We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Satisfying Brunch for an easy to swallow price. Happy to have it close by!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Toast on Market

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Toast on Market
141 E Market ST, New Albany, IN 47150
812.941.8582
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 109 restaurants in New Albany
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Description: Breakfast,Lunch only....Downtown New albany IN
New Albany, Indiana
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Satisfying Brunch for an easy to swallow price. Happy to have it close by!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2012

I was very happy when I found out that a new Toast was opening near my home in New Albany. I have been there several times with family and friends since it first opened, with the most recent trip last week for brunch with a friend from out of town.

Toast is not a large place and I have always had to wait 5-20 minutes for a table--though if you are familiar with the Louisville location, you know that the wait times there tended to be much, much longer. The service is always excellent, prompt and cheery.

I highly recommend the Drowned eggs, Steak and eggs, lemon souffle pancake, hashbrown casserole, and the grilled cheese variations. The house Jalapeno Bloody Marys are also very good!

  • Visited December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

84% Recommend
    20
    12
    6
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Georgetown
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“for brunch or lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2011

Service is great and friendly. The food is very tasty. The place is small and often crowded but worth a wait.

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Toast Is Absolutely Fabulous!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

I stopped by with a small group. We were traveling from St. Louis to Louisville and New Albany is just across the river from Louisville. It was a Saturday morning so we decided to chance it and give Toast in New Albany a shot although we were expecting to have a long wait for a table. We had a very short wait for it being peak breakfast time. The food was very good and the waiting staff was very attentive. They have more offerings than what is shown on their online menu. If you go to Toast, be sure to try the hash casserole and the bread pudding pancakes. They are both to die for. The restaurant had an ultra modern decor and it almost felt like you were having brunch in Chicago or New York as oppose to a very small town. If you go on a Saturday morning, there is a farmer's market across the street that has trinkets like jewelry, vegetables, food, goat milk soap, etc. Toast on Market is a fabulous restaurant! You won't be disappointed.

  • Visited May 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Top Contributor
212 reviews 212 reviews
144 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 104 cities Reviews in 104 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
“The fragrant smell of Bacon in New Albany”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2011

So, You've just driving in from Detroit...and you're too early for toast to open and you decide to park and go for a walk in Downtown New Albany IN.... what hits you as you go down wind from Toast is the smell of bacon in the morning air...Lovely.

At first I thought it came from Little chef and I even walked in to grab a carry out menu just to see if the smell was coming form there...but no nothing but heavy cigarette smoke.

7 A.M rolls around and Toast opens on time...I'm alone seating promptly , and have my drink order taken..I order a King and a side of bacon for breakfast.

Very yummy, coffee darn good, by 7:10 things start to busy up , but nothing in comparison to Toast in L'ville, and it's a less dressed up crowd mostly local New albany business folk or regulars from the area.

Would I go back ,sure....I'd just follow my nose to their front door.

  • Visited April 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Toast on Market also viewed

 

Been to Toast on Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Toast on Market, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.