We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty good for a State Park” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Abe Martin Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Nashville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Abe Martin Lodge
Save
You added Abe Martin Lodge to your Saves list
Brown County State Park, Nashville, IN 47448   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
1 night FREE
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Nashville
Indianapolis, Indiana
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Pretty good for a State Park”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

The Abe Martin Lodge at Brown County State Park was better than expected. The room was clean, although we did run across a Jurassic-sized spider in the room. The decor is rustic and a bit dated but keeping in mind that this is a lodge at a State Park, it was quite nice. The room had a flat-screen TV, DVD player and satellite but only a handful of channels. The bathroom is a little small and for a family of four, it was hard to lay out all of the toiletries. The shower also did not drain well which led to ankle-deep water by the end of our showers. All in all it was one of the better State Park stays I've had and I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    92
    52
    24
    17
See reviews for
139
44
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Harmony, Indiana
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

We decided to stay the night at the Lodge but most of it was booked so they had a Rustic Cabin available with much to do it was no biggie that it does not come with a phone or TV. It did have a coffee maker, microwave, and small refridgerator. It was quaint with 2 dbl beds. It was musty smelling but with cabins that are not rented all year long I kind of expected that and sheets could have fit better. We payed $76 + taxes for one night in the cabin which also included wristbands for 4 to their nice little indoor water park. Not bad at all for the area and the kids loved staying in a cabin vs. on the ground in a tent and really loved the indoor water area. It was nice that it wasn't crowded like some of the indoor water park/ hotel combos.... so much easier to watch the kids and relax!! They also provide Terre Green soaps and shampoo - GO Green! Food in the Restaurant was good... $8.99 for all you can eat breakfast buffet. Great Trails!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newburgh, Indiana
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

The Abe Martin Lodge in Brown County State Park, near Nashville, Indiana is a wondrous place to spend time, either with friends, families, or as couples. The rooms and cabins available are clean and modernized, and the authentic wood-carved furniture pieces (beds, chests and armoires) offer a natural look. But best of all, the trails are fun and adventurous, and the views - of both wildlife (deer, raccoon, squirrels, owls, etc.) and the forested hills from numerous lookout points - is incredible. The food in the Abe Martin Little Gem Restaurant is excellent, and the service was friendly and efficient; the buffet is hot and sumptuous! And don't pass up the Water Park, which is a great way to spend some time if it rains. Kids will love it! Get reservations early, as it is a popular place!

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the elevator and ice machine....
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

The hotel itself is an older lodge. The rooms are OK but pretty basic. The aquatic center looked like a good time for families with younger kids. The food was fair and I would suggest going into Nashville 5 minutes away. Access to the mountain bike trail system was our primary reason for choosing the hotel. Brown County MTB trails (and hiking) are fantastic.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
O'Fallon, Illinois, USA
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

We stayed two nights in the lodge. We had a room on the first floor near the Aquatic center, but we never used it. It looked nice, but a bit crowded later in the day. There was a small arcade area with some games, ping pong and air hockey that looked nice. The whole lodge looked a little older, but up kept. The rooms were clean but the carpet looked ready to replace and just felt a little off. The bathroom was small with little counter space, but we were able to deal with that.

The restaurant was good. We went for breakfast both mornings and were pleased with the food, even though the service was slow and they were a little overwhelmed.

Not a bad place, fun for families with kids.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

I took my young boys to the Abe Martin Lodge Family Cabin. They had a blast, but I would not stay here again. It was dated, worn and stained; the kind of place you feel you can't walk around without your shoes on and you don't want to sit on the furniture. The lighting was very low, which probably was a blessing in disguise as I could still see lots of stains on the furniture. Can't imagine what it would have looked like in decent lighting. One of our sliding doors didn't lock well, and I was worried about our security at night. The carpet upstairs absolutely needs to be updated along with the living room furniture. We had a good time at the water park at the lodge, but it was crowded. We rode horses at the park's stables both days of our stay and visited the nature lodge. We really enjoyed being in a beautiful state park. Again, the kids had a great time, but I was disappointed in the condition of the cabin. I really felt the state park system should do better and I can't believe we paid $192/night for it. Overall, definitely not a good value.The breakfast buffet at the lodge was terrible, but the staff was friendly. We ate at McDonald's the second day for breakfast, which I almost never do. If we decide to go back to Brown County, we will look for a private cabin rental, unless I hear about the cabins being updated. It is long overdue.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesburg, IN
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

We didn't stay at the hotel, but we did use the indoor water park. We almost didn't go there because of less than stellar reviews from this site. Decided to go anyway since it was so warm outdoors. We had a ball. Maybe we were lucky because it wasn't very crowded & we did things without having to stand in line......down the slide & right back up & down the slide & well, you get my drift. My grandson played basketball for a couple of hours. He had a wonderful time slam dunking from the side of the pool. We played volleyball (sort of) & floated on the lazy river. Noticed that it almost completely emptied out around 5:30-6:00. If you plan your meals right, you could have the place to yourself.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Abe Martin Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abe Martin Lodge

Address: Brown County State Park, Nashville, IN 47448
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > Nashville
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Nashville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Abe Martin Lodge nestled in the hills of Brown County State Park, has 84 guest rooms, new indoor aquatic center, gift shop, two lobbies, one with a fireplace, 20 housekeeping cabins, 56 rustic cabins and rustic dining room open daily. The lodge has beautiful outdoor verandas overlooking the sloping back lawn, park and the hills. The Lodge truly has accommodations to meet any need, with ample meeting rooms for business meetings, reunions, weddings, and more. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Abe Martin Hotel Nashville
Abe Martin Motel
Abe Martin Lodge Nashville

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Abe Martin Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.