We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Spring Mill Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Mitchell
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Spring Mill Inn
Save
You added Spring Mill Inn to your Saves list
Highway 60 East, Spring Mill State Park, PO Box 68, Mitchell, IN 47446-0068   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mitchell
Certificate of Excellence
Indianapolis
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

We stayed over the 4th weekend and had a great time. My kids loved the pool which is both indoor and outdoor where they can swim under to window to go between the two. The restaurant was a different story. The wait staff was nice and everybody tried to be accommodating but it took and hour and a half to get our food. With three small kids that is a LONG time to wait. But at 8 pm it's not like we could drive into town because the kids would fall asleep in the car. After we got the food my kids devoured their food. Maybe really hungry but mine was also good. The rooms are quaint but nice and fit the need. Nice game room for a change of pace of hiking in the park. I would stay again just maybe have a back up plan if the restaurant doesn't work out.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    42
    16
    5
    3
See reviews for
51
46
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Evansville
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014 via mobile

There were 4 of us senior citizens who drove up from Evansville for lunch and what a terrible experience we had. Took 40 minutes to get our food and it was way below standard..grilled tenderloin was cold and dry and the bun very hard or stale. The men ordered breakfast and the portions were very small on 4 separate plates. We left hungry and angry and will never return. The Inn is clean and historic and the State Park beautiful. We will never stay at the Inn due to the terrible food which was ordered off the menu.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

We stayed at Spring Mill Inn in early July 2014. The rooms are quaint, nice and clean. We have been to Spring Mill many times and have always enjoyed eating at the restaurant in the Inn. In the past they have had wonderful buffets, but not this time. There was no buffet and the food we ordered from the menu was terrible. We got our food in fairly reasonable time, but my brother and his family had to wait a very long time for their food. When it came, the order was messed up. I would recommend staying at the Inn, but finding somewhere else to eat.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

The perfect place to spend a weekend or a week! We have loved it for many years and are pleased to say it is still the same beautifully charming place. Dining room is greatly improved and prices are family friendly. You won't be disappointed here. So much to do in the Park itself - and the Inn is the perfect setting to return to at the end of the day.

Room Tip: Can't go wrong with a woods view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loveland, Colorado
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

Property excellent, Inn excellent, housekeeping excellent, my problem is with the restaurant. The food prepared off the menu is very good; the food on the buffet was High School cafeteria quality; over-cooked and dried out. What really bugged me was the service was very, very inconsistent. I had to ask to be seated the 3 times I went. Dinner buffet was bad, 1st breakfast next day was excellent, 2nd breakfast the last day was very disappointing, smaller portions than the day before, no butter and jelly served, could not get a coffee refill. Mitchell is 3 miles away and there is a custard stand a mile away with some food a mile away.

If you stay get a room off the back of the hotel looking into the woods. I was on the front and the front circle is where the smoking area is so it was difficult to keep my window open.

Room Tip: Get a room off the back of the Inn
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fishers, Indiana
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

If you like camping without the bugs and tents, Spring Mill Inn is for you. This inn is located at the center of Spring Mill State Park. I has lots of hiking and a working grist mill. They also offer cave tours. The historic Inn has many modern touches such as air conditioning and en suite bathrooms. The dining room has a very decent buffet.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Canada
Level Contributor
265 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

The last time I was here was in the 60's as a kid. It is exactly as I remember it. Still a quant Inn located in a perfect setting. Lots of trails surrounding the hotel and a very peaceful spot. The room I had was a good size and very clean. I could not find any fault with the hotel except the dinning room which I have reviewed elsewhere.

Free fast Internet access and flat screen TVs for those who cannot live without these things.

The staff are all friendly and accommodating. This was a great experience. Weekday stays are considerably less expensive than weekend stays.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Spring Mill Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spring Mill Inn

Address: Highway 60 East, Spring Mill State Park, PO Box 68, Mitchell, IN 47446-0068
Location: United States > Indiana > Mitchell
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mitchell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Snuggled into a backdrop of stately oaks, this historic inn was constructed from native limestone during the late 1930s. As featured in Midwest Magazine, this location abounds in endless opportunities for recreation. Spring Mill Inn is located within the park, and offers modern conveniences that include a full service dining room, gift shop, indoor/outdoor pool, game room, and conference facilities. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Spring Mill Hotel Mitchell

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Spring Mill Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.