We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“THE GO TO PLACE .” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS West I-64

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS West I-64 to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS West I-64
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   411 West Spring Street, New Albany, IN 47150 (Formerly Best Western Louisville West)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Get up to 20% off
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in New Albany
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Louisville, Kentucky, United States
2 reviews
“THE GO TO PLACE .”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

this place is great , laura in housekeeping was the best she left extra towels every day for us , alway had a goodmorning how are you doing do you need and thing . you dont get that at other hotel, carol in the breakfast was great she made sure everything was full and hot . my son can not have sausage she made him bacon every morning that is so great that she did this for us other hotel would not have . then she gave the kids toys to play with in the pool or tub that is so cool , have never had a hotel do that for the kids. i will be telling every one to stay here you have to stay here it is the best .

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Augustus A, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS West I-64, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Dear Carol,

Thank you so much for your kind words concerning our hotel and staff. Laura and Carol are amazing team members who add to the wonderful guest experience of our hotel and it is my pleasure to share with them your review.

Once again thank you for your feedback and we look forward to having you as our guest again in the future as your travels bring you back to the Louisville area.

Sincerely,
Augustus Allen II
General Manager
Holiday Inn Express Louisville NW
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    60
    47
    13
    10
See reviews for
60
46
15
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

Stayed at this hotel in June 2013. Very nice hotel until 2nd night awoke in the morning to find a bug that looked like a bed bug. We then pulled the covers off both beds to see small black specks all over the sheets and what looked liked cast off skins. We immediately Called the front desk and asked them to come up and look. The girl came up and looked said she didn't know and would have someone else come and look. We left for breakfast and gave them our cell phone numbers to call us immediately when they found out. I had to go to the front desk and ask about getting our clothes dry cleaned as that is supposed to kill bed bugs. They then offered to dry clean clothes and said they would comp our first night. They said they were calling an exterminator to come and look. Then the girl called back and told us we had to change rooms. So we packed and went to another floor. We gathered everything we owned and placed in a garbage bag. they told us to bring to front desk. I told them they should pick it up we would leave it in the room. We asked again to please call our cell phones and let us know. then we showered and left. Went to visit friend in ICU and some sight seeing. Waited all day but no one called, so before we went back to hotel we called the front desk. The man said that they had called an exterminator and pulled the box springs and headboard away from the bed and found a nest, said our stay was free. At no time did we ever see a manager. We immediately went to Wal-Mart and bought new clothes and XL Large Ziplock bags. As we had looked up bed bugs on internet and were scared and crying at how hard it is to eradicate. We went to the hotel and picked up our belongings and bagged them in the XL Ziplock bags. We then changed into our new clothes in the lobby restroom put the clothes we had on in zippered bag. Then picked up our dry cleaned laundry. At which time we then double bagged them in the zip locked bags. Never once did the hotel management ever speak to us and apologize. I did check my credit card and so far have seen no charge.. drove straight home that evening. Spent the next day washing one bag of clothes at at time then dried them for over and hour at high heat just to be safe that we did not bring any home. Found those instructions from internet. In the process we threw away everything that we couldn't wash and dry. Some articles especially our shoes were ruined by the high heat. We lost between us 3 purses 3 pieces of luggage 3 pair sandals 5 pair shoes 3 of which were special Nike basketball shoes. We had 2 large 45 gallon garbage bags of clothing luggage. After all said and done our vacation ruined new clothes 24 hrs spent re laundering clothes just the sandal and shoe replacement was over $500.00. For three of us. Anyway there were adult bed bugs which means they had been there at least 6 weeks. Plus bed bug bites. Although they comped the room it just ruined everything.. Also no guarantee we still didn't bring them home so now it will be months of waiting and praying! Apparently management didn't think it was important to actually speak to us instead we only dealt with front desk help.

Room Tip: Avoid third floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Augustus A, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS West I-64, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
Dear Klanc,

I would like to first greatly apologize for the inconvenience of your stay. It is never the intention of our team to have our guest go through this experience. We strive to create a great experience for each and every guest and if we do not meet that expectation we try our best to make it right.

