We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just Not Special” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chateau Thomas Winery

Chateau Thomas Winery
6291 Cambridge Way, Plainfield, IN 46168
317-837-WINE
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 8 Attractions in Plainfield
Type: Wineries, Food & Drink
Attraction details
Indianapolis, IN, USA
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Just Not Special”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

I stopped in for a taste because of their convenient location. However, none of their red wines, which I like any time we have steak at home, was as good as the other winery near us.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    19
    5
    4
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Mooresville, Indiana
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Excellent Local Wines”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

Great place-I am by no means a wine expert(although having visited France I do know a thing or two), just great tasting local variety's that are priced reasonable, in a friendly atmosphere. Tasting room is classy and tasteful-no pun intended-and by the way they sell wine on Sunday.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Indiana
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Winery”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

The staff was very friendly, and courteous. The lady helping with wine tasting gave me several tips on choosing a wine I would enjoy.
The atmosphere was relaxing and warm. I will come again

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabeth City, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Snooty !”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

We went in, inquired about a particular kind of wine, which they had two varieties of. When we inquired about which one might be better or how they tasted, we were met with, "I have no idea." Really? Way to sell your wine there, people! We left without purchasing or tasting a thing. You'd think a business have better customer care and not be rude, as she was.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“not friendly folks”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

we visted 8 wineries this one was our least favorite. the help was un friendly and the tablespoon of wine you received for each charged sample was sad

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chateau Thomas Winery also viewed

 
Plainfield, IN
 

Been to Chateau Thomas Winery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chateau Thomas Winery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.