We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ice Cream Cottage

Ice Cream Cottage
79 North Van Buren Street, Nashville, IN 47448
812-988-7395
Improve this listing
Ranked #24 of 37 Restaurants in Nashville
Price range: $1 - $8
Cuisines: Dessert, Ice Cream
Description: We are nestled in the Iris Garden Gallery Complex one Block North of the Courthouse next to the Copperhead Gem Mine. We have no indoor seating available, but offer two cafe style tables on our porch as well as four tables with umbrella's in front of our business. There is no street parking but you may pay to park in the next block, or find parking along any other street in the village. We serve Blue Bell ice cream, we also have many food items.
Restaurant details
Description: We are nestled in the Iris Garden Gallery Complex one Block North of the Courthouse next to the Copperhead Gem Mine. We have no indoor seating available, but offer two cafe style tables on our porch as well as four tables with umbrella's in front of our business. There is no street parking but you may pay to park in the next block, or find parking along any other street in the village. We serve Blue Bell ice cream, we also have many food items.
Indianapolis
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Love”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

Millers Homemade ice cream is the best. I love the Black walnut. Be sure to purchase a Brown County visitors card to get discounts.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    4
    1
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Northfield, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Lunch here too”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

Was recommended to me by salesperson in another store. I was going to choose one of the Mexican lunch offerings, but the waitress cheerily suggested the special of chicken salad with dried cranberries and sunflower seeds served on lettuce with tomato slices -- or a bun if you'd rather. It was as good as it sounded. I did get a scoop of peach ice cream afterward and it cost almost as much as the salad. Delicious though. There are shaded tables and benches just outside the cottage for eating on site. I recommend them for lunch as well as ice cream.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“YUMMY!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

Very good, would recommend to anyone in the area that likes ice cream.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mason
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Lost my heart to the Butter Pecan”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2012

The ice cream was homemade and had such a great taste. Had it in a waffle cone which was fresh and crunchy. All and all it was delicious and a good memory>

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ice_Cream_Cottage, Manager at Ice Cream Cottage, responded to this review, June 2, 2012
Thank you for your review about us, since we recently switched to Blue Bell Ice Cream (originally from Texas) our ice cream has been much better. The flavors are packed with goodies, and less air than other ice creams on the market which makes the quality better than anything else available! We appreciate your business and hope to see you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
45036
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Good Icecream”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2011

Good icecream, bad service. Think my person was having a bad day

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ice_Cream_Cottage, Manager at Ice Cream Cottage, responded to this review, June 2, 2012
Thank you for your review, I am sorry that our employee(s) was having a bad day and you had to be treated the way you were. We hope to see you in the future, also you may find us on facebook where you can get updates on daily specials that are extended to anyone who views the page, not just merchants, and locals. We hope your next visit is better than this one was. Thanks Again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ice Cream Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ice Cream Cottage, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.