We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful, beautiful, perfect!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of 1875 Homestead Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nashville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
1875 Homestead Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added 1875 Homestead Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
3766 East State Road 46, Nashville, IN 47448   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 26 Nashville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Indy
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Peaceful, beautiful, perfect!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2011

My husband and I spent a September weekend in this B&B. It is located in a peaceful country setting a few miles outside of the always busy Nashville and close to Brown County State Park. It is right on highway 46, which has a lot of traffic. We could hear traffic noise but it wasn't bad while we were there. The grounds are very nice-a large, open yard with a couple of hammocks, a gazebo area and several sitting areas available. There is a side porch with rocking chairs facing the yard where a multitude of hummingbirds zip in and out, chattering around the feeders.

We had the Maple Leaf Room, a second floor room with a king bed with lace canopy, beautiful gas fireplace, jetted tub in the bathroom and jacuzzi tub in the room. There is also a small sofa and a small flat screen TV in the room. (There are several DVDs available that guests can borrow and watch while visiting.) We used the fireplace both nights that we stayed; very nice. The jacuzzi tub in the room is my only complaint of the entire weekend. It is a small tub and very loud. I tried to use it one night but decided it made too much noise. We have a jetted tub at home that isn't nearly as noise as this one.

Breakfast was served promptly at 9 although coffee, tea, soda, juice, fresh cookies and popcorn are available at all hours. Breakfast was wonderful both mornings. It started with fruit-one morning cooked apples with cinnamon and the next, fresh strawberries with cream. There was also a beautiful yogurt and fruit served both mornings. One morning, pumpkin pancakes with sausage and bacon; the following, an egg/potato/ham casserole with bacon and English muffins. We thoroughly enjoyed breakfast both days-neither of us eating again until dinner time.

The Gunns are wonderful hosts, very friendly and fun to listen to. We would definitely return to this B&B and have already referred friends.

Room Tip: Definitely recommend the Maple Leaf room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    145
    3
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
16
97
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fort Wayne
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2011

The owners were friendly,room was very clean,common areas nice and it was nice to have access to complimentary water,soft drinks,cookies and popcorn. The ambiance of the decorations weren't appealing in the Sycamore Room. The towels had a funny old musty odor that was so bad I couldn't use them. Thank goodness there were a couple of fluffy white ones folded on a shelf which smelled much better. I didn't know how to approach the owners about the towels...I didn't want to embarrass them. We were given the times of breakfast but it was not emphasized that if you didn't show up right at that exact time that you would miss it totally! She threw it out! All the B&B's I have stayed in have a time frame that breakfast is available. All she had left was the yogurt dish she had served. About 10 minutes later, she comes in to ask us if we want her to make pancakes but said they probably wouldn't be as nicely done as they were earlier. We said no. I felt if she really wanted to make us the pancakes she would have offered right away not several minutes later. We didn't even get a small refund for having missed the breakfast. The room was pricey for what you got anyways. So all in all, it wasn't a satisfying stay.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1875homestead, General Manager at 1875 Homestead Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, September 30, 2011
"The 1875 Homestead B&B" is well documented for serving a plentiful, high quality breakfast. After 1 hour and 20 minutes, it`s no longer a quality breakfast and we can not serve it and still maintain the level of quality we provide our guests.
We do apologize to these 2 ladies and offer them a 1 night free visit, in any other room available, if they wish to return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danville, IL
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2011

I can't say enough good about this B&B. The hosts Manuel and Nancy Gunn are so friendly and hospitable. We loved that they socialized with the guests. It made it so much more special than staying in a hotel. The Oak Room that we stayed in was beautiful and huge. I loved the open kitchen that we were able to visit for water, pop, coffee, tea and popcorn 24 hours a day. Oh and the breakfast...... It was out of this world. I have never tasted stuffed French toast that was so good. The yogurt that Manny designed in the morning was beautiful and such a special touch. It was such a great experience that it made if difficult to return to the regular world. It was so relaxing. We will definitely go back again and again. It's an incredible value for the price.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peoria, Illinois
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

Our room was lovely[rose room]. The breakfast was large and very well done. The hosts are down to earth and very friendly and funny!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2011

My husband and I had never been to a Bed and Breakfast before, but based on the reviews on tripadvisor, we thought we would try it out, and we are so happy that we did! Manny and Nancy were incredibly hospitable. We loved the history of the house and the ambience. My husband and I spent quite sometime on the rockers watching hummingbirds, an experience you'd never get at a hotel. Comfortable bed, super clean, I could tell the house was well-loved. Breakfast was generous, and delicious. I highly recommend it to anyone looking for a quiet getaway!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern CA
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2011

You will never have more hospitable hosts than Manuel and Nancy Gunn. Their warmth was sincere and they treasure the house and grounds. Nancy is an expert chef and bountiful! The grounds are so beautiful and the rooms so comfortable and roomy. They even have bonfires in the evening for the guests to sit around.
We were the only guests at the time and electricity went out due to a storm....they invited us to go to Columbus (a town that had power) to try a new resturant We went and had a good time. All in all we were sorry to leave.

Room Tip: Look at the web site and choose your room before
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, Ohio
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2011

By far Nancy and Manuel are the best hosts of any establishment that we have ever encountered in all of our travels. This was our second time to stay with them and it was like meeting old friends again. Their Bed & Breakfast is beyond 5 star, the property is beautifully maintained and house so comfortable and is tastefully decorated, the rooms are exceptionally clean and comfortable. The attention to detail, such as chocolates by your bed, big soft fluffy towels, nice big pillows and the beds are so lush, and they even bake special evening snacks to go along with the coffee, tea or cold drinks that they furnish. The breakfast is like your Mother or Grandmother may have cooked for you, though probably much more elaborate, they pay attention to different diet needs and try to accomodate those needs. We cannot say enough about these hosts and their B&B except you must try it, we know you will love it too.

Room Tip: Call early they book up quickly
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to 1875 Homestead Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1875 Homestead Bed and Breakfast

Address: 3766 East State Road 46, Nashville, IN 47448
Location: United States > Indiana > Nashville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Nashville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
1875 Homestead B&B is a Country Victorian home providing the ambiance of yesteryear with the comforts of today, located on 5 peaceful acres. Away from the hustle and bustle of the crowds in the village of Nashville. Enjoy our open kitchen or visit all six, rooms decorated with pristine antiques. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 1875 Homestead Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.