We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kalibaru Cottages

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Kalibaru Cottages to your Saves list
Kalibaru Cottages
Jl. Raya Jember, Kalibaru, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Naaldwijk, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

After a bad experience somewhere else this was Paradise. Nice clean bungalow, nice soft beds, clean half open air shower,great garden, nice swimming pool.
The place was quiet with hardy any tourists around (bonus for me)
We had a gorgeous meal at the restaurant and enjoyed some cold Bintangs in the evening.
Minor point: I like to walk around a bit. This is not really advisable here. The resort is along a trough road with hardly anything to do. No village whatsoever closer than appr. 3 km. Pity.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    23
    20
    6
    2
See reviews for
11
26
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bali, Indonesia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

I stayed 3 times, all with my family, clean room, comfortable place for holiday, many tourist from German, French, yummy breakfast, cool air, but unfortunately some employees are not friendly. probably because we were local travelers... There's a small coffee plantation next to the hotel, but i never go there :(
all the way to the hotel from jember, you can find a small shop (warung) that sells nasi pecel commonly called pecel pincuk, tasty and cheap. You must try!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

I stayed here just for one night and was pretty impressed. It's a lovely resort with bungalow type accommodation. The restaurant food was very nice and there was quite a lot of variety. The pool area was great and very relaxing. This place is a good pit-stop particularly after long travel days with lots of sightseeing in the cities of Java. There isn't a huge amount to do in the local area so I guess this hotel is mainly good for an R&R day. I really enjoyed my stay though!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

...then I'd love to see the executive standard! Stayed here as part of a G Adventures tour and was impressed by the location, service and buffet breakfast. The beers were a bit steep in price and the room was simple but certainly nothing to complain about. There's a small coffee plantation next to the hotel which is worth a wander too.
The basic accommodation is arranged in a series of individual "cottages". There's privacy and a decent pool.
If I there was one thing worth thinking about, it's the proximity of the main road and the traffic noise from it, somewhat shattering the impression of Kalibaru Cottages being a "getaway" break (bu that's all).

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Netherlands
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Lovely hotel! The rooms are good and clean. The pool water was a little cold, but we have a very relaxing afternoon by the pool with a couple of beers. The area is fantastic. Behind the hotel are beautiful rice fields, where you can stroll through lovely with a guide. The restaurant is great and super food. Great hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

On our way through Java, we needed some R&R and stayed at Kalibaru Cottages for 3 nights and loved it. There is nothing else to do except lounge at the pool, sleep and eat.

We came into town by train from Surabaya and the hotel picked us up from the train station

The breakfast was great quality, the menu had good Indonesian options and was well priced - you can't expect street food price, but quality was high.

We went on the Big Plantations tour, which was interesting and the Ijen Crater tour was great!

They didn't have a driver to take us into town and we had to walk - no problem, but seeing as there's no sidewalks and usual java traffic, not many people would risk it.

Overall, it was great and we loved the secludedness - that's the whole point!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lima, Peru
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

only stayed one night but were very happy with the cottage. Very spacious room with lovely open air bathroom and a great shower.
The place is located at the beginning of the township, but still far way from any local shops or restaurants so you are forced to eat here. Food is ok, price is ok too. but the whole places really just lacked some atmosphere. The staff was watching TV all the time, as nothing was happening.
basic cottage without AC =365.000 IDR, breakfast incl. Breakfast was great though! fantastic buffet with a lot of different things to chose from. Great place for a one night stop-over.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kalibaru Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kalibaru Cottages

Address: Jl. Raya Jember, Kalibaru, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Java > East Java > Kalibaru
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Kalibaru
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Kalibaru Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kalibaru Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.