We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Amazing!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mt Rosa Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Mt Rosa Lodge to your Saves list
Mt Rosa Lodge
5.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   55E, Mt Rosa Station | Gibbston Back Rd RD 1 Queenstown, Gibbston 9371, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Gibbston B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Dubai
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Absolutely Amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

If you're looking for a place to stay whilst in Queenstown or Arrowtown, just book Mount Rosa Lodge, you won't regret it :) My husband and I had a privilege of staying at this lovely lodge last November and this is our most favourite place amongst all the places we stayed whilst we were in Australia and NZ combined. Maureen is such a great cook and Brian's knowledge of wine is just superb. Thank you for making our stay really memorable and we look forward to coming back sometime in the future :)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vineyard19, Owner at Mt Rosa Lodge, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
What a wonderful surprise to read your review of your visit to us in November.Good time to visit with the vineyard in it's spring phase.
Thrilled to hear that Mt Rosa Lodge was your top choice during your visit to New Zealand and Australia.A lot to live up to.
Since your visit we have had an excellent harvest for 2013 on a magic autumn day.We wait and see what that will turn out in a few years time.
Right now we have Winter Festival celebrating the start of winter and it looks a picture all over.Brian and I checked out the slopes yesterday and Coronet Peak was at her best.
Look forward to seeing you both back here in a different season maybe.
Thank you again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
63
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Queenstown
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

My partner and I live locally (in Queenstown) and stayed one night earlier this May to celebrate our anniversary. We were pleasantly surprised at how great it was. Lovely warm room, great view, beautiful bed linen, large comfortable bed- awesome big bath tub, nice 'linden leaves' bathroom products- a lovely little cheese platter on arrival and a really warm reception from the hosts. We wanted to go out for dinner in Arrowtown and this was booked for us by Brian. We were invited to have a quick drink before we went out for dinner and they popped a bottle of champagne just for us! So sweet! Both hosts were super friendly, warm and professional- excellent at what they do. My partner slept in (we didn't know he could!) the we had a delicious breakfast (they are obviously 'foodies'). It really was a great stay- Thanks so much Brian and Maureen :-)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vineyard19, Owner at Mt Rosa Lodge, responded to this review, June 2, 2013
Thank you for the review of your 'short break' with us at Mt Rosa Lodge.Not far to come from Queenstown but far enough to be in a different environment.
Thak you for the Kowhai seedling which will be well looked after and according to your instructions planted in the spring.
Should you ever feel like another break away or just driving through you would be welcome to call in for a glass of wine and check on the Kowhai.
Our regards
Brian and Maureen
Mt Rosa Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

Once again we visited Mt Rosa Lodge.........its seems the setting and the overall experience just keep pulling us back! Maureen and Brian are amazing hosts. They cannot do enough to enhance your Gibston Valley/Queenstown experience. Brian and Maureen certainly know their stuff with food and wine plus having exceptional knowledge of the area. We stay in the Mt Rosa suite which has a spa bath and fire place......very romantic and relaxing. Waking up to incredible views and the neighbors sheep baaing in the distance is a great way to start your day - as is falling asleep gazing at the incredible McKenzie sky bathed in silence!. Thank you both for another outstanding holiday experience.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vineyard19, Owner at Mt Rosa Lodge, responded to this review, June 2, 2013
Good to see you both again and thank you for your review as a returning guest.Luckily the autumn colours were still holding on so you could see the splendour amoungst the vines and of course the rest of the region.Unfortunately you just missed the actual harvesting of the grapes.

You mentioned not having seen snow fall before so the best time for that is in July or August.

Thank you again for your review and look forward to welcoming you back in another season.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delta, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

I recently stayed at the beautiful Mt Rosa Lodge with two friends. We had reserved two rooms, but when we arrived Maureen had very kindly given us 3 rooms, with no charge for the third room! Maureen and Brian were very warm and friendly and were the perfect hosts. We arrived very late and they were kind enough to prepare us something to eat. The lodge is located in a beautiful area, close to Arrowtown and Queenstown for sightseeing, and each room had a gorgeous view. We arranged ahead of time to have dinner at the lodge ($65 per person) and it was awesome. The breakfasts each morning were delicious as well. Their communication prior to our arrival was excellent - we received prompt replies to our emails and they answered our questions thoroughly. I would not hesitate to recommend Mt Rosa Lodge to anyone visiting the Queenstown area. It was a definitely a highlight of our trip.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vineyard19, Owner at Mt Rosa Lodge, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Your review was most appreciated. Pleased to be able to provide a snack and a glass of wine on your arrival. We could hardly let you go hungry could we? Most guests to New Zealand underestimate the travel times by just looking at the mileage. However you did put in a huge day on Doubtful Sound and then the drive to us from Lake Manapouri. The birthday dinner went well with the beautiful chocolate cake and great company.We enjoyed it too.
Thank you for visiting us here and look forward to your return someday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

