We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go for the beer” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Big Woods Brewing Co.

Big Woods Brewing Co.
60 Molly's Lane, Nashville, IN 47448
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 37 Restaurants in Nashville
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Dessert, Late Night, Takeout
Description: Brewery and Restaurant...great beer, great food
Louisville, Kentucky
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Go for the beer”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Visited Big Woods Brewing twice during our trip to nashville In. The first trip was very successful, as we just split a 7 beer flight. The flights are a great deal the more styles you sample the cheaper per oz it gets. All the beers were very well crafted and a pleasure to behold.
So 5 stars on that trip.

The next day we returned for lunch. Our first disappointment was the lack of anything other than beer. My wife is not really a beer person and was looking for some wine or a mixed drink, she had to settle for water. She ordered the Shrimp Tacos and was happy with them but they were nothing special. I ordered a burger with swiss chees on a toasted kaiser bun and stale chips. It was just nasty, the beef just tasted odd, had a mushy texture and an odd color. I probably should have just sent it back.

Overall I liked the atmosphere of the place and the service was good. The beer was great but the food could use some work.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

392 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    241
    110
    29
    7
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Indiana, USA
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
“Extremely good beer and equally excellent beer in a great location.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

The best restaurant that I visited while in Nashville. If you want a good micro-brewery experience then this is the place for you. This little place is tucked in-between the shops, attractions and restaurants in Nashville. I really enjoyed how it is strictly for the 21+ crowd (nice for adults who want a bite and beer away from the abundance of kids/families in this little town). We went for dinner and thoroughly enjoyed this experience. We went at 6pm on a Saturday night in Mid-June and the place was standing room only with a good half an hour wait. However, it was well worth it.

The restaurant has 2 locations within a block away from each other. One is a pizza place and the other this small but cozy brewery. They have about 8 beers on tap to enjoy. I had the IPA (6.5% and very crisp) and a wonderful burger with blue cheese topping (I got everything on it), and a variety of great sides, my friend enjoyed the Chili Bowl (limitless) and brewed iced tea. The place was very clean and had a small, but extremely well done menu. The staff was knowledgeable and very kind and let me try the beer before purchasing a pint. The beer is very good and small batched (very obvious that a good amount of energy was spent on making the beer and food an A+ experience). However, the prices were also very reasonable. I would highly recommend this if you are in Nashville and are an adult single, couple or group. Very good!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great beer and food.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

I enjoyed sampling the beer from the Micro-Brewery by choosing the “flight” of beer. The wait staff was very courteous and accommodating. The food was very good. I highly recommend stopping in if you are in Nashville Indiana.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Threaten to make the 1.5 hr trip often just to eat here!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013 via mobile

My hubby and i love brown co and try to weekend here a few times a year. Found this place last trip and yum! Love the spinach artichoke pizza and the rootbeer. Fun and friendly staff. We will be back!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Indiana
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Gluten Free Pulled Pork Sandwich (in a bowl)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Helpful staff suggested this after I decided to go gluten free. Have the great pulled pork sandwich without the bun...in a bowl with the sauces on the side. Slaw is great too. This is just about the most popular spot in town so try mid-week, mid-afternoon.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Big Woods Brewing Co. also viewed

 

Been to Big Woods Brewing Co.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Big Woods Brewing Co., register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.