We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Historic Cottage, Gibbston, Queenstown New Zealand

Historic Warbrick Stone Cottage
Historic Warbrick Stone Cottage
Historic Warbrick Stone Cottage
Cosy Open fire
Inside Living area looking back towards sleeping area.
Gibbston
|
Rental Home – 
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4

Reviews from our community

Contribute to the TripAdvisor community and help fellow travelers find the perfect vacation rental
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cheryl G
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A perfect piece of paradise.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

This was our ideal escape from everything. No phones, no internet, just us and the peace of this gorgeous cottage. We didn't need for anything, the cottage provides it all. We were able to relax from a busy lifestyle and a week of snowboarding down the slopes. With some great winery's surrounding it and a cheesery just down the road, provisions weren't hard to find. And why cook when you can do lunch at some amazing winery restaurants and then chill at the cottage with a bottle of great Pinot from the winery next door. Thank you for restoring this amazing little gem for us to come and enjoy. And if we had organised it before hand it snowed.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Gaia18
Asheville, North Carolina
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Cosy cottage that's near perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014 for a stay in March 2014

This cottage is a bit off the beaten path, but in the heart of wine country. It's a quaint, comfortable cottage with a nice bathroom. We particularly enjoyed the fireplace on those cool, rainy nights. Matt provided us with a basket of fresh plums and eggs. Although we would have liked an introduction on our arrival, Matt and Lisa did answer all of our needs during our stay.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 3 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property 5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses
3 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils 5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness
5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities 4 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: The fireplace
Liked least: Internet was very spotty
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
RhodyCaye
Providence, Rhode Island
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Wonderful Escape”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014 for a stay in February 2014

The restored miner's cottage is absolutely lovely-a little piece of heaven far enough from town to feel away from it all, set amidst vineyards and working farms. Impeccably designed, friendly hosts, wish we could have stayed longer!

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 4 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Claire369
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“One of the most relaxing travel experiences ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013 for a stay in July 2013

This cottage is absolutely gorgeous. The restoration is remarkable and the surrounding landscapes breathtaking. Within driving distance to a number of lovely small town centres. We stayed here for our honeymoon and despite freezing temperatures we were warm and comfortable in the cottage. We hope to return someday!

5 of 5 stars Value 5 of 5 stars Location
5 of 5 stars Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Check in
Check out
Guests
from
$130
/
Night
Week
Request to Book
Or, send the owner a message
Send Message
this property has payment protection
Owner
Matthew W
Speaks English
Listed since : Jul 2011
Response Rate: 100 %
Calendar Updated: 10 days ago
Peace of Mind Protection
You're automatically covered whenever you book a vacation rental on TripAdvisor!
Learn more
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Listing is Free!
Add your rental property to TripAdvisor and FlipKey at no charge. You pay only 3% commission on each confirmed, paid booking.
Protect your privacy
TripAdvisor only shares your contact details with your guests after the first payment has been made.
Get more exposure
Showcase your property to travelers worldwide actively looking to rent in your destination every month.
Set up your free listing