We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous renovated mansion in a lovely part of Chios” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mouzaliko Hotel

Save Saved
You added Mouzaliko Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Mouzaliko Hotel
52 Chalkousi Maria & Paidousi Irini Street | Kampos, Thimiana 821 00, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 5 hotels in Thimiana
New York City, New York
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Gorgeous renovated mansion in a lovely part of Chios”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

We stayed three nights at the Mouzaliko Hotel while touring Chios and visiting friends. The hostess, Suzi, and her family were extremely helpful, and we found the hotel to be a perfect place in every way - comfortable room, great breakfast, wonderful atmosphere. The Kampos section of Chios is a find - worth visiting the museums, stately homes, and savoring the food.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    59
    17
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
23
40
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ankara, Turkey
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

Although you never had enough hot water for bath ,and breakfast was not satisfactory,
hotel had charming tranquility effect.
You may not expect much things about quality from this hotel, it is a small family business in the rural area. Wellcome offer home-made lemonade, orange garden and lovely cats are nice.
It would be better if rooms have telephone (for ordering tea at night), kettle, coffee-tea and hair dryer, shampoo and soap.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

As a returning customer to this hotel, I have to say our stay was even better than last time. Suzi and Dimitri could not do enough for us and our friends. We had three rooms altogether. The pool was empty and they filled it for us even though the water was bitingly cold (not heated) and in the end only one of our group managed to get in. We had dinner twice in the evenings over a 12 day stay and both times it was excellent and very good value. We had a one bedroom apartment which was spacious and had all amenities required. The setting is wonderful and so are the hosts. We will return.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

Visiting the island of Chios I could not imagine the unique experience I would feel in CAMPOS. All senses are trigered in a paradise of orange and lemon trees that constitute a spectacular landscape. This natural paradise is supplemented by the human hand, through the architectural masterpieces of the 'Archontika" (the greek name for the big houses in Campos). Mouzaliko is such an "archontiko". So, staying there you get all the experience of living in a big traditional house of Campos. Fantastic garden with the unique "maganopigado" and the cistern where water was collected for irrigating the citrus trees. All the rooms have traditional architectural influences and are nicely decorated. To this wonderful atmosphere is added the big hospitality and kindness of the owners Dimitris and his Canadian wife Susy. Family runned hotel with family made fantastic traditional breakfasts. As a conclusion I strongly suggest to everybody who wants to visit Chios to stay in Campos. Is a unique place and can be the origin of all excursions. The capital (Chora) is only 4 Km long and nearby are a lot of beaches (like the cosmopolitan Karfas). And if someone choses Campos for staying I believe "Mouzaliko" is the best choice. Economic and the same time "rich", quiet but with all the todays comforts and above all with a lot of kindness and humanity from the family of the owners. Best value for money!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Izmir, Turkey
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013 via mobile

I am an elementary school teacher so when summer starts, I want peace and quiet. This place offered both! The grounds are gorgeous with lemon orchards, bougainvillea and vines of all sorts. Our room was cool and comfy, the shower was nice and our French Canadian hostess was really lovely. Breakfast was top-notch. Get very good direction to this quiet little place and enjoy!

Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We booked a 1-BR apartment, and it was huge and really lovely! Great breakfast, incredibly helpful owners, beautiful surroundings, nice village not too far away with good tavernas and coffee shops. Definitely would stay here again. Only thing I'd say is that if you're picky about having a firm bed, the mattress was thin.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

Visiting Chios was a highlight of my Greek vacation. The island is unspoiled, and there is so much natural beauty. Kampos is a beautiful town about 10 minutes from Chios town--each property is surrounded by walls which makes it unique. Mouzaliko is thus a private "enclave" and it feels very special once you are "inside." The rooms are spacious, and sitting in the courtyard is special. Loved the fresh foods for breakfast, including home made marmalade and freshly squeezed juice. You will not go wrong by choosing this wonderful hotel for your stay in Chios.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mouzaliko Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mouzaliko Hotel

Address: 52 Chalkousi Maria & Paidousi Irini Street | Kampos, Thimiana 821 00, Greece
Location: Greece > Northeast Aegean Islands > Chios > Thimiana
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 hotels in Thimiana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
24 hour front desk. Daily housekeeping included in the room rate. Private bathroom for each unit. The Mouzaliko is three (3) stars hotel category . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Booking.com so you can book your Mouzaliko Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mouzaliko Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.