We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cold Breakfast” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Wingate by Wyndham Indianapolis Airport Plainfield

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Wingate by Wyndham Indianapolis Airport Plainfield to your Saves list
Wingate by Wyndham Indianapolis Airport Plainfield
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   6300 Gateway Drive, Plainfield, IN 46168   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Plan Ahead, Save 15%
Ranked #11 of 16 Hotels in Plainfield
Louisville, Kentucky, EEUU
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Cold Breakfast”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

Stayed here for 2 weeks. Needed to be up early. Wake up calls never failed once. The breakfast however included cold gravy for the bisquits, cold sausage, cold fake eggs and nasty potatoes. If you don't eat these items, your good.(Unless you wish to heat them up in the microwave) Hot coffee, toast your own bread selection and waffels with a warm oatmeal were just ok. The rooms were relativly clean. No observed and hunted bed bugs. My bed was comfy. Refrigarator and microwave in the room. Pool closed for treatment. Minimal excercise equipment. Staff friendly when you could find them. Only junk food close by.

Room Tip: Do not get a room behind elevators, 102, 202,302. Makes continual noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    32
    26
    25
    16
See reviews for
49
13
10
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Ashland, KY
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Room was clean and comfortable. Pool was closed for "chemical treatment" most of our stay (quite the disappointment). Breakfast was good but they only put out a small amount and when it's gone they do not refill. Convenient to Indy activities. Would stay again but would call first to inquire about pool availability.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
68 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

I don't even know where to start. First of all, I do not have high standards with hotels, I am quite cheap. I travel often for business, but when I pay, I stay in some really shady places. This is the second worst hotel I have ever seen. In case you don't like long reviews, I will start with the most gross and work down to the smallest issue. My bathroom was GROSS!!!!!!! I can't even use the English language professionally to describe this filth. First I noticed that the sink counter was covered in small hairs, like from someone shaving their face. That would be fine if it were a few, but it appeared as if it wasn't even wiped down after the last man left. Ok, no big deal things get missed. Then I noticed MUSHROOMS!!! Actual real live mushrooms GROWING out of the floor by the toilet. I got super close just to make sure I wasn't imagining this, or that something just wasn't dropped and appeared that way. No, it was a family of mushrooms literally growing out of the floor. WTF. This kind of disgustingness does not happen from a few missed cleanings. This is a pattern of dirtiness and probably an ignored maintenance issue. After this the little hairs, and the several pubic hairs left on the floor seemed like a minor annoyance.
Not that it is needed, but here are the other smaller issues - My carpet was really dirty. I walked from the bed to the bathroom three times after checkin, my socks had turned black. The heating unit didn't work properly, I went from feeling like the belly of a furnace to an ice box all night long both nights.
And the last and also very serious issue -- This hotel is not safe. The front desk is unmanned often. I don't know where they go, but they are not there. Which wouldn't be a huge issue if the doors were then locked and a key card was needed for entry. This is not the case. The doors remain unlocked in the front, and also in the back. Even at night. Which means that the desk is accessible. I did see cameras.... but what good is a video after someone steals key cards? Your room may already have been broken into before that video ever gets looked at..... There are a million other hotels in this area. I recommend the brand new La Quinta, as the other Wyndham properties on the street are all owned by the same person.

Room Tip: Choose a different hotel. This one is DIRTY!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

We arrived at the hotel early in the morning (around midnight), and when I went to check in I found a sign informing me the desk staff would be right back. The sign said to use the phone behind me and dial "0" to speak with a staff representative, so I did, and the man on the line told me the clerk had to run to the airport and would be back shortly. My wife and I were exhausted, and frankly, I didn't want to wait around (which we did-for about 1/2 hour). When the guy finally returned he was really, really rude. He didn't apologize for our inconvenience and gruffly asked twice for my credit card even though he could plainly see I was about to pull it out of my wallet. I ended up replying gruffly, "I heard you the first time."

When we got up to the room and opened the door we were greeted with stale smoke smell. I double-checked my reservations (yep, non-smoking room) and the sign outside the door (yep, little non-smoking symbol), but the smoke smell was pervasive. I didn't want to deal with the completely impersonal, cranky absentee desk clerk, so we sucked it up and turned in.

The bed was pretty comfortable and seemed clean. The breakfast was decent--eggs, biscuits and gravy, waffles, cereals, bagels, toast, and cinnamon buns. Everything tasted exactly like a free hotel breakfast.

If, on the rare chance we're ever again in Indianapolis, it's unlikely we'll stay here. If the staff had been accommodating, and if the room smelled better, I might because the price was right.

Room Tip: In our room we heard a lot of noise from the highway. Be sure yours is truly a non-smoking room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wingate by Wyndham Indianapolis Airport Plainfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wingate by Wyndham Indianapolis Airport Plainfield

Address: 6300 Gateway Drive, Plainfield, IN 46168
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > Plainfield
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 16 Hotels in Plainfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Wingate by Wyndham Indianapolis Airport Plainfield 2.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Greetings from the Wingate by Wyndham! We are a 64-room business-class hotel located minutes from Indianapolis International Airport with free shuttle service and offer a complimentary deluxe hot breakfast buffet, manager's reception with evening snack and drinks (Mon.-Thur 5pm-7pm). We have a large heated indoor pool/hot tub, fitness and business center. Refrigerators, microwaves, coffeemakers, hair dryers, ironing boards/irons, free safes and free WIFI are also offered in every guest room. We also have a meeting room and executive boardroom are available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Wyndham, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Wingate by Wyndham Indianapolis Airport Plainfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wingate By Wyndham Indianapolis Airport Plainfield Hotel Plainfield
Wingate Hotel Plainfield

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wingate by Wyndham Indianapolis Airport Plainfield, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.