We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We tried the new location, about a mile east of the Krogers” 4 of 5 stars
Review of El Meson Mexican Restaurant

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
El Meson Mexican Restaurant
1724 E Main St, Plainfield, IN 46168-1849
317-839-2717
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 86 Restaurants in Plainfield
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Plainfield, IN
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“We tried the new location, about a mile east of the Krogers”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

My wife and I tried the new El Meson location last night, across from Walmart. This location has been a lot of different restaurants in the last 20 years, so we were skeptical but curious. We shared a double order of steak & chicken fajitas and it was a great choice. It tasted great and was more than enough for both of us..
Down side of the visit was my wife thought the restaurant smelled musty but I didn't notice. Worth trying again.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    6
    3
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Plainfield, Indiana
2 reviews
“Great Mexican Cuisine!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Always good food, fast service, excellent atmosphere and a great value! The portions are huge. I recommend sharing meals here unless you like to take some home. The wait times during evening hours on the weekend are never too long as we have had to wait 10 minutes tops. El Meson is one of the best Mexican Restaurants I have been to.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plainfield, Indiana, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Weekly visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

My husband and I meet another couple here every Sunday evening. This place is great if you like authentic Mexican food that doesn't cost a lot and has great, friendly service. We now know most waiters by name and they bring our drinks without even asking what we want because they know us that well.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traverse City, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Excellent service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I went to El Meson on a busy friday night a couple of weekends ago. Although there were about 4 other parties in the waiting area when we arrived we were still seated within 10 minutes. The atmosphere is family friendly and vibrant. Our waiter was very punctual, attentive, and professional. The prices were average but the food was outstanding. I ordered a chimichaga and my wife ordered a buritto. Both entrees were delicious and the food was served quickly. I will definitely be making a second trip to El Meson !

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newburgh, Indiana
2 reviews
“Good food at a good price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

Good food & drinks at a very fair price & very good service. Will go back the next time were in Indy.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Meson Mexican Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to El Meson Mexican Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Meson Mexican Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.