We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentic atmosphere… dull food!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Zydeco's 5

Zydeco's 5
11 E Main St, Mooresville, IN 46158-1403
317-834-3900
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 33 Restaurants in Mooresville
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Cajun & Creole
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Indianapolis, Indiana
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Authentic atmosphere… dull food!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

My wife and I visited Zydeco's after hearing positive reviews. We have visited New Orleans on several occasions and were excited to try Indiana's version of the area’s cuisine. Unfortunately, the food was far less than desirable. We started with what seemed to be French bread from the local grocer sliced with a house dip and butter. The jambalaya was bland and was obviously overcooked. The po-boys were served on the same grocer style bread… a huge let down for us po-boy lovers who value the warm homemade po-boy friendly bread. The po-boy came without a sauce as is typically seen on a po-boy and was covered in mayonnaise. This was definitely not what we would have received in NOLA. The only decent part of the meal was the fried shrimp on the po-boy… delicious!

As for the atmosphere, it is obvious that the owners have worked to decorate the space authentically. Great job there… otherwise, the tables were sticky and the restaurant felt dirty in general. With some work and updated recipes, the restaurant could be a gym in the middle of the sleepy town! Needless to say, we will not be returning.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    19
    10
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Felt like home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Being from southern Louisiana it's hard to find good home food in indiana. I don't see why anyone could give this place a bad rating. Unless you're just from indiana and you don't have a broad taste.

Everything was perfect the drinks are better than home. And the food was better than anything you could get in Louisiana. Hopefully Hoosiers will begin to understand the complexity of Cajun cooking and realize that it's not supposed to be spicy. Blame Applebee's for that.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere, so-so food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013 via mobile

We had heard about this place for years and finally made the trip. The waitress was attentive and friendly. We ordered gumbo, étouffée, jambalaya and chicken ya ya. The gumbo was the best part of the meal. Étouffée had less spice than we were used to, and the crayfish were the size of rock shrimp. The jambalaya was over-cooked and bland. The chicken ya ya was dry and flavorless. The waitress apologized for the speed with which our meals were delivered, because they were trying to prepare the meals for a big party. It was nothing like the food we experienced in New Orleans. I wonder if they cut down on the spice because of the Midwestern palette, but I would have rather tasted authentic Louisiana food instead of this. We were going to have the bread pudding, but the meal was so disappointing we passed on dessert.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island
Top Contributor
265 reviews 265 reviews
130 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 87 cities Reviews in 87 cities
127 helpful votes 127 helpful votes
“NOLA in Indiana”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013 via mobile

I love Cajun cooking. In fact, New Orleans is one of my favorite culinary destinations. But every time I hit Indianapolis, I make the short drive to Mooresville to visit Zydeco's. Entering the place, you are teleported to New Orleans and the goodtimes begin. The staff is enthusiastic, the owner is everywhere talking to guests, and the food is outstanding. So"Lessez le bon temps roulez" and stop in to Zydeco's. You wont regret it.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valparaiso, Indiana
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere - good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

Although it is pretty far out of the way, it is a fun place to try. It is in an old town building with brick walls and great Mardi Gras decor. The staff was really friendly and helpful. Most of us got shrimp, crab, catfish, and etouffee. It was all good- the shrimp was good (I wouldn't say great or anything you'd go crazy over), but the catfish truly was very good. There is some outside sidewalk seating, the inside isn't really large so you may want to call ahead for reservations. They are opening up the other side of the restaurant to have a place to wait for your table/or drinks after dinner. We had a great time decorating oyster shells with glitter, beads, markers that they will be gluing on the wall. It was fun to be part of that (had even more fun after a pitcher of Hurricanes!)

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zydeco's 5 also viewed

 
Mooresville, IN
 

Been to Zydeco's 5? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Zydeco's 5, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.