We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BEAUTIFUL” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Spring Mill Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Mitchell
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Spring Mill Inn
Save
You added Spring Mill Inn to your Saves list
Highway 60 East, Spring Mill State Park, PO Box 68, Mitchell, IN 47446-0068   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Kids eat FREE
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mitchell
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“BEAUTIFUL”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

If you want to see a snapshot in time, this is the place to stay. This inn is in the middle of Spring Mill State Park and is an absolute joy to explore, the hotel, not just the park.

This is not a luxury hotel by today's standards, but it is very clean, with many, many charming things to see and do.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim W, General Manager at Spring Mill Inn, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear valued Guest,
Thank you very much for writing to Trip Advisor about
your stay at the Spring Mill Inn and enjoying the Inn and Park
during your visit. We appreciate you taking the time to
let us know about the time you spent with us. We are
happy you had a wonderful experience with us and look forward to
your return.
Warmest Personal Regards,
Tim W
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    37
    13
    5
    3
See reviews for
47
41
7
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Franklin, Indiana
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Spent one night at the Inn in a room on the third floor with a queen bed. The staff was very friendly and helpful when we arrived and checked in. The room was a tad small but this inn was built in the 30s. This is not the JW Marriott and one should not expect it to be. We found it quite charming and clean. The inn was decorated for the fall and really feels like a home away from home. I would not hesitate to return.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim W, General Manager at Spring Mill Inn, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you very much for taking the time to write
to Trip Advisor concerning your recent stay with us
here at the Spring Mill Inn. We appreciate your
positive comments and yes we know we are not the JW
Marriott as far as brick and mortar but we do have a relaxed
atmosphere for our guests to enjoy and try to provide the best
service for them as possible. We look forward to your return
visit.
Kindest personal regards,
Tim W
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights, while visiting good friends, and once again, we were happy to be there and everything was just as it was on our previous visit, 3 yrs. ago.....with friendly staff, lots of good food, clean and neat rooms, etc.....

We had a queen room, on 2nd floor, complete with a desk and wifi, a bath, and nice window, that overlooked the parking lot. It is a beautiful place, and the hotel is a Historical Inn, inside of Indiana's Spring Mill State Park. The Inn is well kept, and we always stay here, because we feel right at home.

They have a dining room, which is always clean, with helpful staff, and with a buffet most days, but you can also order off menu, too --- they will let you know which days you can do both. The prices for their meals are very reasonable for what you get! You shouldn't go hungry there.

Also, hotel prices are very reasonable too. There is also a pool, lobby and gift shop, and a large game room, and a conference hall, too.....which I'm sure gets used a lot, for meetings, receptions, etc.....

It's location is convenient, but at same time, in the country or among the woods, since it's a state park. It is very quiet and peaceful, plus they keep the flowers and gardens very pretty, and while sitting on front porch, in rocking chairs, you just might see a chipmuck scoot by. If you have time, you must see the Pioneer Village with Grist Mill, which is near the Inn, (inside State Park), as well as Gus Grissom memorial. ALL great places to take in, while you are in the park. They also have a nice campground, and we intend to try that out, one day, when we visit with our RV.

After 3 days, I didn't want to leave --- but our vacation was coming to a close, so we had to head back to Florida. If Indiana was closer, I would return many times, to Spring Mill Inn.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim W, General Manager at Spring Mill Inn, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you very much for taking the time to
write to Trip Advisor about your recent experience
at the Spring Mill State Park and Inn. We really
appreciate your comments about your visit and look forward
to your return. Coming all the way from Florida
and staying with us while enjoying the Park and your
friends was a great thing to do. Take care and
we will see you again, hopefully soon!
Kindest personal regards,
Tim W
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Just got back from spending one night and two days at Spring Mill Inn. It was very relaxing and enjoyable the whole time. Food was good and plenty of it. Inn is clean and has a lot of character. Staff is always cheerful and helpful, even had baked cookies and apples for an evening snack. Will be back as every season is special at this park.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim W, General Manager at Spring Mill Inn, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
Wow thank you so much for your taking the time
to write to us through Trip Advisor. We also very
much appreciate your positive comments about
your stay with us. We are pleased that you enjoyed
your meals with us and that my staff was very helpful
and friendly during your stay with us. We look forward
to your return.
Kindest personal regards,
Tim W
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

ok, so it's the only one I have ever had.

The staff was wonderful, for the most part. The wedding planner and head housekeeper went above and beyond. The BBQ was a hit. And the reception room has the most beautiful windows.

My husband said we should have had the wedding at Spring Mill instead of a church. It really is a special place.

PS I had never been there before the wedding. I planned it long distance and got my referral from asking people on Craigs list where the best place in IN was? 10 people responded and 9 of them said, Spring Mill.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim W, General Manager at Spring Mill Inn, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
I can't tell you enough how much we appreciate you taking the
time to write us about your wedding reception here at the Spring
Mill Inn. We are very happy when we make our guests happy
here at the Inn. Our Park is beautiful and we appreciate those
who tell us how much they enjoy their visit here at the Spring Mill
Park and Inn. Weddings are a happy occasion, and we our
thrilled to know yours was. We look forward to your return visit.
Kindest Personal Regards,
Tim W
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalamazoo, Michigan
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

You pay for the setting here, which is wonderful, and for the CCC vibe and décor. The rooms are nothing to write home about, and maybe even a little run down, but the public spaces and grounds of the hotel are great. I think it is a little overpriced at $100 a night, but for one night I was willing to spend that to stay in this unique place. Normally I go for the $60-$70 range for hotels. No free breakfast, and no refrigerator in your room.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim W, General Manager at Spring Mill Inn, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
We certainly appreciate your taking the time
to write to us concerning your recent stay with us.
Yes we are an older Inn but we work very hard at
keeping our Inn very clean and in good shape. We
know we are an older facility, but a very relaxing
place to stay. Thank you for staying with us and
we look forward to your next visit.
Kindest Personal Regards,
Tim W
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013 via mobile

Let me start by saying that Spring Mill State Park is very pretty. The hiking trails are nice (don't attempt the one by the lodge if you're not prepared for lots of hills), and the Gus Grissom Memorial is a very cool, albeit sad, tribute to the incredible achievements of the hometown hero. I also enjoyed the boat tour of Twin Caves. The inn has a nice rustic feel and a huge fireplace. The restaurant was unfortunately not quite what I hoped. The problem of the not-so-great restaurant was compounded by the lack of dining options in the area. Overall, it was a positive experience, but I doubt that I'll be back.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim W, General Manager at Spring Mill Inn, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for visiting the Spring Mill State Park and Inn.
We were happy to hear how much you enjoyed are Park.
Our Inn is very rustic but very comfortable, as you mentioned,
and very clean. We are sorry you did not like the restaurant
offerings. We would sincerely hope that you would consider
another visit so that we can make sure our restaurant
does a better job in the offerings of items that more than
meet your approval. Thank you again for coming to the
Spring Mill State Park and Inn.
Kindest Personal Regards,
Tim W
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Spring Mill Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spring Mill Inn

Address: Highway 60 East, Spring Mill State Park, PO Box 68, Mitchell, IN 47446-0068
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > Mitchell
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mitchell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Snuggled into a backdrop of stately oaks, this historic inn was constructed from native limestone during the late 1930s. As featured in Midwest Magazine, this location abounds in endless opportunities for recreation. Spring Mill Inn is located within the park, and offers modern conveniences that include a full service dining room, gift shop, indoor/outdoor pool, game room, and conference facilities. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Spring Mill Hotel Mitchell

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Spring Mill Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.