We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not what I excepted” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Artist's Colony Restaurant

Artist's Colony Restaurant
corner of Van Buren & Franklin Streets, Nashville, IN 47448
812-988-0600
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 37 Restaurants in Nashville
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Cincinnati, Ohio
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Not what I excepted”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

I had heard such great things about the restaurant that I had to try it. I was underwhelmed. I got the meatloaf, it came covered in gravy and was not very good. My husband had soup and a sandwich, he was not very impressed. We were also not impressed with the price, way to expensive for what you get. I will not be going back. There are much better and cheaper place to go.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    89
    98
    39
    10
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
chicago
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Artists Colony Inn Restaurant”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Noisey, hot, poor service, and a limited menu. I read the reviews(many were good to excellent), waited for 40 minutes, and couldn't wait to leave. Average food at best, served luke warm. Prices were reasonable for a tourist type restaurant, but there have to be better places to eat in Nashville. I would never go back, nor reccommend that anybody go here to eat.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lowell, Indiana, USA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Love this restaurant.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

It is just lovely to eat there in the winter. Food is good, maybe a little overpriced though. The service was quite good also.

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macon, Georgia, United States
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Nice Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

Food was really good, crowded, but plenty of seating available, Best place to eat downtown, Good prices too.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fishers, Indiana
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Lunch was Ok”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012 via mobile

I had a spicy chicken sandwich. Meat was tender, and it was definitely spicy. My spouse had turkey manhattan. She reported that the turkey was good, but the gravy and bread left much to be desired. Service was so-so. It took an uncomfortably long time for our waiter to arrive to take our order. In fact, another waiter volunteered to "find" him for us.
In summary, the food was OK, but the service was below average.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Artist's Colony Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Artist's Colony Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Artist's Colony Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.