We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I am very sad” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Giovanni's Restaurant & Lounge

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Giovanni's Restaurant & Lounge
603 Ridge Rd, Munster, IN 46321-1609
219-836-6220
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 62 Restaurants in Munster
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Kingwood, Texas
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“I am very sad”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012 via mobile

I am from the Region. I have gone to Giovanni's for over 20 years.

My wife went there with another couple.
The people are still very nice, but don't seem to be in a hurry.

The service was very slow and the food arrived Luke warm. We were running late for a movie (which we told them), so we ate the Luke warm food quickly to get to our movie.

The food was was VERY disappointing. We made the mistake of ordering the Chilean Sea Bass - we should have stuck with pasta I was embarrassed for them when they placed the $ 27 dollar plate of sea bass in front of me - very sad.

Like I said, I am from the Region. I will go back to Giovanni's - but stick with the pasta.

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    9
    6
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, GA
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Real Italian in an unexpected locale”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

This is an old style big city Italian-American restaurant you would never expect to find in a small town like Munster. Top quality food, friendly service. Not cheap, but worth it.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan, United States
1 review
“Never recieved food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

We had a reservation for 3 on 10/13/12. We were seated right away by very friendly staff. We waited 20 minutes before a waitress came to take our order. 1 hour and 15 minutes later, we left because we could wait no longer for our food as we had theater tickets. This place has a management problem and the wait staff and customers suffer for it. Maybe the food is good...we will never know.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munster, Indiana
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Wonderful Italian Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

We eat here often. Their Chicken Vesuvio is the best . Their pastas are great. The atmosphere is old world Italian. The tiramisu is outstanding

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, Illinois
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Cozy and delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

I have been going to Giovanni's since I was a kid, 20 years ago. I love this place and the food is just as good now as it was then. The atmosphere is cozy and dark, giving a warm comforting feeling. I love going to Giovanni's whenever I'm back home visiting Munster.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Giovanni's Restaurant & Lounge also viewed

 

Been to Giovanni's Restaurant & Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Giovanni's Restaurant & Lounge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.