We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most Memorable Stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mt Rosa Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Mt Rosa Lodge to your Saves list
Mt Rosa Lodge
5.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   55E, Mt Rosa Station | Gibbston Back Rd RD 1 Queenstown, Gibbston 9371, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Gibbston B&B and Inns
Toronto, Canada
1 review
“Most Memorable Stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

My husband and I are from Canada, and travel a lot with his business. We were spending 10days on the South Island last Nov. Mt Rosa had come well recommended, and more than exceeded our expectations. The reception, accommodations and cuisine were better than any other we've experienced in NZ or any other country we visited. Maureen & Brian have a special gift of how to make you feel like you're their 'personal guests' and part of their family, yet giving you all the privacy needed for a relaxing holiday. The location was great for wine tours, visiting Queenston, hiking, biking, shopping, or anything you could possible want to do on vacation!! Cheers Maureen & Brian!! Hope to visit again in the future.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vineyard19, Owner at Mt Rosa Lodge, responded to this review, February 9, 2014
Thank you for your glowing review of your stay with us at Mt Rosa Lodge Queenstown.Seeing it was your first visit to this region it was good to read your comments.Yes the vineyard and the topic of wine is pretty close to us.Thanks for some of the tips re our imminent visit to your country.
You managed to fit in an overnight in Doubtful Sound and some of the walking rails in this region.
Look forward to welcoming you back to Mt Rosa Lodge should you ever return to Queenstown.
Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
59
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

My boyfriend and I spent the x'mas and new year at Mt Rosa. Maureen has marvelous cooking skill. The X'mas eve dinner and breakfast she made were so delicious. View is spectacular and picturesque.
On our first night, the toilet was not working well. Brian fixed it right away and kindly offered us to change to another room. During our 4 night stay (on 2 trips), We got a chance to rotate between the 3 guest rooms to get a taste of unique decoration of each room.
Also love the fresh cherry Maureen picked from her garden everyday.
Wanna thanks Maureen and Brian for their hospitality and for making Mt Rosa such a lovely place!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vineyard19, Owner at Mt Rosa Lodge, responded to this review, February 2, 2014
Thank you for the review of your stay with us at Mt Rosa Lodge over Christmas.Also apreciate that you came to us twice on your visit to the region.It is a great location to enjoy all that Queenstown has to offer and enjoy the peace and beauty of the vineyards.
Thank you for being so accommodating with the changing of your rooms till we had the situation resolved. Not many guests have got to stay in all the suites. The suites have all a different feel but with all the same views.
We look forward to hosting you again when you visit the region again.Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

We recently spent two days of our honeymoon at Mt. Rosa Lodge. My husband and I had an absolutely wonderful experience. The room was luxurious and beautifully decorated, and the bathroom was out-of-this-world! I appreciated the high quality lotion, shampoo and conditioner and especially the cheese board and fresh fruit left in our room.

Breakfast was wonderful. Maureen and Brian made sure we had food waiting in our room on a morning we needed to make an early start, and the spread we had in the main house the next day was generous and delicious. I wish I could buy the homemade honey greek yogurt!

It was lovely to start each day on our private patio overlooking a small rose garden and the beautiful views. Overall, I would highly recommend this lodge to anyone wanting a quiet escape in an incredible setting with easy access to Queenstown.

Erika B

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vineyard19, Owner at Mt Rosa Lodge, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Thank you for the review of your stay here with us at Mt Rosa Lodge Queenstown. Trust the rest of your holiday in New Zealand was memorable. Thank you both for sharing your wedding story with us.Wow what a huge day!
Summer has started at last here in Queenstown but it was a bit cooler for your visit.Brian and I wish you all the best for your venture and thank you again for visiting us here among the vines in Queenstown.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

We spent Christmas and Boxing Day at Mt Rosa Lodge. Christmas also happens to be my birthday. Maureen and Brian greeted us at the door and made us feel welcome from the very first moment. We were offered coffee and each given a slice of chocolate cake for my birthday! The conversation was comfortable and easy.

Maureen showed us to our room, which was beautifully laid out and so comfy. The furnishings and linens were top notch. The bathroom was a dream. Our hosts had provided wonderful fluffy towels. There was also shampoo, conditioner and soap.

There was a complimentary cheese board in the refrigerator and coffee/tea with all the fixins in the room. Looking out on the small balcony and beyond, the mountains and vineyards filled your view. We wanted for nothing during our stay.

We had a long drive the next morning and needed to leave early. Maureen made sure we had breakfast in our room. Homemade yogurt (I don't remember tasting better anywhere) and muesli with fruit. The breakfast we were served before leaving the next day was delicious.

There was only one thing that seemed odd to me. I can understand letting guests know that there was a charge for drinking the wine left in the room. But I want to be honest here and I don't feel that they should charge for water and soda left in the mini fridge. Mt Rosa Lodge is a extremely classy place. This was unexpected.

