We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Must see!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Spring Mill Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Mitchell
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Spring Mill Inn
Save
You added Spring Mill Inn to your Saves list
Highway 60 East, Spring Mill State Park, PO Box 68, Mitchell, IN 47446-0068   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Kids eat FREE
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mitchell
Little Rock
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Must see!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

I wasn't privileged to be an overnight guest at this inn, but I am so glad I was fortunate to attend a group dinner there. What a beautiful facility located in the gorgeous woodland setting of Spring Mill Park.

The food was delicious and there were a few gluten-free selections on the buffet. The wait staff was delightful and attentive and dinner price was very reasonable. If you can't stay overnight, at least stop in for a tour and have a beverage while rocking on the massive front porch and do like I have and add it to you list of " must go back" places.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim W, General Manager at Spring Mill Inn, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for visiting the Spring Mill Inn.
We are pleased to know you enjoyed are
buffet and gluten free deserts. We look
forward to the next time you are in our area
and will be able to check-in and enjoy
our restaurant again. We appreciate your
taking the time to send your comments to
us.
Kindest personal regards,
Tim W
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    37
    13
    5
    3
See reviews for
47
40
7
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mitchell, Indiana
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

We are blessed to live in Mitchell, Indiana only 3 miles from the park. We go there at least 2 or 3 times a month. If not to eat for the senic drive. You will not be disapointed. It is by far the most visited and popular state park in Indiana. The Inn was built by the CCC camps and the hiking trails are first class. If you can spend a night or 2 I know like so many others you will go back. We always look forward to going and will never get tired of it. Very quiet, comfortable relaxing place!

Room Tip: Alway make reservations!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim W, General Manager at Spring Mill Inn, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
We certainly appreciate you taking the time to
write to Trip Advisor your positive comments
about the Spring Mill State Park and Inn. We
are very thrilled to know how often you come to
the Park for its trails and the restaurant.
This is one of the most beautiful areas of our great
state. Thank you!
Kindest personal regards,
Tim W
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bluegrass state
Top Contributor
233 reviews 233 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 96 cities Reviews in 96 cities
127 helpful votes 127 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Stayed one night here, touring around Mitchell & Bedford. What a pleasant surprise. We arrived late around 9:30 pm. There is someone @ the front desk 24 hrs. We stayed in room 120 on the lower level at the end of the hall. Pool & game room level. They have plenty of arcade games, air hockey, board games, cards to play. The swimming pool was great!! You can enter with your room key & you start indoor & swim under a tunnel & end up outside. So cool. The pool was heated!!! Nice job hotel. Most other hotel only heat a little, not here. Thoroughly enjoyed it. Towels @ front desk not at pool.
The rooms were average size. We stayed in the double bed room. Lodge decor. Very quaint & cute. You can rent DVDs to watch in your room. Small gift shop that has a few logo shirts, jackets, mugs. Toys, jewelry, toiletries forgotten.
Dining room was very tasty. Buffet for breakfast. Had biscuits & gravy, bacon,sausage,fruit,pancakes,muffins,cinnamon rolls,eggs,grits,hash browns,bagels,toast. Very nice selection. $30 including tip. For 3 of us. Very clean in rooms,bathrooms by the lobby. Planning to go back.

Room Tip: Pool level convenient with kids.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim W, General Manager at Spring Mill Inn, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
We here at the Spring Mill Inn are very happy that
you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for taking
the time to write your comments about your visit. We
do the best we can to make your experience with us
the best for you. We are pleased to know you
enjoyed the restaurant buffet and also the pool and
game room. Please come back and stay with us
again when you are in our area.
Kindest personal regards,
Tim W
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warren, Indiana
Top Contributor
148 reviews 148 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

While visiting Spring Mill Park, we decided to eat lunch at the restaurant in the Inn. There was a huge food bar with salads, soups, hot food, and desserts. Being hungry we decided to go for it! When it came time to pay the bill, we were a bit concerned. We had not checked the price! For all the delicious and unique foods as well as homemade pies, it was going to cost a great deal. But it was so good, we didn't care. We were shocked that it was less than $10!
In addition to the great food, the rustic atmosphere and the customer service made it even better. We had people serving us all over the place!
We checked out the rooms to see if we'd like to stay here some time. Very nice!! Not posh of course but lodge style.
Definitely check this out if you are visiting the park! These people know how to do it right!

