We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very disappointed” 2 of 5 stars
Review of La Dolce Vita

La Dolce Vita
Canterbury Road | The Croft, Kennington, Ashford TN25 4DU, England
+44 (0)1233 622 140
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 5 Restaurants in Kennington
Price range: $11 - $40
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Bexley, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Very disappointed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

Food was not good, my Duck & potatoes taste of burnt old lamb fat. Maybe the oven needs a clean. 50% of our party were disappointed.
I'll never go back.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    14
    2
    5
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
turn left at mars
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Ideal for couples.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

Great food, and worth the money. Plenty of space between tables rather than being rammed in and without the feeling of being rushed out the door for the next customers.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hebden Bridge, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“An unexpected Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

I would just like to say that I dine out on a regular basis and that, whist staying at The Croft Hotel en route to France I decided to eat out in the adjoining restaurant.
From start to finish we received lovely attention to detail from the serving staff.....The food was nothing but perfect and totally unexpected....For myself I had scallops in chilli and garlic with parmesan crisp for starters and veal escalopes for mains......All prepared and presented to the highest level....Rounded off with a lovely grappa whist sat on the outdoor terrace surrounded by a lovely garden....
This was a wonderful way to start our road trip to the South of France,and whist writing this from Bordeaux and still on my trip(10 days in),I can honestly say this was my best meal so far.....Thankyou again for a truly memorable meal...!!!!!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Not a great experience we won't return seriously over priced for what you get”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2012 via mobile

Not many people in when we arrived so we mistakingly thought we would get a great service! Couldn't have been more wrong. Very slow bringing food out, when it did arrive they were very small portions so we ended up having a sweet just to try and fill us up. A very expensive, cold and hungry evening. We are always willing to give a second chance, but not this one! We will not return

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very enjoyable experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2011

I must have gone to a different restaurant to other reviewers. I would suggest the decor has been recently refurbished to a very good standard which was a critisism of some.
The setting was excellent, everything was clean and well laid out and the waiter was very attentive but not pushy. The food was delivered in a timely manner, allowing adequate time between courses. We both enjoyed our meals which were more than adequate in terms portions. We had far worse in Italy - food wise.
Two courses, a bottle of wine along with coffee for a little over £60 was another pleasant surprise. Will definitely use it again.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Dolce Vita also viewed

 

Been to La Dolce Vita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Dolce Vita, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.