We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Guesthouse Rumah Kita

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kalibaru
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Villa Guesthouse Rumah Kita
Save
You added Villa Guesthouse Rumah Kita to your Saves list
Jl Putri Gunung 100 | Desa Kajarharjo/Kalibaru, Kalibaru 68466, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ghent, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Once you arrive in this guesthouse, you feel immediately at home! The place has a beautiful garden, the rooms are very spacious, comfortable and very clean! The owner Peter is very friendly and gave us some useful tips! We also arranged some trips with Rumah Kita, who were all very well organised!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    7
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
10
37
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ubrique, Spain
Top Contributor
230 reviews 230 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 93 cities Reviews in 93 cities
151 helpful votes 151 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

So the local mosques vie for loudness from about 04.00 for twenty minutes. Its the same everywhere, only the time changes for reasons known by those who know!

Rumah Kita is paradise compared to some of the lodging establishments in Java and comes recommended without hesitation. Beautiful gardens and main house and very nice rooms. No TV, how eternally civilised! The WIFI is good and available in the room. The menu in the restaurant is suitable for all tastes and all food is freshly cooked. The staff are very helpful and smiling. The Bintang is the coldest tasted in Sumatera and Java and is at the correct temperature.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

We were warmly welcomed by the friendly staff or Rumah Kita. Instead of a welcome drink we were offered spring rolls. There is a large choice of dishes, with ingredients they get from the market every day. We had a very comfortable and clean room surrounded by a beautiful garden. This place was very welcome after our Bromo trip! The second day we booked a trip to the plantations which was very interesting and very well explained by the Rumah Kita guide. The trip to Kawah Ijen also organised by Rumah Kita was one of our highlights of Java. This place is a true gem and good value!

Room Tip: In the garden!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Europe
Top Contributor
217 reviews 217 reviews
205 hotel reviews
Reviews in 171 cities Reviews in 171 cities
185 helpful votes 185 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

First the positive aspects of this little guesthouse with four rooms. Two rooms are located in the main house and two in a smaller house in the garden. The place is well kept and surrounded by plantations of coffee, rubber, and cacao, situated in a beautiful large garden full of flowers and sculptures, nice and well maintained swimming pool with comfortable sun beds, terraces outside the spacious rooms, good working internet, friendly staff, nice library (with the possibility to exchange books) and a good price (35 euro per night, including breakfast).

What we appreciated less:
There is no restaurant at the place and the staff is running a small ‘business’ providing food to the guests (which is supervised by the management). In the morning you are able to sign in for lunch or diner (a set, limited menu). We were provided a welcome snack (very kind) but pointed out before to the staff that we do not eat chicken of meat. We were extremely surprised to find out later that we were indeed served chicken spring rolls. Afterwards we did not dare to make use of the catering facilities any more. Second disappointment was breakfast. In the middle of the Indonesian countryside and surrounded by plantations, the hotel did not serve any fresh fruit. What came closest was a glass of sugar sweet fruit juice from a can. Breakfast was limited to coffee/tea, eggs and bread.
We had looked forward staying in this guesthouse located 3 km outside Kalabaru. Especially the quietness and tranquillity of the countryside was what we had expected and what we were looking forward to. Unfortunately, our expectations were not met. Every morning at 04:00 we woke from a loud concert of loudspeakers from a number of nearby Mosques. We know you must be prepared for this in a Moslem country. And so were we but in this place we experienced the sound records from several different places of prayer at the same time. It went on for hours and not only during the night. Also by mid afternoon, extremely loud music was blasted across the street from two huge loudspeakers fixed on poles very close to the hotel premises. The Db’s blasted out were exceeding every limit. The kind of music they blasted for within an hour can only be described as a kind of pop music. The staff explained that this sound also had to do with praying! After an hour the neighbour loudspeakers ceased. Peace lasted only a few seconds. Noise pollution from other similar loudspeakers took over and lasted again for hours. It should only be added that our relaxed reading afternoon at the nice pool as well as a quiet evening was totally ruined.
In conclusion, despite the reasonable rate, the potentials of the place, and the fact that some of the problems faced should be found in the surroundings, you have to be prepared for some unquiet hours. So unfortunately.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zürich
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

