We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Almost perfect” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS West I-64

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS West I-64 to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS West I-64
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   411 West Spring Street, New Albany, IN 47150 (Formerly Best Western Louisville West)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in New Albany
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Almost perfect”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

My family and I started overnight after driving from northern Ohio. We were heading back home to Arkansas. We booked the room through hotwire for 118.00 with tax for the night. Hotel is very nice. Rooms are spacious and the breakfast was delicious. Only issue I had was the room was extremely hot and the air only blew 2 inches away from the vent even with it down on 62. The beds were extremely soft and comfortable, but I can't sleep when I'm hot. We were on the 5th floor so maybe that's why the air was weak. Also, the Wi-Fi signal was extremely weak and slow I just disconnected and used my phone's internet. Otherwise the hotel was nice. We didn't use any other amenities but they offered plenty. Hotwire had issues with my room being booked, and the lady at the front desk went above and beyond to assist us in getting the room.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandon F, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS West I-64, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Jamila,

Thank you for your comments about your stay! I am thrilled Alex was able to get all of the reservation issues corrected for you. We are in the process of upgrading our internet to improve the coverage throughout the hotel. I can't wait to show you the improvement on your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    53
    42
    12
    10
See reviews for
54
36
13
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Aldrich, Missouri
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

Easy to get on and off I 64 to get downtown. Room was clean beds were comfortable. I had my 2 daughters and 3 grandchildren so the connecting rooms were just what we needed! The pool was great! Too bad we didn't know that on Mondays it is closed for cleaning. While I appreciate a clean pool, 3 little kids were sorely dissapointed they couldn't swim before we left town.
The staff was wonderful, Amanda who checked us in, and Anthony and Brandon? who helped us get the connecting rooms were great! amanda reccomended a pizza place that delivered and the pizza was AAAmazing!
We will be back next year!

Room Tip: As soon as you get off of I64, the entrance is tricky to find.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandon F, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS West I-64, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Thank you for your kind feedback. We do clean the pool each Monday from 8am until 12pm. I am sorry the kids didn't get one last swim in before they left, but we are very excited to know they love out Olympic-Sized swimming pool. Our staff works hard to go above and beyond for each guest and we are very pleased we were able to exceed your expectations. We all look forward to your next stay in New Albany/Louisville.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beech Grove, Indiana
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

If you enjoy discourteous hotel associates, the aroma of decomposed chicken, maintenance deficiencies, and pranksters destroying the tranquility of sleep, book today for these perks and privileges at the “Worst” Western Plus I-64 in New Albany Indiana!

My travel brought me to this location due to a meeting in Louisville Kentucky. I booked the King Whirlpool Suite (room 418) Wednesday, July 16 -18, 2014. My meeting was changed to an earlier time and I called to see if I could get an early check-in. I was willing to pay an additional fee if necessary to insure that my wife would not be waiting in the lobby. I was informed that I could not get an early check-in due to “over booking”. I left my wife with the luggage in the lobby; she had to use the lobby restroom which had no bathroom tissue. After patiently waiting two (2) hours, my wife was informed our room was ready at 3:00 p.m. (normal check-in time). She was not greeted at the desk, the staff had no name badges and she was not provided customary information.

My meeting ended at 4:00 p.m. Once in my room, my wife stated that Housekeeping left a ¼ roll of bathroom tissue (no extra rolls provided), and no facial tissue. I went to the front desk and asked for 2 rolls of bathroom tissue. I felt insulted when the female desk clerk replied, “Do you really need 2 rolls of toilet paper?” We waited several hours for our room to cool down, only to realize that the air condition unit was not working properly. I went to the front desk to request maintenance. The male desk clerk followed me back to the room and “confirmed” that the air conditioning unit was not working. The male desk clerk got on the telephone and called “maintenance”. I asked when to expect repair, the reply: “We don’t have any maintenance on site, so it’ll be when he can get here.” The air condition unit was never fixed during my stay.

