We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“mixed feeling about our stay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Gasthof Village Inn

Gasthof Village Inn
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Montgomery
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Gasthof Village Inn
Save Saved
You added Gasthof Village Inn to your Saves list
6747 E Gasthof Village Rd, Montgomery, IN 47558   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Montgomery B&B and Inns
Missouri
Top Contributor
152 reviews 152 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
“mixed feeling about our stay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

This Inn is a combination of beautiful scenery and setting, friendly people and rooms that seriously need updated. Based on our one night stay, it seems the housekeeping staff does a good job, which is more than I can say for some newer hotels we have stayed in. The rooms, lobby and pool area were all clean. The problem is the carpets, beds, and facilities are extremely old and in desperate need of replacement. The shower head was old and needed replacing, the tv and furniture needs updated but first and foremost the carpet and the beds should be replaced. The carpet in our room didn't feel nice to walk on at all (felt filthy) and the bed was unbearable. If those two things had been better (carpet and beds) we would have stayed more than one night because the rest of the things are things we could deal with and the property and atmosphere were very relaxing. The breakfast room was trashed by the time we got there since the hotel was at capacity during our stay. They needed an attendant in the breakfast room cleaning throughout the morning. There wasn't much to choose from either. The staff was friendly, the lobby was clean, and my child enjoyed the pool area. They needed more seating at the pool area, there was not nearly enough for all of the guests and I had to sit on the concrete to watch my child swim. We ate at the restaurant on site which was good. They had a country store attached and we enjoyed browsing there as well. There was a horse and buggy ride provided (Friday and Sat.evenings for free) by an Amish gentleman. It was a very nice treat. There are horses and donkeys grazing on the premises, very beautiful to see on your way in and out. I think this place has so much potential if they were able to get the rooms updated. I would happily pay $30-$50 more per night if the rooms were remodeled based on the atmosphere and location alone.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    3
    4
    4
    0
See reviews for
4
4
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Danville, Pennsylvania
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

Having been in the area for business over the last 6 years I was unable to book into any of the chain hotels in the area. The Gasthof turned out to be a nice surprise. Clean and comfortable rooms with shops and a restaurant, this Inn is off the beaten path but still convenient for any business in the area. The continental breakfast is adequate.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

We often stay here when we are visiting family in the area. Over the last few years, they have not kept up the interior quite as well. The curtains are a little worn and the pillows are really lumpy. But the beds are very comfortable and the rooms are very clean. They keep the outside very nice, too. The continental-style breakfast is excellent, and include some of their home-baked coffee cakes (which are also available in the lobby around the clock). The staff is so friendly!

I would have given them a top rating, if it wasn't for the lumpy pillows and the rather worn curtains.

Their rates are very reasonable...a great value for the money!

Their restaurant on the property is superb!

Love this place!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Urbana, Illinois
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

We just returned from our International tractor convention, which completely filled the rooms at the Gasthof Village Inn. With special group pricing, the Inn was moderately priced however, the tired beds need to be replaced along with new towels, new carpet, etc. The staff we worked with from the complex was more than accommodating regarding the convention hall which more than made up for any inconvenience experienced with the Inn's rooms. The convention center building was great and included a big cooler to keep drinks, etc., easily accessible for our group members. The maintenance staff helped hang banners, flags, etc. and was always willing to go the extra mile. The flea market, antique store and restaurant were easily visited by walkways from one end to the other. The restaurant served the usual Amish fare and all our group members enjoyed the large selection of dishes offered on the buffet nightly. We give it a thumbs up and only due to the Inn needing updated did my review reflect a lower number.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Culpeper, Virginia
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

If you really need to be in the area it is ok.
REALLY needs some money to fix up the place.
It could be a wonderful place,nice area,lots of potential.just needs some TLC & MONEY.
Restaurant is good,people very friendly.Be hungry, so much to choose from,we had crab legs & shrimp on the buffet.
Motel was clean.
We stayed here about 15 years ago,it has really gone down hill.
If we were in area we would not stay unless it had had a complete overhall.I would be willing to pay more.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Montgomery hotels

franklin,in
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

The inn is very run down is in need of repair interior and exterior. The beds are not comfortable. Floors dirty. All and all just a run down dirty inn. Staff fairly nice. Location was good right in amish area

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valparaiso
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

We stayed at the Gasthof Village Inn on 8/13/2012. We have stayed there before but were surprised it has become so run down. The beds were terrible (very old) The furnisings were also very old. There was not a comfortable chair in the room.(two desk chairs)Watch out for the tile in the shower room,when its wet its like walking on ice.
The best part of the stay was eating at the Amish restaurant. The food was very good and the staff very friendly.
I would not stay at the hotel again untill its complety updated.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Gasthof Village Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gasthof Village Inn

Address: 6747 E Gasthof Village Rd, Montgomery, IN 47558
Location: United States > Indiana > Montgomery
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Montgomery

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gasthof Village Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.