We arrived very tired to Kalibaru and have been really surprised about the lovely guesthouse. Very warm welcome, good food, nice staff. The best thing was, the surrounding, the excellent garden and the guestrooms in the middle of old trees. There are only 4 rooms and we had one of the 2 which are in the garden with a big balcony. We enjoyed the place also the walk through the village and plantage, where we learned a lot of the nature.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
247 helpful votes 247 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

We booked already months ago, and were really excited about this place. But it became really a disappointment. On the time we travelled on Java (July) it was not warm at all, but in Kalibaru it was really cold and raining non stop! The staff told us it was raining there really very often. We were surprised we didn't know before. So we could not use the swimmingpool or move around in the garden.

We booked for four days, but stayed only two nights. In fact I wanted to leave immediately, but as we just came from the Bromo area, which meant a long driving day, we could not leave the next day for our kids. So we decided to stay one extra day, but it was only raining, we were just sitting on the verandah, waiting until we could leave to go to Bali.
And indeed....already near the ferry it was 11 degrees warmer and dry....Lovely!

The staff was mostly staying in the kitchen, no interaction with our kids, a thing we really always enjoyed in other hotels.

Some tips for travelling to Kalibaru:
By car it took us 4,5 hours from Java Banana incl. a short break for lunch, think by train it is more relaxed because of the crazy traffi.
From Kalibaru to the ferry to Bali it took us 2 hours by car.

Our rooms were spacious, we took the two rooms in the guesthouse in the garden, which I really recommend to have more privacy. The rooms in the house are divided by a living room which is fr common use.

And then....the sound of the mosks....it was really shocking! I knew before this was going to happen, but had no idea there were so close to our room, you simply could not sleep, even our kids came out of their beds because they were afraid of the sound.
I understand we have to respect this country, but this was really too much noise for us.

Room Tip: The rooms in the seperate guesthouse have more privacy, but all rooms suffer from the noise of the m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
den haag
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

We stayed in Rumah Kitah during the ramadan. The villa was wonderfull, the food was very very good and we liked the trip to Sukemade and the dokar tour a lot.

Unfortunately it was very hard to get a (good) night sleep because the mosque was very very loud. It started at 20:00 untill 22:30 and if you want to talk to each other you really had to raise your voice. Then during the night it's not quiet and then at 3:30 (untill 5:30 (or 6:00)) it started again and it really was as if they stood in your room next to your bed!!

We read in the information book of Rumah Kita that the morning call of the mosque is always around that time so this is not because it was ramadan...

During daytime we found out that the speaker of the mosque is only 30 meters away from the villa (and your bedroom (!) and you cannot close the upper windows of the bedrooms because these windows are like mosquito nets).

We have travelled a lot in Muslim countries but this was the first time we really couldn't sleep!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa Guesthouse Rumah Kita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Guesthouse Rumah Kita

Address: Jl Putri Gunung 100 | Desa Kajarharjo/Kalibaru, Kalibaru 68466, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Java > East Java > Kalibaru
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Kalibaru
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rumah Kita is a small scale hotel/guesthouse with just 6 rooms in a 1 Ha. Garden with swimmingpool. All rooms are very spacious with a big bathroom with toilet and shower and a terrace. All rooms have free Wifi. Rumah Kita has its own restaurant and from the garden there is an unopbstructed view on the Gunung Raung volcano and the rice fields. All kind of trips can be arranged. There are 4 National Parks which can be visited and trips to Meru Betiri (Giant sea turtles)and Kawah Ijen (Sulphur volcano) are very popular. Also excursions to one of the plantations (Coffee, Cocoa, Rubber, Clove) around Kalibaru can be arranged. Rumah Kita can also arrange all transport from and to other parts of Java and Bali. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Guesthouse Rumah Kita, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.