We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced and slow service” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Matteo's Ristorante Italiano

Matteo's Ristorante Italiano
40 N 9th St, Noblesville, IN 46060-2203
317-774-9771
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Matteo's Ristorante Italiano is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 117 Restaurants in Noblesville
Price range: $21 - $30
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Doing business
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Noblesville, Indiana
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Overpriced and slow service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012 via mobile

My wife and I had dinner for our Anniversary
My wife had surgery and can not eat pasta or rice so she ordered veal parmigiana and ask the waiter to substitute green beans for the rice that came with the meal. Veal was tough and very chewy. When the bill came we were charged $21 for the veal (no rice) PLUS $5.00 for the green beans. Very expensive and we will not return to this restaurant
Service started out good but it took over ten minutes to get the bill
Very disappointing

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    19
    13
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Syracuse, New York
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great service and food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012 via mobile

We found this restaurant by looking at suggestion from others. It turned out to be perfect. We had someone in our party with a food allergy and our waitress, Kelly, was well educated on the selection that would be appropriate to choose from. We had a wonderful evening and the food was perfect from the soup to the drinks. This is must if you're in the area. The doggie bag was so full that we did need to repackage the food when we got home later.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noblesville, Indiana
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Tucked Away Treasure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

I never knew Matteo's existed until friends invited us out to eat. It looks small from the front entrance, but goes back deep. It has a tiny bar, but it is a restaurant, not a bar.

We had a window table with a view of Noblesville, excellent service, and superior food. We linger long over drinks, and conversation only to have the chef greet us and discuss our meal with us. The drinks were all well done, not watery or weak, but perfectly mixed.

This has never happened no matter where I've eaten.

Very impressive.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noblesville
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“The best restaurant in Noblesville”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

When visiting Matteo's, allow yourself to be transported back in time. Someone mentioned Sinatra and that's exactly the mindset you need to be in, while dining there. I've seen both before and during the dinner rush and I actually prefer it when it's packed, because it's an event. I've actually witnessed patrons spontaneously dancing on one occasion. If you allow yourself that luxury of taking your time, allowing them to cook you a great meal while you reconnect with your family and friends you can't ask for a better time in downtown Noblesville.

Over the last 3 visits to Matteo's I've tired 3 entrees: Penne Norica, Linguine Vongole and my current favorite:Tagliatella AllaTaratella. And 2 desserts: Fango Cake & Panna Cotta. The recipes are fantastic! If you have a problem pronouncing the dish to your server, just ask, they not only can pronounce it perfectly they are very knowledgeable about each dish and will let you make a substitution if you need to. I chose to have the Penne Norica prepared with the white wine cream sauce instead of the tomato cream sauce it normally comes with.

Between the 2 desserts I highly recommend Panna Cotta it's like a flan with a raspberry topping. It's a light elegant way to finish a great meal. The Fango Cake is also very good. It's chocolate brownie with a marshmallow sauce. I ended up taking it home because it's too much after a big meal.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
indianapolis
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“been here several times. Always great, not to be missed!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

We have been to matteo's many times, thought I should review it for others that are thinking about it. The first thing you notice when you walk up to the door is that outside of the building.....its old but in great shape, but nothing to get you excited about.....then you open the door and step in, you have now left Noblesville and have landed in Italy. The interior is a shock when you first see it, you don't expect the layout. Its really something. The food is excellent, service is too. The prices are a little high, but the ambiance is something not to miss and hard to put a price on.......... the bottom line is...... once you go, you will know! and become a regular!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Matteo's Ristorante Italiano also viewed

Noblesville, Hamilton County
Noblesville, Hamilton County
 
Noblesville, Hamilton County
Noblesville, Hamilton County
 

Been to Matteo's Ristorante Italiano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Matteo's Ristorante Italiano, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.