We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nashville Sandwich Shop” 3 of 5 stars
Review of That Sandwich Place

That Sandwich Place
15 S Van Buren St., Nashville, IN 47448
812 988-2355
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 37 Restaurants in Nashville
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Indianapolis, Indiana
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Nashville Sandwich Shop”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012

After visiting Nashville many times and eating at the same great restaurants, we decided to try That Sandwich Place.. Since I am a Indiana University basketball fan, the decor was great. IU and Bob Knight memorabilia was everywhere.
But to the food. The sandwiches with fries and coleslaw average $9 which I think is expensive. My wife got the fish, my son a hamburger, and I got a breaded tenderloin. They were average at best. With other great restaurants in Nashville, when I visit again, I will probably go back to the other restaurants we love so much.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    19
    11
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
West Terre Haute, Indiana, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Disappointed and very overpriced”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

We have been to Nashville several times shopping and have always walked by this restaurant but we finally decided to try their food unfortunately the food was not very good and the prices were ridiculous. We paid $45 for 3 look alike frozen hamburger patties and a PB& J sandwich. It also took them awhile to refill our drinks, which were only small cups. It was also in a basement with paper signs explaining how to find your way to a restroom that wasn't even in the restaurant and it was decorated like someone's tacky garage who had an obession with Bobby Knight & IU basketball.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Indiana
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Good food, better atmosphere!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2012

Great small-town place to go. Everybody is your friend here and it is awsome to see the IU and Bobby Night memorabilia. Cheap prices too.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, MO USA
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Good food and local gossip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2012

Quirky place, but we never miss it when we're in Nashville. Good food is served along with the latest town gossip

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
No. Ky.
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Disappointment”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2012

First of all this looked like a nice place to sit for a quick sandwich before hitting the town. Wrong! First off this is in a dark, dank basement and looks like it never made it out of the 70's. The food was way over priced and to say it was a sandwich shop was a sad misrepresentation. Not to mention it looked like someone threw up all of Bobby Knight's memorabilia and IU memorabilia. The menu consisted of 10 sandwichs or so and way over priced. It was $30 with tip for two sandwich's and three drinks!!! Look for more economical values they are there. The food was mediocre at best for the price.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed That Sandwich Place also viewed

 

Been to That Sandwich Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage That Sandwich Place, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.