That said, I would highly recommend Mt Rosa Lodge for anyone with discerning tastes and a desire to be well-taken care of. Maureen and Brian set the bar high for other B&Bs anywhere. You won't be disappointed.

If you are interested in reading more about our New Zealand vacation, please subscribe to my blog at yvetterene.blogspot.com.au.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vineyard19, Owner at Mt Rosa Lodge, responded to this review, January 5, 2014
Thank you for the review of your stay with us over the Christmas period and sharing your birthday with us here at Mt Rosa Lodge Queenstown. It was fun sharing your adventures and the stories you returned with.We were in awe of your long drives but fortunately driving around this spectacular region has its rewards.
Thank you for your comment re the water in the mini bar and we will certainly point out to guests in the future that the tap water is perfect for drinking and to provide guests with a carafe of water in the room free of charge.We aprecaite your feedback on this.
Look forward to hosting you back on your next visit to Queenstown in perhaps another spectucular season.
Thank you again and Happy New Year to you both
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

We went on our honeymoon trip and our travel agent recommended this lodge. And we were really happy with this place, warm welcome from owner and great room with scene of vineyard and hill. Had dinner with the owners also really nice.
Will be back again if we have a chance.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vineyard19, Owner at Mt Rosa Lodge, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Thank you so much for the review of your stay with us at Mt Rosa Lodge. Thankfully the weather was great during your stay and you were able to explore this spectacular region in and around Queenstown.
We trust it was a honeymoon to remember.
Thank you again and it was our pleasure
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

I cannot express enough just how much we enjoyed staying at this lovely lodge. Maureen and Brian were extremely informative and helpful host and hostess. We were particularly impressed with their personalised service (some fruit left in our room every day considering that I was pregnant!), stunning view you can get from their property, delicious breakfast and dinner, welcome drinks and Brian's lecture on wine and wine making. My husband still fondly remembers the rose wine they served as the best rose he's ever had. It was also an excellent location - only a short distance to Queenstown, Wanaka, Arrowtown and Cardrona. We travelled in summer but we can imagine it can also be an ideal place to stay in winter for winter sports.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vineyard19, Owner at Mt Rosa Lodge, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
How wonderful to hear from you after what seems to be a long time ago.We remember your visit well and you came in the wonderful cherry season hence the fruit in your room.
Thank you for your review and you will be pleased to know that the Amisfield Rose is available again.They ran out quite early in the season but any time you return we will make sure we have some of that Rose.
Our regards to you both and look forward to welcoming you back to Mt Rosa Lodge as as you say" Maybe in the winter"I highly recommend the autumn which is March/April/ May.
Thank you again, we very much appreciate your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wanaka, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013 via mobile

We're only "over the hill" by decided not to drive back after a charity black tie dinner at gibbston valley winery so booked the closest lodge and what a treat it was. We were greeted by Brian who was going to the same function so his lovely wife Maureen was our driver. We started off our visit with some fabulous central otago Sauvignon Blanc from Amisfield winery , who would have thought! It certainly gives marlborough SB a run for its money. Then Brian showed us to our fabulous room. Stunning views down the valley to coronet peak. Great bathroom with top of the line toiletries. Mini bar plus complementary cheese board from gibbston valley cheeses. Heated flies. High ceilings and heaps of room. Great robes. Fabulous king bed and soooo comfy and warm.
Next morning maureen made us a breakfast fit for a king and queen. Almost as good as huka lodge (no whitebait)
What a lovely treat. Great hosts, lovely people and we can recommend this to anyone wanting luxury and peace and quiet outside of Queenstown

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vineyard19, Owner at Mt Rosa Lodge, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
Thank you for the review of your stay with us recently.What a surprise to realise that you were going to the same function at Gibbston Valley as Brian and Alan Brady and your deep and passionate knowledge of the wine industry.
The function was a great success judging by your stories of the night and so conveniently located from Mt Rosa Lodge.
We would really love to welcome you back especially for those whitebait fritters( Traditional style or Maureen style)
Comparing us to Huka Lodge,unbelievable but very much appreciated.Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mt Rosa Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mt Rosa Lodge

Address: 55E, Mt Rosa Station | Gibbston Back Rd RD 1 Queenstown, Gibbston 9371, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Gibbston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Gibbston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Mt Rosa Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mt Rosa Lodge is set on a private vineyard growing pinot noir grapes on an elevated site. Spectacular views from all suites and surrounding lodge. Suites are luxuriously appointed with every detail to make your stay perfect. Wireless is available in all suites. Queenstown airport is 20 minutes away and the award-winning wineries and restaurants are nearby. This is the perfect romantic accommodation amoung the vineyards on the outskirts of Queenstown On site are walking trails and bike trails are nearby. Dinner is available on request and a complimentary dinner is available with a 3 night stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz and Odigeo so you can book your Mt Rosa Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mt Rosa Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.