We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice airport hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Gateway Hotel Airport Garden Colombo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Gateway Hotel Airport Garden Colombo to your Saves list
The Gateway Hotel Airport Garden Colombo
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   234-238, Colombo-Negombo Road, Seeduwa, Sri Lanka   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Seeduwa
California
Top Contributor
189 reviews 189 reviews
70 hotel reviews
Reviews in 97 cities Reviews in 97 cities
150 helpful votes 150 helpful votes
“Nice airport hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014 via mobile

Hotels in Colombo are quite far away from the airport making this a convenient location to spend a few hours before an international flight, most of which leave after midnight. The hotel has a modern lobby and nice rooms. Unlike many airport hotels it is actually a 10 minute drive away from the airport.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashok V, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel Airport Garden Colombo, responded to this review, May 26, 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from The Gateway Hotel Airport Garden!

It has been our privilege to have you stay with us at The Gateway Hotel Airport Garden. We have always been earnest in our endeavour to extend the very best of the Gateway Hotel to our guests.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us on your recent visit to Sri Lanka and very thoughtful of you to review us on Trip Advisor and to post an excellent feedback.

We are pleased to hear that you had a very comfortable stay and we appreciate your positive feedback on our location which is just a few minutes’ drive away from the Katunayake International airport.

We assure you that it will be our constant Endeavour to provide warm and personalized hospitality to all our guests.

We look forward to the pleasure of being at your service again some time in the near future.

Warm Regards,

Ashok Vasudevan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

453 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    155
    194
    68
    20
    16
See reviews for
78
179
46
83
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

this is a fabulous newly upgraded hotel, with extremely courteous staff.
Wonderful food too.
our only problem was that our driver was put in a room with hotel staff on shift duties so didnt get any sleep, nor was he offered any food.
So he was tired the next day, for our travels!!
Smaller hotels look after their drivers much better than this.
i think taj garden could deal with this if they wanted to.

Room Tip: new wing good overall, but our room had terribel views- not really material as we were simply in tra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashok V, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel Airport Garden Colombo, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from The Gateway Hotel Airport Garden!

It has been our privilege to have you stay with us at The Gateway Hotel Airport Garden. We have always been earnest in our endeavour to extend the very best of the Gateway Hotel to our guests.

Thank you for sharing your views about the hotel on Trip Advisor.

We are pleased to hear that you had a very comfortable stay and we appreciate your positive feedback on our rooms, food and services offered by our courteous staff. I am thankful to hear that our service level meets the standard of Taj hospitality. Encouraging words like these go a long way to keep the team motivated at the hotel and we assure you that it will be our constant Endeavour to provide warm and personalized hospitality to all our guests.
Also we noted on driver’s accommodation and regret the inconvenience caused to him. The enhanced and exclusive facilities for driver’s accommodation is in line with our immediate future plans.

We immensely value your patronage and look forward to having you with us again and assure you of our best service and attention always.

Kindest regards,

Ashok Vasudevan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

We stayed for one night but would have liked a little longer as this was a lovely hotel very quite and peaceful. The food was very good quality and inexpensive with friendly smiling staff . The rooms take British plugs as well as European plugs. Large bathroom with a deep bath and large clean bedroom with a comfy bed.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashok V, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel Airport Garden Colombo, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from The Gateway Hotel Airport Garden!

It has been our privilege to have you stay with us at The Gateway Hotel Airport Garden. We have always been earnest in our endeavour to extend the very best of the Gateway Hotel to our guests.
Thank you for choosing to stay with us on your recent visit to Sri Lanka and very thoughtful of you to review us on Trip Advisor and to post an excellent feedback.

We are pleased to hear that you had a very comfortable stay and we appreciate your positive feedback on our hotel that is quiet, peaceful and with quality food & friendly services.
We are glad to see that you were pleased with our products in the room and also about our location which is just a few minutes’ drive away from the Katunayake International airport.

I am thankful to hear that our service level meets the standard of Taj hospitality and we assure you that it will be our constant Endeavour to provide warm and personalized hospitality to all our guests.

We look forward to the pleasure of being at your service again sometime in the near future.

Warm Regards,

Ashok Vasudevan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

This hotel served the purpose I needed it to very well. It was close to the airport, clean and provided a good nights sleep.

This was a good airport hotel. The service was good, not fantastic, but certainly better than many others. The room was simple, basic and utilitarian, the bed was comfortable, the shower was hot and good pressure. Nothing exciting, but not disappointing.

The breakfast was okay, not a bad selection, but nothing particularly well prepared.

Overall a good airport to start or end your Sri Lanka journeys. The proximity to the airport can't be beat.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashok V, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel Airport Garden Colombo, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Dear Guest,
Greetings from The Gateway Hotel Airport Garden!

It has been our privilege to have you stay with us at The Gateway Hotel Airport Garden. We have always been earnest in our endeavour to extend the very best of the Gateway Hotel to our guests.
Thank you for sharing your views about the hotel on Trip Advisor.

