We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“There's not much to choose from in New Castle...” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Raintree Inn

Save Saved
You added Raintree Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Raintree Inn
2836 South State Road 3, New Castle, IN 47362   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 5 hotels in New Castle
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“There's not much to choose from in New Castle...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2011

Stayed here twice on business in 2011 for a total of 11 days. Nobody came to clean the room at least half of those days. Every other day the key card would fail and have to be re-programmed by front desk. (They have a sign at the desk saying that that it is beyond their control.) They have plenty of hot water, but it takes about 5 minutes for the water to become hot. The coffee maker in the room did not work. On the positive side, their better rooms have a fridge and a microwave and they are across the road from a Walmart. Given the lack of good restaurants in New Castle, you'll probably want to eat in. As far as hotels are concerned, there's not much to choose from in New Castle and this is probably you're best bet. The town is a very depressed place and, sadly, the hotel reflects the malaise of the area.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    11
    9
    4
    2
    14
See reviews for
11
7
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Goshen, Indiana
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2011

I had a little trouble checking in,but was quickly resolved. We had a great time! We started out with a 2 night stay that ended up being a 4! I will deffinately be using that hotel for our stay in New Castle again. The lounge staff are awesome people,made you feel like you were home an not a stranger! I had a great New Years Eve,thanks guys an gals see you soon!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2010

We stayed at the Raintree Inn while visiting family over the Holiday and it is run by the most friendly and helpful staff we have ever had the pleasure of meeting. The rooms were very clean and comfortable. They go out of their way to make you feel welcome. This is a great place to stay.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muncie, Indiana
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2010

I had a good time at the raintree inn and would plan to return here real soon i like the room it was very clean and the pool was good and clean and the staff was very frendly and helpful

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cookiechip, Owner at Raintree Inn, responded to this review, August 14, 2010
thank you for your kind words from my wife myself and all our wonderfull employees we can't say thank you enough. please during your next stay mention your post so we can thank you personaly like i posted before were new at the hotel business and if you ever have a problem with our property please contact me perssonaly at 765-524-9693 again thank you and have a wonderfull life sincerly maurice cook
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2010

made a reservation 6 weeks prior too our stay there. On arrival we were informed that they had double booked our room and had no rooms left. They made no attempt to find us a room nearby or advise us on where we might find a room for our stay.Terrible stay unhelpful and unfriendly staff would not stay here if it was the last hotel on the planet, ended up driving 20 minute to nearby Greenfield to find a room, which turned out to be fine for our stay.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cookiechip, Owner at Raintree Inn, responded to this review, July 22, 2010
i'm the owner and have only owned this hotel 6 months why you would go back over 3 years or more is beside me. my personal phone number is 765-524-9693 plese call me personally if you ever have any problem with my hotel. i'm very sorry this customer had a problem ,and would like to make it up to them have emailed them and waiting for reply but both complaints on my hotel have nothing to do with the actual rooms first one was the pool with them saying we didn't tell it was down we had to refund thier money witch we did plus clean thier room like they stayed thier i gained nothing but expense and have also apologezed . this complaint of over booking should never have happened and again i'm very sorry don't blame the whole hotel and staff please only blame me the owner i will try to make this right , again my number is 765-524-9693 please call me with good and bad tripadvisor wants 5.000.00 dollars for add i hope this an't about money please give us a chance american owned and proud bless you all maurice cook owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these New Castle hotels

new caste
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2010

we had a reservation for the suit that connected to the pool. they have had problems with heater in pool so before i checked in i asked about the pool i asked "is the pool ok and the heater working" the man said yes. so we got the keys got to the room and looked at the pool there was nothing in the pool not a drop of water. went right back to front desk and he still said he had no idea there was problem with pool. i would like the number to main office to call and let someone know. about every week "they" are telling someone i know that new management took over yesterday. this has happened the month at least 3 times. i know times are hard but that many new people taking over

Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cookiechip, Owner at Raintree Inn, responded to this review, May 4, 2010
i"m very sorry this customer had this problem , i bought the hotel Feb 1st 2010 ihad to get pool totaly reworked and this was posted at front desk i know customer got full refund there was no intent on my side to mislead or inconvience anyone please except my apologee this hotel has been my dream for over 40 years please give me a chance american owned and proud thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peoria, Il
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2009

Made a reservation here a month in advance for the night before Thanksgiving. Because we have small children, we were interested in one of the suites, which features a separate room where our kids could stay. The pictures look great from the website and we were looking forward to our stay. However, less than a week before our reserved date, someone called and left a message informing us the suite was no longer available, but that we could have another room if we wanted.

I called to inquire why our room was no longer available. Initially, the woman told me she wasn't sure why the room wasn't available, but a few minutes into our conversation she indicated "the water heater for that side of the hotel went out" and none of the suites were available.

5 days until our reservation and the staff can't get someone in to replace a water heater?! If that's reflective of the level of competence of hotel managment/staff, then this hotel most likely has other serious problems as well and we've been spared a poor overall experience.

Now we're left scrambling trying to find a room for our family to stay in or near New Castle the evening before Thanksgiving.

Not too many options here - you've got the Garden Inn (which used to be a Holiday Inn Express) and the Steve Alford Inn (which is ok, we've stayed there in the past, but it lacks some of the smaller amenities, like wifi access).

Very poor customer experience with the raintree inn!

I would discourage anyone from making reservations here lest you find your "reservation" canceled shortly before your arrival and you're left scrambling to find a room in a small town with limited options!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cookiechip, Owner at Raintree Inn, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
very sorry i didn't own hotel then but i'am trully sorry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Raintree Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Raintree Inn

Address: 2836 South State Road 3, New Castle, IN 47362
Location: United States > Indiana > New Castle
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 hotels in New Castle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia so you can book your Raintree Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western New Castle
Raintree Hotel New Castle

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Raintree Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.