We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In need of repair” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Days Inn Ball State University

Save Saved
You added Days Inn Ball State University to your Saves list
Days Inn Ball State University
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Days Inn Ball State University
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   3509 North Everbrook Lane, Muncie, IN 47304   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 13 hotels in Muncie
Shelby, Ohio
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“In need of repair”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2011

People working in the hotel are very nice. But this hotel is in dire need of an update. We have been coming here for over 10 yrs. Seems like the bedspreads and linens are the same ones. Carpet really needs changed. Terrible condition in the hallways and rooms. The rooms are cheap and for the most part are clean but the furnishings are so bad the whole room looks bad. It did look like they had just painted the walls but nothing else was changed. Nice people, good location but desperately needs updating........

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    4
    21
    30
    14
    23
See reviews for
37
6
11
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2010

Hotel is located next to a lot of other hotels and chain restaurants on the same street as Ball State Univ. Check in was quick and easy. You have to remember to "ring the bell" for service when you arrive at the front desk because there isn't always somebody there all the time to greet you when you enter the lobby.

Room was fine. Typical Days Inn bed and furniture. The desk and dresser looked a little old and beat up. Bed was fine. Overall just an OK stay. Nothing spectacular and nothing really bad either.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elkhart, Indiana
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2010

Stayed for Ball State orientation. Made 4 trips to second floor room (after heart surgery and their refusal to honor first floor even with a two + week prepayment) because key would not work. After getting upset and asking for a return of payment to stay elsewhere, was given a first floor room. Returning second night at 9:30 pm, found room not cleaned (at least need towels). Never recieved an apology and after multiple request, recieved no call from manager. Later trip at Super * around corner was great!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elkhart, Indiana
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2010

I booked on April 19th for a stay on April 24th for my son's prom. When I went to check in at 9 pm that night after finishing prom setup, I was told they had overbooked 2 rooms and didn't have any room for me. Apparently this was a big Ball State weekend, and all the hotels in town were full. They told me they had a room available where I could stay at a motel several miles across town (which turned out to be run-down and didn't provide any amenities at all, even a breakfast).

I never signed anything at Day's Inn, and didn't give my credit card info at the other motel and nothing was ever said so I assumed they were covering my stay since it was their error. By the looks of the place, it couldn't have been more than about a $35 hotel, but Day's Inn charged my credit card their full price. When I contested the charges with my credit card company, Days Inn provided a copy of my registration (forged by them since it was an internet reservation and I never actually signed in) to show that I had stayed there so my credit card reinstated the charge. When I called the Days Inn manager to complain, he claimed that it was a busy weekend, that seedy motel was the only place available in town, and he had to pay $85 to them for the room, and I'm stuck paying Days Inn with him covering the difference.

So... while Days Inn is a fairly decent hotel normally, I can't recommend it because it is obviously not reliable. When you make a hotel reservation and give your credit card to guarantee it, you expect to get charged even if you don't show up, and you expect to have a room if you do show up.

For those willing to risk the above... there is a small fitness room with 2 basic machines and a fairly basic but free breakfast. The desk staff provides basic service. All in all it's a basic hotel at one of the lower rates in the area, but not worth the risk in my opinion.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2010

this hotel is 2 minutes to ball state stadium. the cost of the room was the major factor for me. $40 for a single queen. (this was a smoking room that smelled like it .. but an odor eating airfreshener (i brought from home) took care of this while i went to dinner. the deciding factor was the new queen beds. the room was clean. the bed nice and three pillows that seemed to each be a different firmness. (i appreciated a choice) : ) 'cause i like em semi-soft! bathroom: plenty of towels, small shampoo, bar soap, nice showerhead and a curved rod so there was more room in the shower. there was a microwave, coffee maker(coffee and tea 24/7 at front desk, small frige, a closet "nook" with iron/board, a desk with chair, and a recliner. a plus - the window opened! it is close to restaurants, shopping, gas and ATMs. the breakfast: dry cereal and oatmeal (packets), bread, bagel(taoster) juice:apple/orange, waffle (make your own), coffee, tea, and bananas. they have computer for guest use ($0.25/copy) and a small work out room. workers were friendly and accomodating. i will stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miamisburg, Ohio
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2010

Stayed here two nights while at a basketball tournament, which was sponsered by Holiday Inn Express, that wanted $89 a night, which we considered because Holiday Inn had a pool. We decided to save money and go with the Days Inn, which did not have a pool, but was only $44 a night. We were very pleasantly suprised. The rooms were clean, modern, comfortable and quiet. We noticed a heavy smell of smoke in the hallways upon entering from outside, plus incessant barking of dogs, but neither affected us once in our room. The room had a screened window, which we enjoyed opening to get fresh air, a comfortable bed, plus a clean refridgerator and microwave. There is just about every imaginable restaurant and shopping selection out on the main road, and a very short walk to Penn Station, Subway, Burger King, and an ice cream stand. Only complaints we had were the staff was not in the least bit friendly, our requested wake up call never came, and the free breakfast was pitiful (only had :2 types of cereal, and it was stale, bread, english muffins, danish, cinnamon rolls, bagels, bananas, apples, milk, apple juice, and orange juice. It did also have a make your own waffle station), and not replenished at all after it was set out at 6:00am. (It was fully stocked with the above items our first morning when we were at breakfast at 7:00am, but our second morning at 9:00am, all that was left was cereal, a few pieces of bread and bagels, and a few apples. All pastries, apple juice, and bananas were wiped out and not replaced).We never saw an attendant, so tables were not wiped down either.That being said, free is free, so it really was fine. We thought for the price, this hotel exceeded our expectations.
By the way, part of our group stayed at the Holiday Inn, so we snuck down and used their pool with them one night. It had brown water in the pool itself, and algae growing on the depth tiles, and the hot tubs had brown scum floating on the surface bubbles. Looks like we made the wise choice!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Biloxi, Mississippi
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2009

Not a luxury hotel, but the room was nice, clean, and no insects. The breakfast was adequate and the hotel did have a computer for guest use if you didn't have a laptop. Good location. Not a bad stay at all.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Days Inn Ball State University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Ball State University

Address: 3509 North Everbrook Lane, Muncie, IN 47304
Location: United States > Indiana > Muncie
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 13 hotels in Muncie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn Ball State University 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Wyndham, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Days Inn Ball State University reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Muncie
Muncie Days Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Days Inn Ball State University, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.