We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tasty Cuban Cuisine” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Habana Blues

Habana Blues
148 E. Market St, New Albany, IN 47150
812-944-9760
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Habana Blues is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #8 of 111 Restaurants in New Albany
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Cuban, Spanish, Tapas
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Private Dining
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Market and Bank
Description: small plates/tapas
New Albany, Indiana, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Tasty Cuban Cuisine”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

Any dish I've had here is delicious. It is a little pricey, and servings are modest, but the food and presentation is well-worth the cost. You can get half-size orders which makes it more affordable, and they have tasty and refreshing drinks. They offer outdoor seating as well.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    20
    4
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Albany, Indiana
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
“Excellent Cuban food!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

We have been here several times - great traditional Cuban food! Service is prompt and polite and they won't hesitate to recommend dishes according to your tastes. (Cuban food is NOT spicy.) The only issues we have had here is with the rude local people, no manners, demanding - just very poor public behavior. When coming to a CUBAN restaurant, order CUBAN food to truly experience their culture - you want a panini or fish sandwich - go someplace that specializes in that.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crown Point, Indiana
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Habana is the Manna!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Very different way to eat. Lots of fun with good food. You will need your Adventurer hat and do not forget your wallet. it is not cheap but worthwhile!
Most items are a-la-cart. we passed everything around the table. this was about 2 years ago so that would be 2012 or 2011

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarksville, Indiana
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Anniversary dinner done right”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

My wife & I recently visited Habana Blues for our wedding anniversary & thoroughly enjoyed the experience. The food was delicious, as was our view eating in the courtyard (we enjoyed live music & the soothing sound of the fountain as we ate). What made the visit was the unbelievable service. With our permission, our waiter made suggestions to/modified our order & it was the right call. Overall it was a great trip & we can't wait to go back!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
louisville, ky
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“First and Last Visit”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

After reading the reviews on TripAdvisor, I expected much more. I was extremely disappointed in the food, the service, and the cleanliness of Habana Blues. A friend and I went there for lunch and sat in the courtyard, which did have a charming atmosphere other than the odd mix of Latin music and Hip-Hop blaring through the speaker. I ordered the grilled vegetable Panini, took one bite, and decided I was not sticking that in my mouth again. It was definitely not as the menu described, but consisted of pickled, limp vegetables that tasted of vinegar. The mixture made the bread disgustingly soggy. My friend was half way through her grouper sandwich, which was definitely not grouper as the menu stated, before the waitress came back to check on us, so I didn't even bother to order a replacement. She didn't seem very concerned about the lack of quality in my sandwich and never came back again until it was time to deliver the check. The silverware was dirty. After watching the loose screen on the kitchen door flap in the wind and watching the waitress stick her foot through, where a lower screen should have been, the door to open it when her hands were full, it made me wonder about how sanitary the kitchen was. Needless to say, I won't be visiting this restaurant ever again.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Habana Blues also viewed

 

Been to Habana Blues? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Habana Blues, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.