We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Explore Brown County at Valley Branch Retreat
2620 Valley Branch Road, Nashville, IN 47448
812-988-7750
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Explore Brown County is a 1000 acre adventure retreat. We offer Zip-Line Canopy Tours, 80 acres of Paintball Fields, 30 miles of Mountain Biking and Hiking Trails, Guided ATV tours, Primitive Camping, Electric/ Water Sites, and Full Hook-up Sites, Cabin Rentals, a Fishing Lake, and a Banquet Hall. We are open year-round, you can checkout our website for details on closings and possible weather related closings. We also have rentals for the day or hour for boats, canoes, paddle boats, fishing poles and much more. All lake activities are seasonal March 1 - Nov 1 each year.
Crown Point, Indiana
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“ZIP ON!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

What fun we had at Valley Branch Retreat! The ziplining was fantastic and the guides were the best. We rented the "Babbling Brook" cabin for the night and it was great. Beautiful, peaceful, and serene. Additionally, Nashville is right down the road and the unique shopping is tons of fun. Highly recommed a trip to Valley Branch Retreat.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

487 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    451
    27
    4
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Indiana
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Good times in the trees!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

This is our third zip line in the midwest and this was worth the $. We've done longer zip lines but alll things considered we were satisfied. The guides are over-the-top good and would rate them as good as we have seen. We had Greg and Roo and would recommend them. Enjoy!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Amazing time!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012 via mobile

We had so much fun!

Cons- none!

Pros- felt very safe, knowledgable guides, personable a humerous staff, very safty conscious, quality equipment

The tour we did was very scenic, choose the explorer tour you get to see more and go over the water twice, also zipping through trees!

Great elevation! You would think Indiana is flat bit not in the brown county area! It reminded me of the trails west Virginia or Tennessee.

We will be back! This is a must. Thanks Roo and Anna.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pendleton, Indiana
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“lots of fun”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Our first time zip lining. My husband, 13 year old daughter and myself. The weather definitely didn't enhance our trip but we had a great time none the less. We did the Screamer tour. Zip line #9 is the best for sure.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Cabins”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012 via mobile

Checking into our cabin was smooth and easy. They usually come with a fridge and microwave. Also there is some form of heater which is great for the cold months.

Cons- its camping so you can't expect it to be like a hotel. Mattresses should be covered in plastic like dorm rooms.

Bathrooms could use some tlc, buts it's camping and at least there are bathrooms with running water and showers.

Absolutely bring shower shoes, if you must use the shower.

Firewood must be purchased here and it is not dry enough if took us hours to finally get a fire going.

Cabins are close together so you feel like you ate at a "camp ground" if they were a bit more secluded it would be better.

Pros: nice friendly helpful people

Kind and knowledgable staff
A microwave and fridge, very clean and helpful!

Heated cabins.

Beautiful scenery and lots to do!

Fire pits. Reasonable price.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Explore Brown County at Valley Branch Retreat also viewed

 

Been to Explore Brown County at Valley Branch Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Explore Brown County at Valley Branch Retreat, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.