We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Dixie Sternwheeler

The Dixie Sternwheeler
401 South Dixie Drive, North Webster, IN 46555
(574) 834-1080
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Boat Tours, Sightseeing Tours
Attraction details
WASHINGTON
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Fun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

This is great value for the money spent. We totally enjoyed the tour. It was relaxing fun after a good meal at "Jimmy's Cafe".

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    1
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chester
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Nice Little Evening Excursion”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

I've been going to North Webster and Webster lake for close to 55 years and always watched the Dixie glide around the lake with it's big red sternwheel churning up the waters, but had never ridden on it until this year. It's a great way to spend an evening or a weekend afternoon and very informative too. The trip takes about 70 minutes as the old sternwheeler hugs the shoreline as it makes a lap around the lake of approximately 600 acres. You get to see all the old as well as some new lake homes and all of the little island homes as well. A well versed history of the boat, the lake and the small lake resort town and area plays over a speaker system as you come upon areas of interest. The Dixie has a National Historic Registry and is an important part of the local history. An open upper deck and covered lower deck make for good seating options in all weather. There is a concession stand and restroom on board and you can usually sit any where you want. Everyone on shore around their houses and all the boaters on the lake always wave to the Dixie as it passes by. The Dixie has a website...ridethedixie.com and a nice Facebook page for more info and pictures. It is a good bargain at only $7. Trips are at 6:30 & 8pm every day and they add a twilight trip on Saturday evenings at 9pm. The Dixie also starts running on Sunday afternoon at 2pm with trips every 90 minutes.
If you've never ridden the Dixie, you need to do it at least once! It is a great way to spend part of an evening.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Such a relaxing ride”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

Took the 8pm ride and it was perfect! The captain and staff were all great. They also were more then happy to answer all my questions. If you are with in 50 miles of this place if day it's a must.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Indiana
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful Boat Ride”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Nothing I disliked about the Dixie it's like going back in time there is pride in ownership they really go above and beyond when being helpful and courteous to Everyone's needs I am handicap and they helped us from the beginning of the ride helping get on the boat while we took the ride and unloading never get tired of the ride will go back as long as I can Loved It You also will A Must when in the Warsaw area located in North Webster 15 or so miles from Warsaw but we'll worth the drive

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great value for family fun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

This unique charming piece of history is enjoyable for all ages. The boat has been a tradition for many generations. The narrated cruise is interesting, and the fun music played along the way really makes the cruise. They have a small snack bar on board and offer souvenirs for sale. We went on the cruise that ended just after sunset, what a gorgeous peaceful ride. They also offer a romantic cruise on Saturday night. It is a little different, offering a dance floor, but not the narrated trip. We will definitely look forward to going again next season.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Dixie Sternwheeler? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Dixie Sternwheeler, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.