Room Tip: The office desk next to the restaurant was extremely helpful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim W, General Manager at Spring Mill Inn, responded to this review, July 27, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you so very much for taking the time to
write a review of your experience at the Spring
Mill Inn. We really appreciate your comments
concerning your visit. We especially appreciate
your compliments concerning your dining experience
in our restaurant. We continue to try to make
our customers very happy with our service and
food quality at a fair price. Thank you again and
we look forward to your return visit.
Kindest personal regards,
Tim W
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LAPORTE, IN
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

Spring Mill Inn is a peaceful quiet place to stay surrounded by the beauty and sounds of nature. We stayed 4 nights and had a wonderful time. We enjoyed the wonderful front porch and rockers as a peaceful place to relax and the lovely pool to cool off and relax. The trails were beautiful to hike and the Pioneer village is one of our favorite places to visit. We ate in the dinning room two meals per day and our meals were good. The prices are not cheap but are competitive to other sit down restaurants. It was difficult at some meals to find low fat foods for my my husbands diet. The staff was very helpful. My father passed away on the day we were to arrive but when I called to change the reservation the staff was extremely helpful and understanding. We set the date three weeks ahead and we really needed the peaceful escape provided at the inn. We selected the Hoosier Get Away package and had delicious treats, cheeses, fruit and chilled sparkling grape juice waiting g for us in our room when we arrived. It was a wonderful room and place for us to heal and relax after a difficult time. The room was small but bathroom was large and it 'll suited our needs. Wish room had been large enough for two of the wonderful wood rockers rather than just one. We had a king bed room.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim W, General Manager at Spring Mill Inn, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
We really appreciate you taking the time to write
comments about your stay here at the Spring Mill Inn.
We are very glad to hear that we provided the comfort and
relaxing time you needed after your experience with a
difficult time in your lives in losing a love one. We are very
sorry for your loss. Please know we look forward to your
next visit and we will work on providing more low calorie
food items to make you even happier with your stay.
Kindest personal regards,
Tim W
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013 via mobile

If this hotel was sitting along an interstate exit I would say it was a little rough, but the setting of spring mill state park is amazing. Room was a little run down and the DVD player was a little out of place. No cell service, free but slow and spotty wifi. Restruant was ok priced but food was not very good. We did meet here for a family reunion however and for that this was the perfect place.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim W, General Manager at Spring Mill Inn, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
We so much appreciate your wonderful comments
about our Inn nestled in The Spring Mill State Park.
We here at the Spring Mill Inn really value your thoughts
about our Inn and Park. Thank you for taking the time to
wright about your experience here at the Inn and Park.
We look forward to your return visit.
Best personal regards,
Tim W
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffersonville, IN
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

Very nice Inn situation in Sprig Mill State park. Lots of activities in the Park to do. Visit the Grissom Space Museum or the pioneer village complete with a working Grist Mill. Explore caves or the old Hamer Cemetary.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim W, General Manager at Spring Mill Inn, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Dear Valued Visitor,
We thank you for having enjoyed your
experience here at the Spring Mill State
Park. We do have great activities you
can enjoy. Next time you are in the area
please stop Inn to the Spring Mill Inn and
we would encourage you to spend the night
and enjoy are wonderful restaurant.
Kindest personal regards,
Tim W
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Spring Mill Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spring Mill Inn

Address: Highway 60 East, Spring Mill State Park, PO Box 68, Mitchell, IN 47446-0068
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > Mitchell
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mitchell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Snuggled into a backdrop of stately oaks, this historic inn was constructed from native limestone during the late 1930s. As featured in Midwest Magazine, this location abounds in endless opportunities for recreation. Spring Mill Inn is located within the park, and offers modern conveniences that include a full service dining room, gift shop, indoor/outdoor pool, game room, and conference facilities. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Spring Mill Hotel Mitchell

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Spring Mill Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.