On the afternoon that you speak of we did speak concerning you experience and that is when I informed you that we would be making your multiple night stay complimentary. As the General Manager of the hotel I am involved in all matters concerning a complaint of this magnitude and also took the time to go through advice and tips for how to work with your concerns.

Once again I apologize that we did not meet expectations and that I was not clearer in my introduction so that you knew that management was involved in the handling of your complaint.

Thank you for your time and if there is anything else I can do please contact me directly at 812-945-2771 ext 5103.

Sincerely,
Augustus Allen II
General Manager
Holiday Inn Express Louisville - NW
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davenport, Iowa
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

I've stayed in many different hotels during my Military career and this one has been the BEST.
Kaye in housekeeping on my first day there asked me if I needed anything special. I asked about the #2 button on her shirt and she replied I'm number 1. Carol sets up the best breakfast, she even gave me 101 instructions on the pancake machine and troubleshooting. Anthony and Ted always made sure I received my daily cookies! (chocolate chip cookies are my favorite). Kristi gave me a coupon for $free play and $5 off the buffet at Horse Shoe Casino. Jennifer provided me great customer service on the phone one week prior to my arrival. Saddens me I was not able to see her during my stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Augustus A, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS West I-64, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Dear 155Shortround,

Thank you so much for your service to our Country! We greatly appreciate your feedback concerning our outstanding staff who love to go out of their way to exceed our guests expectations. Kaye, Carol, Ted, Anthony, Jennifer and Kristi are great team members who are often commended by our guests for their service.

Once again we thank you for your review and hope to see you again as your travel brings you back to the Louisville area.

Sincerely,
Augustus Allen II
General Manager
Holiday Inn Express Louisville - NW
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Check in was easy. When we called down to get linens for our pull out couch, (there was no linens in or around the room) there was only one person on staff. We waited and waited and finally my husband went down and got them himself. Lots of stains on the carpet. Carol the staff member working in the breakfast area, was very nice and helpful. She made sure everything was filled and always had a smile on her face. She took pride in her job and did it well.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Augustus A, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS West I-64, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Dear Mom2874,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We greatly appreciate all feedback and I appreciate your comments so that we may work to better accommodate our guests in the future in regards the requests you made for linens.

In regards to the carpet in the room we are looking forward to numerous changes in the hotel to freshen our appearance, including in room carpet, in order to match our staffs bright and hospitable demeanor. As you mentioned Carol is a fantastic team member who is constantly recognized for her efforts in our breakfast every morning.

Once again thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and we look forward to having you as our guest as your travel brings you back to the Louisville area.

Sincerely,
Augustus Allen II
General Manager
Holiday Inn Express Louisville - NW
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Just wanted to say after a 200 mile drive to the hospital to see my mother and being wore out and ready for bed I come to the hotel and meet Tom he was very nice and got me a room I get to the room and the air was broken along with the bath room sink so I go back down and talk to Tom again and he gets me set up with another room no questions asked I get back up to the new room and it was a reck had not even been cleaned as bad as I wanted to be mad at Tom I couldn't be he was very understanding and very helpful he got me another room as quick as he could... I just want to say he is very professional and very considerate of his customers he is very good at his job and puts smiles on people's faces even if the hotel makes mistakes you all should be very happy to have an employee like Tom!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Augustus A, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS West I-64, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Dear Aalstadt,

Thank you so much for your feedback on our hotel. We greatly appreciate your kind comments about our awesome team member Tom. He is a recent addition to the team and has embraced the hospitality driven atmosphere we strive to provide here at the hotel.

As to the condition in which you found your room and I greatly apologize for the inconvenience. As you know mistakes can happen and we will use this information to train our team to do better in the future.

Once again thank you for your review and we look forward to having you as our guest in the future as your travel brings you back to the Louisville area.

