We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rude and obnoxious” 1 of 5 stars
Review of La Dolce Vita

La Dolce Vita
Canterbury Road | The Croft, Kennington, Ashford TN25 4DU, England
+44 (0)1233 622 140
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 4 Restaurants in Kennington
Price range: $11 - $40
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Rude and obnoxious”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

The portions were minimal, the female manager couldn't care about any of the - many - issues and rude when we even mentioned anything. The food was cold, overcooked, exceptionally slow service, 1.5 hour wait for main course. The whole experience was dreadful and rest assured they lost three potential customers.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    14
    2
    5
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“POOR SERVICE- ORDER BEFORE YOU GO-LONG WAIT FOR TERRIBLE FOOD”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

Was a special occasion and was told under new management and excellent food.... not true at!!!!
Waiter barely spoke English- after waiting 30mins - we complained every 15 mins- till we finally got our meal at 9.oopm- 1hr 15min wait.
To be honest - such an anti climax - it really was not wort worth waiting for!!! Dry , burnt tasteless and tiny portions. Also Salad which we did not order - was placed on one of guest's plate with hot chicken dish!!!! .Asked for selection of vegetables- 15 mins later- one dish for 6 people - a joke!!!!! .
Requested desert menu- only 3 deserts available- ice cream.
Waiter seems to disappear a lot- hunted him down by reception area... asked for more drinks-came over 10mins later-and handed out wrong drinks.No apology and not seen again.
No atmosphere - no music- no heating- we had to keep our coats on as it was freezing. Asked to put heating on -but no heat all evening..
Only cold water tap works in cloakroom - and again no heating in cloakroom.
Manager has attitude problem- it seems we are the only people that has complained- and refused to give us a discount for the bad service/food. No apology/very rude.
All 6 of us will certainly not return to this awful venue again!!! And we advice anyone else not to waste your money there either.
.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaga, Spain
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“good foodritis”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

My husband and myself had a very good meal ,the food was freshly cooked, there was a wait but this I did not mind as the food was being prepared freshly, we had warm bread with dipping oil and marinated olives ,bruschetta with fresh tomatoes ,mussels in a very tasty sauce ,our main course was very tasty and came with fresh vegetables, my husband tried the hot chocolate dessert of which he said was fantastic, my only negative is the décor is dated and may be to many tables.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Stay away - order a Dominoes - they'll be better service and atmosphere wherever you eat it”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013 via mobile

Where to start - there were 4 of us to eat - celebrating an anniversary. When we arrived there was no-one in the reception area and no way of getting anyone's attention. We wandered through to the eating area (we only knew the way as we'd eaten there quite a few years previously). There was nobody here either but there was another couple eating - not a great turn out, but maybe as this was a Monday evening.....
Eventually a waiter appeared and told us we could sit where we liked, he was dressed in dirty jeans and a tshirt that was probably once green and his hands looked like we'd just disturbed him from changing the oil on his motorbike. The restaurant is set out quite well and has some nice paintings and decor. There is a dirty looking pizza oven on one wall but this was not in use. We were shortly offered drinks and menus and after about 10 minutes the drinks arrived - 3 Peroni's and half a fosters. Unfortunately whilst he was serving the drinks I ended up wearing one of the Peroni's down my back. Some muttering ensued and after about 5 mins a rag was produced "soft soft" I was told.
The waiter kept wandering off for long periods of time but as he seemed to be the only staff member present this became quite frustrating trying to find him. Eventually we were able to order our meals - 2 bruchettas and 2 portions of breaded mushrooms in a garlic sauce for starters. These then arrived approximately 40 minutes later. The bruchettas were lovely, the breaded mushrooms turned out to be 1 field mushroom each with some mulched up garlicky stuff on top. (These were however nice). The couple left during this time and we were left alone.
The mains then arrived about 1hr and 20minutes later and apart from the pizza all was cold. The pasta (ordered by two of us slightly different as it came with fillet steak and we'd asked for 1 well done and 1 med rare) was the same for both of us. It was described as well seasoned with rosemary and basil and there was no evidence of anything in this meal other than pasta, small pieces of meat and pasatta. Both were cold - we sent these back and they arrived hot and herby. One of our party ordered salmon and mussels severed with fresh vegetables and chips. The salmon etc arrived - lukewarm but we had to remind him about the veg and chips these turned up about 10 mins later. I had ordered some garlic bread and this had been forgotten and was promptly cooked - and very nice. During the meal the waiter changed his t shirt into a shirt but obviously couldn't find any soap. There was also a loud argument close by about a vacuum cleaner. I attended the loo part way through my meal but was unable wash my hands as the taps didn't work.
We asked to speak with the manager at the end of our meal as we were disappointed with the whole experience. Surprise surprise the waiter turned out to be the manager (and the chef and the barman I suspect!). He listened to what we said then cleared the table. No apologies were offered.
I then asked for the bill and then again about 15 minutes later. We then went to find him and gave a debit card.
We tried to pay for about 20 minutes with the waiter/manager/etc trying the card machine in every conceivable position in every room in the bar and restaurant. He eventually asked us to pay next time we passed!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Nice atmosphere and nice food.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

WE had bought a loyalty card from a company promoting this restaurant and thought we should try it out. Very quiet - only 2 other tables eating at 7p.m - when we arrived, but nice clean dining room and shown to a table promptly. Good choices on menu, had scallops and stuffed mushroom starters, Both good. Chose duck in plum sauce as main and it was perfectly cooked - very tender and just pink in the middle. Other main was chicken which came with nice salad. Other diners also had the discount card and the 2 tables nearest to ours said how good their food was. It got busy at around 8p.m with most tables taken so the atmosphere was good with people chatting and gentle background music. Al in all a very pleasant experience.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Dolce Vita also viewed

 

Been to La Dolce Vita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Dolce Vita, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.