meson Mexican Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to El Meson Mexican Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Meson Mexican Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.