We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“History and Modern Facilities Together” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Brown County State Park

Brown County State Park
West Gate _ 1405 S.R. 46W, Nashville, IN 47448
+1 812-988-6406
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 22 things to do in Nashville
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Nicknamed the "Little Smokies" because of the area's resemblance to the Great Smoky Mountains, Brown County encompasses nearly 16,000 acres of rugged hills, ridges and fog-shrouded ravines. Glaciers from the most recent ice ages stopped short of the "hills o' Brown," but their meltwaters helped create the narrow ridges, steep slopes and deep gullies of Brown County State Park. Indiana's largest park is a traditional fall color hot spot, with nearly 20 miles of tree-lined roads and many scenic vistas overlooking miles of uninterrupted forestland.
Grayville, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“History and Modern Facilities Together”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2015 NEW

We were given a superb tour by the Assistant Manager who emphasized the historic origins of the part and facilities and showed us the beautifully maintained original lodge. Then there are the cabins, ranging from rustic to more modern, with something for everyone. Staff were more than friendly - at the park gate the officer gave us a review of the more beautiful parts of the park at this particular season and suggested driving tours. Indiana should be very proud of this treasure.

Visited April 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    153
    45
    9
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana, United States
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Beautiful park ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2015 NEW

We've been here on many day trips and just got back from our second overnight in the family cabins at the lodge. The scenery is beautiful and despite the hills there are plenty of trails that are easy for young children. The loop around Ogle Lake is a favorite of our's. There are also a lot of playgrounds scattered throughout the park that my son loved. It's just a beautiful place and I love that we don't have to drive far from our home in flat Indy to see these beautiful hills!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“I will always love this park for picnics, hiking and camping”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2015

The hiking trails have variety for all hiking wants, the campgrounds are decent and the picnic views are beautiful for Indiana!

Visited April 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corydon, Indiana
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Above Average Indiana State Park”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2015

With a list of amenities, pool, cabins, lodge, camping, nature center, etc... it has all that a state park could offer - including a couple of lakes and exceptional views from ridge top roads. Covered bridge at entrance is very unique.

Visited April 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noblesville, Indiana
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Spring Hiking”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2015

We loved the vast landscape at the Brown County State Park! My husband and I were in town to celebrate our anniversary. We enjoyed hiking on a few of the trails and driving through the park, and planning our next trip there to include our 2 year old!

Visited April 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Brown County State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brown County State Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.