The room television channel information sheet claimed it featured 103 channels. Only 29 channels worked. Of these 29 channels: 8 had fractured digital images, 2 black and white static, 3 sound only with no image, 3 Home Shopping, 2 religious, 2 "No puedo hablar Inglés", 1 weather, 2 children programs, 1 national news, 3 local, 1 old television sitcoms, 1 old movies (note: no sports channel) finding these channels was a challenge and the remaining 74 channels were blank with a message, “Check antenna cable connection”. The fourth floor vending area had only an ice machine and an over filled trash container with 4 bags of garbage on the floor. The smell (rotted chicken) was so overwhelming it could only indicate that it had been there for at least a week. I do know for fact it was there July 16, 17 and 18th.

The lobby floor was saturated with water for 6 hours during a commercial cleaning of the tile floors. The lobby echoed a loud vacuuming sound, and only 1 wet floor sign was used. Wet floor signs should have been placed in several locations to warn the guest. My wife and I had difficulty walking across the wet floors. Due to the Forecastle festival in Louisville all hotels from south Indiana to central Kentucky was booked. I had another meeting the following day, going home was not an option, we felt that we were hostages.

The next day: The breakfast had many selections, probably one of the biggest we have experienced. My wife developed severe diarrhea and stomach cramps several hours after eating breakfast. When I returned from my meeting, I went to the front desk to ask for a nearby drug store to get some Kaopectate. The directions provided were not accurate.

Around 12:08 a.m. my wife heard a knock at our door. She felt it was in error and did not go to the door. Five-ten minutes later there was another knock, again we did not get up to answer the door, fifteen-twenty minutes later there was another knock. My wife dialed the front desk to inquire about the knocking. The female desk clerk told her that she was too busy and when she could, she would check into the situation. My wife and I both got up and looked out the door and found nobody in the hall. We both walked the hall together and noticed that we were the only guest with a “Do Not Disturb” sign on the door. I went to the front desk and saw boys ranging from age 8 – 13 running around the lobby. The female desk clerk saw me and immediately informed me that she was too busy to help me (she was assisting a man who was very intoxicated). Twenty minutes later, I asked the female desk clerk if the hotel had surveillance and was informed that she did not know how to review or operate the surveillance. I indicated that something needed to be done about the knocking and if necessary the police needs to be called. The female desk clerk then stated in a rude tone, “It’s just kids!” The attitude was very unprofessional. It was roughly around 1:30 a.m. before I was able to go back to bed and another 20 minutes to fall asleep.

Our day of check-out: I was supposed to get a wakeup call and due to the lack of receiving this call, I was late for my last meeting in Louisville. During check-out a female desk clerk asked how our stay was, and my wife responded, “It could have been better”. The female desk clerk replied, “Have a nice day”. My wife is in the hospitality business and was appalled that this individual did not offer a statement of “What could we have done to make your stay better” or directed her to management. Our overall impression is that the employees do not care about the guest, the franchise owner or the Best Western Brand. I would have like to address the employees by name, however none of the desk associates wore name badges nor greeted the guest using their names (example: Hi! I’m Sue how can I assist you). My wife nor I recommend this particular hotel.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandon F, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS West I-64, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Steve,
First, we owe you a sincere apology. What you experienced at our hotel is absolutely unacceptable. We have already made some staffing and procedural changes to correct the issues you experienced. In addition, we have completed an entire staff training using your feedback. While this is not a normal experience at our hotel, it is certainly inexcusable. I hope that you are willing to visit us again in the future so we can show you what lengths we have gone to so we can ensure our guests' stays exceed all expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

The hotel is older but in great shape and decorated very nice. The room was very clean and the staff very friendly. I must say this is one of the better breakfast that I have had in this type of setting. The food is well seasoned and not bland and there is a good variety and beautiful setting. I would recommend this hotel greatly.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandon F, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS West I-64, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Thank you for your kind words. Our staff does everything possible to make our guests' stay a value. We are very happy we were able to provide that experience for you. We are particularly happy that you enjoyed our new breakfast items. We have been making some changes to our breakfast in attempt to provide the best hotel breakfast available. We now offer breakfast tacos, an oatmeal station, a yogurt station and many other options for our guests to customize their own breakfast experience. We can't wait to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

