We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful, but you pay for it!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Quarterdeck Beachside Villas and Grill

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Summerville Centre
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Quarterdeck Beachside Villas and Grill
Save
You added Quarterdeck Beachside Villas and Grill to your Saves list
| Summerville Beach, Summerville Centre, Nova Scotia B0T 1T0, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
North Bay, Canada
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Beautiful, but you pay for it!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

This place is beautiful, without a doubt. Villas are beachfront and tastefully decorated according to a beach-inspired theme. The place is quiet and truly beautiful. The restaurant onsite is delicious and has a breath-taking view. But for $350/night, I had much higher expectations. I think these villas should be more in the $200-$250/night range. Our villa slept four people comfortably. However, the beds and the rooms were small. It was nice having two full bathrooms, as there was never a wait for the shower. When we arrived, a member of our party had stayed before, so we received returning guest gifts - a bottle of wine and stale (expired) nuts that we just that - stale. Maybe cut back on the 'gifts' and rather, charge an affordable rate for the villas. I am sure that many people do not hesitate to spend this kind of money, but for value and view, there are many other places down the beach. We will stay at Whitepoint next time.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    11
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
12
25
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

We have stayed at the Quarterdeck several times but last time (Summer 2012) was a great disappointment. Their customer, service is definitely slipping. When making our reservation I asked if they still served cookies after supper was assured they did. Out of 7 nights only got the cookies 3 times and even though I mentioned it to the staff, nothing was done about it. It was one of the nice little things that we enjoyed. Also, asked if they still had a great view, was assured they did. When we got their found out that the owner was letting the trees in front of our cottage grow (Osprey's Nest) and they obscured a good part of the view. The cabin is definitely in need of a paint job! don't think it has had one since the first time we stayed there. The prices in the restaurant are very expensive. Perhaps now White Point has re-opened they will have some competition. They had tea bags in our fridge but no milk, and I for one don't like cream in my tea. I know I sound like a nit-picker but it is the little touches they used to provide which set them apart, so come on Quarterdeck, smarten up.
PS We are staying at Whitepoint this year.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lower Sackville, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

Mother Nature did not hold back when she provided this place a perfect view of the sea. The peace and serenity that one feels while dining at their restaurant or just taking in the view is too beautiful to describe in words. My husband and I and our son and daughter-in-law were on our way to Shelburne. Before we left, I said to my husband, let's stop here for brunch, it will be nice to share with them what we have already discovered...a piece of heaven. We had a delicious brunch, the waitress was so pleasant. You owe it to yourself to not miss this place. It will be apart of our destination on our future visits to family and friends in Shelburne, Nova Scotia

Room Tip: Window view a must! Call ahead for reservations...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nova Scotia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

Much of Nova Scotia experienced a heat wave last weekend (you won't hear that very often) so we decided to make a last minute call to try and escape the heat. We had previously stayed here and were somewhat surprised to find they had any vacancies for a single Saturday night stay.

The beach is amazing with fine sand and perfect for long walks. The water temperture was typical for early July and certainly offered the perfect opportunity to cool off. It was very "refreshing".
The villas are very nice, clean, well equipped and laid out. Sleeping with the sound of the ocean waves was perfect.
The restaurant was also very good and we enjoyed our meal overlooking the ocean. Kyle was our waiter and his personality and customer service was outstanding.
No complaints about either the accomodations or the food.

Our only negative comment would be that we found both the accommodations and restuarant a bit expensive. I suppose they may factor the perfect setting and location into the high prices but the cost may also partially explain why there were so many empty units on a perfect sunny summer Nova Scotia weekend.

I would certainly recommend the Quarterdeck as long as you are prepared to pay the price, which, in my opinion, is the only thing keeping it from being an overall 5 rating

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

After the storm, they have done a great job restoring it. The area is still beautiful, inside has been restored to almost original. The food was still amazing though some of the prices have increased a little.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

This villas are 5+ star and recently updated. They all face the beach and the ocean. We were there for a visit in the fall before they closed for the winter. It was actually Oct/11 and it was 82 degrees!!!! (Just a fluk at that time of year in Nova Scotia!) The sand is powder sand and the sand pipers are running to and fro! Shells everywhere!! The restaurant has great food and I absolutely love this place! I highly recommend it!

Room Tip: Book a villa and stay a week in July/August/ September!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nova Scotia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

We stayed in the large cottage with two other couples, and three other couples stayed in the villas. All are beautiful. Anyone who went to the grill was very impressed, food was awesome.
It's a little pricey but worth it. The cottage is literally move in ready, all you have to do is bring food and drink. They have thought of everything. We had a very foggy, rainy week-end, but still enjoyed ourselves. If the weather was good, this place would be perfect, the beach is amazing.

Room Tip: Cottage, villa, it doesn't matter, they are all beautiful. Just depends on how many people you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Quarterdeck Beachside Villas and Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quarterdeck Beachside Villas and Grill

Address: | Summerville Beach, Summerville Centre, Nova Scotia B0T 1T0, Canada
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Southwest Nova Scotia > Summerville Centre
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Summerville Centre
Number of rooms: 16
Also Known As:
Quarterdeck Beachside Villas And Grill Hotel Nova Scotia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quarterdeck Beachside Villas and Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.