We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a little slice of heaven” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mt Rosa Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Mt Rosa Lodge to your Saves list
Mt Rosa Lodge
5.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   55E, Mt Rosa Station | Gibbston Back Rd RD 1 Queenstown, Gibbston 9371, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Gibbston B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Milan, Italy
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“a little slice of heaven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2010

I have traveled a lot...Europe, the US, Africa, Asia....and I can honestly say that the three days I spent at Mt Rosa will be remembered as a highlight in all my years of traveling. Brian and Maureen Dennis have a gorgeous home with three private suites attached. You can have complete privacy if you want or, if you prefer, they will welcome you in for wine, dinner, and a real view of life in the wine country of Central Otago. I chose the latter and cannot begin to say how much fun I had with them and how great it was to learn about wine in the Gibbston Valley. Staying with them was a 5-star experience with heart....they are generous, warm and extremely professional. Plus, they make their own wine and are really involved in the community. EXTRAORDINARY!!!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
63
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2010

This outstanding lodge was so much more than we expected. The setting was breathtaking overlooking the vinyard and across to the mountains. The lodge itself was warm and the suites luxurious. But added to that the hosts Maureen and Brain Dennis made our short stay with them extra special. The gourmet dinner was excellent and Brian, as a respected wine judge was able to share his knowledge of both his and the local wines in his cellar. We have already booked to come back in 1012 for the next Warbrids over Wanaka.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, WI
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2010

My wife and I stayed at The Mt. Rosa Lodge for New Year's Eve. It was the last night of our amazing New Zealand trip. All I can say is, what a way to end the trip! We were welcomed by our wonderful host Maureen. We enjoyed a lovely glass of local wine in their beautiful dining/kitchen/sitting area. The are huge windows with views of the surrounding vineyards. After finishing our wine Maureen showed us to our room. We found out that we were the only guests for New Year's Eve. Our room, the Mt. rosa Suite, was amazing with very high quality furnishings. Everything about our room screamed elegance. We enjoyed a wonderful New Years Eve dinner at Saffron in nearby Arrowtown. It was very quiet and peaceful when we returned from dinner. Exactly what we were looking for our last night in NZ before the long trip back home. Breakfast was made to order in the morning and was amazing. We got to meet our other host Brian. We really enjoyed our stay at the Mt. Rosa Lodge and highly recommend it if you are looking for an elegant yet quiet and comfortable place to stay.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2010

Being Canadian, it's always been a dream to visit NZ & drink all their amazing wines! MT ROSA wines have been our favourite since my husband & I first met so we were absolutely THRILLED to find out there was a little boutique lodge right on the land where our favourite wine originates from! This made it very easy for us to choose our 'wedding night' location;) Dave & I were married at Mount Cook February 9, 2010 - we then made our way to central Otago to spend 2 luxurious nights with Brian & Maureen. We were given a beyond wonderful welcome full of champagne & the other guests wanting to share in our special day. It was wonderful. We had a beautiful meal in the private wine cellar, just for the two of us - Maureen is an incredible chef & we ate the best lamb we've ever experienced! Brian knows his wines & we drank the best of the best! Our room was beyond romantic...gas fireplace, beautiful king sized bed, very eco friendly, stocked fridge, chocoates, beautiful bath products, sky tv, dvd, cds, a beautiful private balcony overlooking the valley...it was pure bliss! This is absolute paradise - it's located in such a remote, quiet area & you're given all the privacy one could ask for. I look forward to our return one day. Thank you Brian & Maureen for giving us the most incredible wedding night!~ xo Dave & Alisha

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2010

This place is absolutely first class. Set above a small vineyard in the outskirts of Queenstown, Mt. Rosa Lodge is the quintessinal relaxation spot yet it also provides out-the-door hiking experiences. The hosts, Brian and Maureen, were wonderful people and a pleasure to get to know; they make you feel as if you are long time friends. The longer you stay, the longer you want to stay. Be sure to enjoy at least one dinner at the lodge. Breakfast is great and the eggs could not be fresher. If I needed a reason to return to New Zealand, this would be it!

Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VA
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2010

Certainly to be recommended. Beautiful location, very peaceful. In the midst of a vineyard(s), and only about 20 min from Queenstown. Many things to do around the area; from everything to do with wine tastings etc to hiking and trips on lakes. Maureen and Brian are extremely gracious hosts who go out of their way to make your stay personal and the best it can be. They give great recommendations and we had some wonderful discussions. And then there is sitting outside with a view of the valley, a book and a glass of wine with great French cheese. Life is good!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2010

This is a small purpose built Bed and Breakfast lodge set amongst grape vines in the beautiful Gibbston Valley of Central Otago. With only three rooms the lodge is quiet and private. The rooms are elegant and very comfortable with stunning views over the vines to the mountains. The hosts Maureen and Dennis are very friendly and welcoming. They have a good knowledge of the local area, offering suggestions according to the interests of their guests. Dennis is also invloved in the wine industry, with his own label, and loves to share his knowledge of the local wines with guests. Maureen is an excellent cook.
As the lodge is about 25mins from Queenstown a car is necessary.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mt Rosa Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mt Rosa Lodge

Address: 55E, Mt Rosa Station | Gibbston Back Rd RD 1 Queenstown, Gibbston 9371, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Gibbston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Gibbston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Mt Rosa Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mt Rosa Lodge is set on a private vineyard growing pinot noir grapes on an elevated site. Spectacular views from all suites and surrounding lodge. Suites are luxuriously appointed with every detail to make your stay perfect. Wireless is available in all suites. Queenstown airport is 20 minutes away and the award-winning wineries and restaurants are nearby. This is the perfect romantic accommodation amoung the vineyards on the outskirts of Queenstown On site are walking trails and bike trails are nearby. Dinner is available on request and a complimentary dinner is available with a 3 night stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Orbitz so you can book your Mt Rosa Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mt Rosa Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.