Sincerely,
Augustus Allen II
General Manager
Holiday Inn Express Louisville - NW
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

The front office staff was very courteous and personable. This attitude was seen throughout the entire staff including the housekeeping staff. As we walked through the halls, pleasant good morning and have a nice day was sincere and not routine or mechanical. Although room was nice and clean (the beds surprisingly comfortable!) there was a slight ring around the bathtub. I had not problem taking a shower but would have been hesitant to put young children in the tub.
the best part of all was the breakfast. Quite delicious...look out I Hop! The food was restaurant quality not the usual food trough stuff you frequently find at "free breakfast" buffets. The women that tends to the buffet was a gem! That gal worked her u-know-what off and with a smile. Carol should be commended for great service, a pleasing personality and going out of her way to make our experience an enjoyable one. We were running late for a plane and she grabbed a to-go box and fixed up a nice breakfast sampler for us. You don't find service with a smile like this often. Way to go Carol! We will be back since we have family in New Albany and need a comfortable, clean and friendly place to stay several times a year. LLB/Phoenix AZ

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Augustus A, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS West I-64, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Dear Laura,

Thank you so much for your kind words about our hotel and team! We do have a great team who is dedicated to the comfort and enjoyment of our guests stay. A great example of our genuine caring attitude is with Carol each morning when she greets her guests at the complimentary breakfast.

I apologize about the condition of your tub and will share your comments with our management team so that we may better accomodate our guests in the future.

Once again thank you for your review and we look forward to having you as our guest as your travel brings you back to the Louisville area.

Sincerely,
Augustus Allen II
General Manager
Holiday Inn Express Louisville - NW
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

We found the hotel through hotelcoupons.com. The staff was extremely friendly and Angela went out of her way to accommodate our family of 5. The pool was just what we needed after a long road trip. Carol was so hospitable to us at the free breakfast. It was clear to see that the staff cared about their guests and worked hard to make our stay enjoyable.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Augustus A, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS West I-64, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Dear Mary Ellen,

Thank you so much for taking the team to give us such great feedback about your stay. The dedication of our great team members like Angela and Carol are truly what sets our hotel apart from all others. We are glad that you were able to enjoy some time at the pool with your family and then at our free hot breakfast in the morning.

Once again thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay and we look forward to serving you again as your travels bring you back to the Louisville area.

Sincerely,
Augustus Allen II
General Manager
Holiday Inn Express Louisville - NW
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS West I-64? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS West I-64

Address: 411 West Spring Street, New Albany, IN 47150 (Formerly Best Western Louisville West)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > New Albany
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in New Albany
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS West I-64 2.5*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located only five miles from downtown Louisville, Kentucky, this newly renovated Best Western Plus offers convenient access to some of Indiana and Kentucky's finest attractions. Once known as a quaint, historic little river town, New Albany has flourished in the past few years. The downtown district has become the new hotspot with locally owned on trend restaurants and shops popping up continually. Now celebrating its 200th year, New Albany has come alive and is making its mark on the region. We are confident that leisure travelers will also appreciate our hotel's location near Louisville, home of the Kentucky Derby. Nearby family attractions include Extreme Park, Waterfront Park and Falls of Ohio State Park. Adults can spend an afternoon at Horseshoe Casino or enjoy a wine tasting at Huber's Orchard and Winery. River cruises offer a unique view of the city, so we suggest that you climb aboard the Belle of Louisville while visiting our New Albany, Indiana hotel. Because of our close proximity to Louisville, business travelers find the trip in and out of the city to be quite easy. Nearby businesses include Bass Pro Shop, Floyd Memorial Hospital & Health Services, UPS, the Kentucky International Convention Center and the Kentucky Fair and Expo Center. Our hotel also features excellent business amenities, such as three on-site meeting rooms and a 24hr Business Center. Committed to promoting higher education in the region, you will find the campuses of Indiana University Southeast, Ivy Tech, Purdue Technology Center, and the University of Louisville within minutes of each other. Unlike other hotels near Louisville, we offer New Albany's best indoor pool, which is a great place to relax after a long day of meetings or sightseeing. We hope our guests take advantage of our daily, complimentary hot breakfast buffet. Other amenities include free high-speed, wireless Internet and 24 hour business center. Book your next stay at the BEST WESTERN PLUS West I-64. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Best Western, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS West I-64 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Louisville-Nw @ New Albany Hotel New Albany
Holiday Inn New Albany
New Albany Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS West I-64, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.