The lobby and breakfast room were nicely decorated, seemed new. Business center nice, large pool was great. Room was nice, but ceilings and walls could use some updating. Beds were very comfortable and was great to have a micro/fridge. We found the breakfast to be very disappointing both in availability and quality of the items...wasn't worth the extra money we paid for a "full breakfast". Staff was very nice.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandon F, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS West I-64, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Thank you for your comments about our hotel. We are very happy you enjoyed our newly renovated hotel. Our upgraded mattresses make for a great night's sleep. We are in the process of updating our complimentary hot breakfast. I am sure you will love the new items on your next stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amarillo, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

Good hotel for family to stay during cross-country trip. Although an older property, it appeared to be well-maintained and fairly clean. Compared to other hotel swimming pools seen by my kids during our trip, this one was much larger and cleaner (maybe because of the hotel being an older property). Only downside was that the in-room internet on the top floor was pretty sketchy.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandon F, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS West I-64, responded to this review, June 29, 2014
Thank you for your kind words about our property. The hotel has recently undergone a complete renovation to our guest rooms, public areas, meeting space, exterior and our pool area. Our guests love our large pool and our new outdoor patio area. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalamazoo, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

Very friendly service but hotel, being an older facility, could use some décor updating as many areas have seen better days and some facility maintenance overhauls, most notably, the cooling system are most definitely in order as the hotel seemed very warm/muggy all the time. Very nice pool though. If there was a "Good" rating as opposed to "Average" I would have given it that rating. I will repeat though, the staff at all levels that we came into contact with were extremely friendly, warm and helpful. I'd stay here again if I had business in the area or wanted to hang out in downtown Louisville for some fun (it's only six miles from downtown on other side of I64 bridge) but it turned out to be a bit further away from our friends/family we were visiting than what we anticipated so it wasn't as convenient as we thought it would be.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandon F, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS West I-64, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Thank you for your comments. I am thrilled our staff provided you with a memorable level of service. We do our best to impress our guests. I apologize for the cooling issue during your stay. We had a unit that went out and had to be replaced. That is not a pleasant experience, especially in the summer. We look forward to your next stay, which is sure to be a 'cool' one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS West I-64? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS West I-64

Address: 411 West Spring Street, New Albany, IN 47150 (Formerly Best Western Louisville West)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > New Albany
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in New Albany
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS West I-64 2.5*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located only five miles from downtown Louisville, Kentucky, this newly renovated Best Western Plus offers convenient access to some of Indiana and Kentucky's finest attractions. Once known as a quaint, historic little river town, New Albany has flourished in the past few years. The downtown district has become the new hotspot with locally owned on trend restaurants and shops popping up continually. Now celebrating its 200th year, New Albany has come alive and is making its mark on the region. We are confident that leisure travelers will also appreciate our hotel's location near Louisville, home of the Kentucky Derby. Nearby family attractions include Extreme Park, Waterfront Park and Falls of Ohio State Park. Adults can spend an afternoon at Horseshoe Casino or enjoy a wine tasting at Huber's Orchard and Winery. River cruises offer a unique view of the city, so we suggest that you climb aboard the Belle of Louisville while visiting our New Albany, Indiana hotel. Because of our close proximity to Louisville, business travelers find the trip in and out of the city to be quite easy. Nearby businesses include Bass Pro Shop, Floyd Memorial Hospital & Health Services, UPS, the Kentucky International Convention Center and the Kentucky Fair and Expo Center. Our hotel also features excellent business amenities, such as three on-site meeting rooms and a 24hr Business Center. Committed to promoting higher education in the region, you will find the campuses of Indiana University Southeast, Ivy Tech, Purdue Technology Center, and the University of Louisville within minutes of each other. Unlike other hotels near Louisville, we offer New Albany's best indoor pool, which is a great place to relax after a long day of meetings or sightseeing. We hope our guests take advantage of our daily, complimentary hot breakfast buffet. Other amenities include free high-speed, wireless Internet and 24 hour business center. Book your next stay at the BEST WESTERN PLUS West I-64. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS West I-64 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Louisville-Nw @ New Albany Hotel New Albany
Holiday Inn New Albany
New Albany Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS West I-64, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.