We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best wedding night stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Abbey Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nashville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Abbey Inn
Save
You added Abbey Inn to your Saves list
St. Rd. 46 West, Nashville, IN 47448   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 26 Nashville B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersBronze level
Bloomington
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Best wedding night stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2011

We stayed in The Dogwood Room for our wedding night. It was very sweet and intimate. The room was clean. The hot tub was a perfect fit for the room. The bed was comfortable. My husband and I will definitely be back again!!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    12
    6
    11
    11
See reviews for
2
56
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2011

My husband and myself stayed in the Apple Cabin through Abbey Inn. We will NEVER stay with them again. The Customer Service was awful! When we arrived about 6:30 on a Friday Night, we get to the "cabin" only to smell natual gas throughout the kitchen. When we walked next door to the Orchard Inn, a sister hotel, the hotel clerk. (who was wonderful) called her supervisor, Melissa. We went back to Abbey Inn, after about 45 minutes of waiting. We requested another room and were told we would have to pay the upcharge. I voiced that I didn't think I should have to pay the upcharge since my "cabin" was filled with Natural Gas. Melissa did not authorize any changes or refunds on our card until her relative, the maintenance man, Dan was to look at the facility. We had to wait an hour for this to happen. After being in traffic for almost 5 hours, We were tired, hungry and wanted to rest. They wanted us to wait an hour until they could determine the cause of the natural gas. It was determined the "Maintenance Man" forgot to light the pilot light the prior day when he was in the "cabin" making repairs. Poor, Poor customer service. Melissa would not even talk to us when we arrived back at the cabin. She was on site, but did not say a word to us. She did not apologize for the inconvenience. NOTHING! Once we get into the cabin, we couldn't even open any windows to air out the "cabin" because there were no screens in the windows. It was a beautiful May evening and we would have loved to open the windows. It would have been nice to have windows to open, that is until we heard all the neighborhood dogs get into a barking match. (not really relaxing at all). Needless to day, this is NOT a CABIN. It is a double wide trailer they purchased in a neighboorhood. They advertise it as a two bedroom cabin, what they don't tell you is that they lock one bedroom shut unless you are paying for additional people. We were looking forward to the additional bedroom for the luggage. Also, don't expect to enjoy a nice relaxing shower, unless you are under 5 feet tall. Me and my husband are 5 feet 8 inches tall and the shower head came to our chest. In order to wash and rinse my hair, I had to squat to get it all rinsed. We will definately go back to Brown County Indiana, but we will NOT STAY AT THE ABBEY INN. They will definately take your money, but they are not into making any updates are maintaining their facility.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AbbeyInnManager, Manager at Abbey Inn, responded to this review, June 1, 2011
We are sorry your stay with us was not as you had hoped. Upon your arrival you did experience the smell of Natural Gas as you had mentioned in your review. The State of Indiana is currently involved in a large public works project in the area, and did have to turn the gas off to the Apple Cabin before your stay. We did turn the gas back on the day of your arrival, and did miss one pilot light on the stove top. All other pilot lights were on and working, and the Carbon Monoxide detector was working in the cabin. As soon as we were made aware of the problem we contacted our Maintenance Staff, who came to the cabin and lite the pilot light and re-checked all the other pilot lights. We attempted to correct the problem as quickly as possible, and did apologize about the inconvenience to you. You also mentioned you were upset about the locked second bedroom, however we do state on the website that the bedroom does remained locked unless the additional guest fee is paid. The master bedroom does have two large closets, a large dresser and two night stands for clothing storage. Again, we are sorry that your stay was not up to your satisfaction, and we hope you give Brown County another chance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2011

My husband and I stayed at the Abbey Inn in the Magnolia Room for a long weekend. Overall, everything was great. The staff at check-in was friendly and helpful with our one issue. The location was great for what we wanted to do (shop, eat and hike in the park). The bed was comfortable (despite the pilled sheets), but sleeping with the hum of the hot tub took some getting used to. We opted for the breakfasts at the Artist's Colony Inn and we really enjoyed that. Downtown Nashville was really cute and we loved shopping around- especially all the candy stores! Every restaurant was really good- no disappointments there. Our only issue was ants in our room. Luckily, they stayed around the tile under the hot tub, but still I was annoyed by them. The staff came and sprayed- which improved the issue, but didn't solve it. We can't say they didn't warn us about there being bugs (considering how close we were to the woods)! The patio off the room was perfect for reading in the sun. We would stay there again if we went back to Nashville.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2011

My husband and I stayed at the Abbey Inn in the Honeysuckle Suite this past Saturday and absolutely loved everything about it. It was, by far, the most relaxing getaway we've had in a long time. The rooms were beautifully done, the staff was friendly and it was the perfect environment to reconnect with my husband. I highly recommend the Abbey Inn to anyone looking for a relaxing and rejeuvenating trip.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
indianapolis, IN
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2010

We decided last minute to revisit the Abbey Inn over Labor Day weekend. Luckily, they had a beautiful room available. The Inn has been updated since the last time I visited (years ago) and the decor looked gorgeous. The interior design was closer to a four star hotel in a major city than a Nashville inn.

The room was very clean and the staff professional. Although some reviews complain about the hot tub in the room- we loved it. The hot tub was clean and fun and I slept like a baby, not noticing the sound of the tub in the slightest.

Highly recommend.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beech Grove, Indiana
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2010

My boyfriend surprised me with a romantic getaway to Nashville, Indiana. He had read about the Abbey Inn online and thought it would be a perfect retreat for us. We enjoyed the peace, quiet, and relaxation that evening. The room was spacious and very private. If anyone had asked us, then, if we’d recommend the Abbey Inn, we would have given our blessing wholeheartedly.

This quickly changed around 3:45 am when the hot tub in our room started making awful noises. There were explicit instructions to not touch anything except the jets lest we be charged a fee, so we tried calling the staff on duty to report the problem. The noises made it almost impossible to fall back asleep, plus we were waiting for a return call from the staff. An hour later, at 5:00 am, we called and left another message saying that our hot tub was still making horrible loud noises, that we couldn’t even get back to sleep, and to please call us as soon as possible.

No one ever called.

By 8:00 am, we decided there was no way we were going to get any sleep. We left for breakfast and paged the staff on duty when we returned. The girl we spoke with had not been on duty the night before and explained that the noises we heard were probably due to air in the pipes of the hot tub. We stressed that we would have appreciated some response, any response, in the middle of the night when we were being kept awake by the noises. She apologized but did not offer any compensation beyond that, which would have been appreciated for the ruined night we had had. We would not recommend the Abbey Inn based on the disregard the staff had for customer service.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mt Carmel
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2010

We loved our stay at the Abbey inn. The outside is a little dated but the room was very nice! I loved the hot tub and the decor was lovely. The fireplace was adorable. We enjoyed the sound machine and even slept with it on at night. We utilized the wine glasses, the ipod docking station and the huge TV. It was so peacful and I can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Abbey Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abbey Inn

Address: St. Rd. 46 West, Nashville, IN 47448
Location: United States > Indiana > Nashville
Amenities:
Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Nashville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Abbey Inn and Suites is an adult getaway, different than hotels & bed & breakfasts in the area. We are adjacent to Brown County State Park. No kids, no pets, no phones...Just privacy. Minimal staff. Maximum privacy. We are not a hotel and we do not have full time staff. We require all guests read, agree to and abide by our policies. Guests enjoy a private hot tub in their room, suite or cabin. Rooms have king beds, electric fireplaces, flat panel TVs, kitchenettes, patios and balconies. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Abbey Hotel Nashville
Brown County Indiana

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Abbey Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.