A concert in the beautiful Gibbston Valley & truly amazing accommodation just down the road - what more could you wish for?? From the moment we arrived at Mt Rosa we felt completely at home. Maureen & Brian warmly welcomed us before taking us to our luxurious room which overlooked the valley making us feel as if we were somewhere in Europe. Later we joined them for a beautiful dinner & felt as if we had known them all our lives. They are truly superb hosts. Our bed was so so comfortable & the quietness was pure bliss. Breakfast was yummy - Maureen's own muesli, fresh fruit salad, toast & Randall thoroughly enjoyed the bacon, mushrooms & egg cooked just for him. We arrived as strangers but left as friends & hope to get back some time in the future.Thanks so much.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vineyard19, Owner at Mt Rosa Lodge, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Thank you both for the review of your stay in the Gibbston Valley and Mt Rosa Lodge.What a great weekend for the concert and to know that you were close by .Loved having you for dinner that night and especially when we found mutual interests.
With your work schedule and challenging times in your home town we felt privileged to host you for the weekend and would look forward to doing so again.
Thank you again for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

We needed accomodation over the weekend to watch a concert in the Gibbston Valley. I liked the look of the website and booked, not really thinking any further ahead, just grateful to find a bed and breakfast so close at such short notice.
From the moment we arrived we were made to feel welcome as Brian came out to greet us and relaxed almost immediately into our luxurious room with its glorious view over the Gibbston Valley. We were invited into the main lodge to share a wine with Brian and Maureen and watch the sun descend over the valley and their vineyard, breathtaking! Our breakfasts were deliscious, as was the platter Maureen whipped up on our return from the concert on Saturday evening, served in our room.
I have no hesitation in recommending Mt Rosa as a place to stay, rest, dine, converse, drink and completely unwind. It is close to so many other facilities yet tranquil.Thankyou Maureen and Brian

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vineyard19, Owner at Mt Rosa Lodge, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor of your stay with us here in the Gibbston Valley.Yes it is very convenient for the concerts in the vineyards and glad we had some whitebait fritters to whip up for you both.The concert was a huge success this year and seems to go from strength to strength, so hopefully we will see you both again next year.
Thank you also for the lovely greeting card sent to us.It was a pleasure.Let us spoil you again sometime.
Your comments are much appreciated.Our regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kendal, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

As this was our first night in New Zealand we were unsure as to why our excellent agents Experience NZ had booked us so far out of Queenstown. We need not have worried as this was a perfect choice! Brian and Maureen are fantastic hosts and the quality of accommodation is faultless. From the moment we arrived we were welcomed with open arms and our 3 night stay could have been 3 weeks. Breakfast is amazing and Dinner with our hosts along with other guests turned into a dinner party among friends. No complaints and nothing but praise lead us to state that there can be be no better accommodation in the Queenstown area which is only 20 minutes away. Submitted by Colin and Elaine all the way from Cumbria - we hope to return one day. Enjoy!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vineyard19, Owner at Mt Rosa Lodge, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Thank you all the way back to Hong Kong and Cumbria,for your review of us here at Mt Rosa Lodge.You picked the best February to visit us and it still has'nt rained.
Yes we are on the outskirts of Queenstown but as you found out close enough to access any of the activities in this region. Once you have sampled what the region has to offer you can return to the peace of the vineyards.
Thoroughly enjoyed your company and hope you enjoyed meeting the pioneer of this wine region over dinner .
Many thanks again for the review and love to see you both again when in need for a break.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Mt Rosa Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mt Rosa Lodge

Address: 55E, Mt Rosa Station | Gibbston Back Rd RD 1 Queenstown, Gibbston 9371, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Gibbston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Gibbston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Mt Rosa Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mt Rosa Lodge is set on a private vineyard growing pinot noir grapes on an elevated site. Spectacular views from all suites and surrounding lodge. Suites are luxuriously appointed with every detail to make your stay perfect. Wireless is available in all suites. Queenstown airport is 20 minutes away and the award-winning wineries and restaurants are nearby. This is the perfect romantic accommodation amoung the vineyards on the outskirts of Queenstown On site are walking trails and bike trails are nearby. Dinner is available on request and a complimentary dinner is available with a 3 night stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline and Orbitz so you can book your Mt Rosa Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mt Rosa Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.