We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I recommend the chicken and artichoke wrap” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Muddy Boots Cafe

Muddy Boots Cafe
136 N Van Buren St, Nashville, IN 47448-7030
812-988-6911
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 37 Restaurants in Nashville
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Late Night
Indianapolis, Indiana
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“I recommend the chicken and artichoke wrap”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

We went for a late lunch and were impressed. It is an eclectic type place (which I love) and I found several things on the menu that sounded good. I settled on the chicken and artichoke wrap and was very happy with the choice. The service was good, the food was great, and the atmosphere was fun. However, like lots of places in Nashville, it is a bit worn around the edges so if that's an issue for you, be prepared.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    90
    52
    26
    12
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Indiana
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Middle of the road”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

The cafe was recommended by a local merchant. Food was good, not great. Service mediocre - expected better because the place was only about 1/3 full when I went on a Sunday for lunch. Coffee smelled very good but I didn't try it. Not sure I would go again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Central Indiana
Top Contributor
166 reviews 166 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Nice breakfast place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

We found this quaint place for breakfast. It has great coffee and really good food. The service was a bit slow due to all the visitors coming in for coffee. It does seem popular with the locals.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Visited in the evening, went back in the morning!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

My wife and i walked around downtown Nashville a week or so ago and decided to give this place a try. I just wanted some coffee but she was ready to eat. There wasn't a hostess but we were greeted right away by friendly staff. I thought the service was good and enjoyed the coffee. I also ordered some fried taters, but i forget what they were called exactly on the menu. they were pretty good. My wife ordered some bean soup and a Reuben sandwich. She enjoyed her meal but couldn't finish so of course I did. The bean soup was different than I'm accustomed to, but good. it tasted as though there were no ham or bacon flavoring but some subtle spices. Just the soup alone would probably be a good vegetarian option. The Reuben sandwich was quite good. We went back for breakfast and the biscuits and gravy were pretty good, very down home in flavor and texture. Once again the coffee hit the spot.
Now, on to the atmosphere. It was enjoyable with various artwork and re-purposed items throughout. The building looks pretty old; I don't believe there is central air. I think it was being cooled by a window unit but that was not an issue for me. There also was a little mini stage towards the back were they have live music from time to time but we didn't catch any of that. We will go back sometime.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Racine
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Terrible”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014 via mobile

The chicken artichoke wrap was terrible, very bland and the sauce that they give u is too spicy. The sweet tea did not taste sweet at all. The service was a guy standing at the front counter talking to a bunch of his friends. I come here every year for the wraps cause they were so good. Yuck not anymore!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Muddy Boots Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Muddy Boots Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.