We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place to stay for a full moon party” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Friendly Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added Friendly Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Friendly Resort & Spa
110/13 Moo 6 Bantai, Haad Rin Beach (Sunset Beach), Haad Rin, Ko Phangan 84280, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 4 hotels in Haad Rin
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Perfect place to stay for a full moon party”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013 via mobile

This hotel was definatly a exellent place to stay for the full moon party. It is about 5 minutes walk from the full moon party yet when you get back to your room its quite peacfull and feels miles away. We did have the odd drunk screming up and down the hallway at 3 in the morning lol but that was algood. Me and my girlfriend stayed hete for 5 nights over full moon march 2013. Our room was big and had everything we needed, fridge, TV with movie channels, air con. They dont clean your room daily, we stayed 5 nights and our room wasnt cleaned once wich was ok for us, just know what to expect. You can still go down to reception and get clean towels. The pool was nice. The beach right by the resort isnt the best for swiming tho. If you want to see a really nice beach in koh phangan rent a moterbike and go to haad salad, absolutly beutiful. Sunrise beach were the fullmoon party is looks beutiful but after seeing 100 people lined up pissing in it and all the trash that ends up in there I wouldent recomend swiming there even tho it looks so beutiful. The Staff at friendly resort were friendly enough, although we noticed that Thai locals are alot less friendly in haad rin than in every other part of Thailand we visited. A bunch of young westerners come and completely destroy the beutiful beach every fullmoon, and I noticed a lot of Europeans being rude and obnoxious to them also. So I dont blame them at all. Most of them were fine but we just noticed a couple of grumpy rude locals wich you wont find anywhere else in Thailand. Overall I would recommend staying here for the full moon party but if your looking for a peacefull beach holiday head to the bungalows at haad salad.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    7
    10
    4
    1
    7
See reviews for
3
7
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013 via mobile

Great place to stay for full moon. It's a short walk to the shops and restaurants but far enough away from the night life n roudy streets. We stayed for 3 nights in one of the huts and could not recommend it more. The rooms were basic but you don't spend much time in there anyway, the shower was fine altho we had several visits from a giant spider in there!
The resort itself is very clean and the staff were quite helpful, great atmosphere for full moon. I heard places can get raided If you stay to close to the full moon party but this felt 100% safe.
Will definately be recommending this place for a short stay on koh phangan

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013 via mobile

We have just stayed here for two full moon parties (28 Dec and NY) and safe to say it was the best overall deal we spotted on the island- had air con, hot showers, a pool and very very friendly helpful staff. These things are very hard to come by on Koh Phangan. Am going to recommend all my friends stay here if they don't want to rough it.

They didn't have a safe in our hut/room though. However it was a very safe place to stay, the gave us an extra padlock for our door and there was a locked draw.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Stayed here for the July 2012 full moon party. Great location and so close to everything. Staff are friendly and helpful. Rooms are big, spacious and clean with A/C and cable tv.

Only downside is that we were here for four days and the room wasn't cleaned once and we had to chase for fresh towels. Would expect the room to be cleaned for the price we payed.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

We stayed in 2009 and had a great stay for the full moon party. We found ourselves back here in June 2012 after checking into a different hotel on the beach that had bed bugs.... so we literally ran back here!

The rooms are clean, fresh sheets, and the hotel has a great pool. The price is really reasonable too.

The hotel is behind Oasis bungalows on Sunset beach.

There isn't a 'spa' though, as this tripadvisor title suggests.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Friendly Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Friendly Resort & Spa

Address: 110/13 Moo 6 Bantai, Haad Rin Beach (Sunset Beach), Haad Rin, Ko Phangan 84280, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Phangan > Haad Rin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 hotels in Haad Rin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Agoda so you can book your Friendly Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Friendly Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.