We are pleased to hear that the hotel and services was good and you had a comfortable stay. Also glad to see that you were delighted about our location which is just a few minutes drive away from the Katunayake International airport.
We appreciate the details of your feedback on breakfast which we noted for remedial measures .

We immensely value your patronage and look forward to the pleasure of being at your service again sometime in the future.


Warm Regards,

Ashok Vasudevan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kandy, Sri Lanka
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

very close to the Katunayake airport and the E3 motorway very friendly staff clean and very good service the food was good and a very good selection of eastern and western food and security wise a very safe place for anyone who is on transit through sri lanka

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashok V, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel Airport Garden Colombo, responded to this review, April 19, 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from The Gateway Hotel Airport Garden!
It has been our privilege to have you stay with us at The Gateway Hotel Airport Garden. We have always been earnest in our endeavour to extend the very best of the Gateway Hotel to our guests.
Thank you for choosing to stay with us on your recent visit to Sri Lanka and very thoughtful of you to review us on Trip Advisor and to post an excellent feedback.

We are pleased to hear that you had a very comfortable stay and we appreciate your positive feedback on good selection of our food, friendly services and safety on security wise. Also glad to see that you were delighted about our great location which is just a few minutes drive away from the Katunayake International airport.

I am thankful to hear that our service level meets the standard Taj hospitality. Encouraging words like these go a long way to keep the team motivated at the hotel and we assure you that it will be our constant Endeavour to provide warm and personalized hospitality to all our guests.

We look forward to the pleasure of being at your service again sometime in the near future.

Warm Regards,

Ashok Vasudevan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oxford
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

We stayed one day at the beginning and one at the end of our 2 week trip to Sri Lanka. What a wonderful hotel with first class amenities and top class professional staff. No more to be said except that this hotel was perfection

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashok V, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel Airport Garden Colombo, responded to this review, April 19, 2014
Dear Guest,
Greetings from The Gateway Hotel Airport Garden!
It has been our privilege to have you stay with us at The Gateway Hotel Airport Garden. We have always been earnest in our endeavour to extend the very best of the Gateway Hotel to our guests.
Thank you for choosing to stay with us on your recent visit to Sri Lanka and very thoughtful of you to review us on Trip Advisor and to post an excellent feedback.

We are pleased to hear that you had a very comfortable stay and we appreciate your positive feedback on our hotel and you are delighted with our amenities and services.

I am thankful to hear that our service level meets the standard Taj hospitality. Encouraging words like these go a long way to keep the team motivated at the hotel and we assure you that it will be our constant Endeavour to provide warm and personalized hospitality to all our guests.

We look forward to the pleasure of being at your service again sometime in the near future.

Warm Regards,

Ashok Vasudevan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

We stayed one night since we arrived late at night and had an early morning drive to the tea plantations. It is clean and comfortable and perfect if you want a hotel close to the airport. It is only about a 10 minute drive away.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashok V, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel Airport Garden Colombo, responded to this review, April 19, 2014
Dear Guest,
Greetings from The Gateway Hotel Airport Garden!

It has been our privilege to have you stay with us at The Gateway Hotel Airport Garden. We have always been earnest in our endeavour to extend the very best of the Gateway Hotel to our guests.
Thank you for choosing to stay with us on your recent visit to Sri Lanka and very thoughtful of you to review us on Trip Advisor and to post an excellent feedback.

We are pleased to hear that you had a comfortable stay and we appreciate your positive feedback on our rooms that are as clean, comfortable and perfect. Also glad to see that you recommend our location which is just a few minutes’ drive away from the Katunayake International airport.

We look forward to the pleasure of being at your service again sometime in the near future.

Warm Regards,

Ashok Vasudevan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Gateway Hotel Airport Garden Colombo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gateway Hotel Airport Garden Colombo

Address: 234-238, Colombo-Negombo Road, Seeduwa, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Seeduwa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Seeduwa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Gateway Hotel Airport Garden Colombo 3.5*
Number of rooms: 208
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amidst a 38-acre cocount plantation and bordering the legendrary Negombo Lagoon, The Gateway Hotel Airport Garden is in close proximity to the International Airport. Situated in Seeduwa - Katunayake, you're sure to find the other regional attractions nearby. 5-minute drive from Colombo international Airport, 3.5Kilometers from the airport, 30Kilometers away from Colombo City (35-minute drive) on the expressway. 208 rooms and suites, 100 rooms and suites in the newly built wing, International direct dialling facility,Mini-bar, Satellite,Views of the tennis court, children's playground and the city's skyline. At the Gateway Hotel Airport Garden, our restaurant brings together the best of global cuisines. Guests can look forward to a selection of local and International favourites that explores the nuances of culinary delights from the world over. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Agoda and Expedia so you can book your The Gateway Hotel Airport Garden Colombo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taj Airport Garden Colombo
Colombo Airport Hotel
Hotel Taj Airport Garden

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Gateway Hotel Airport Garden Colombo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.