We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Carlson Inns sold our reserved room to someone else.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Country Inn & Suites Mishawaka

Save Saved
You added Country Inn & Suites Mishawaka to your Saves list
Country Inn & Suites Mishawaka
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites Mishawaka
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   120 West University Drive, Mishawaka, IN 46545   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Book early and Save 15%
Ranked #8 of 14 hotels in Mishawaka
Hartland, Wisconsin
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Carlson Inns sold our reserved room to someone else.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2010

On April 19, 2010, I made a fully prepaid reservation at the Country Inn & Suites Mishawaka, Indiana location for one non-smoking room with two queen beds for the night of September 11, 2010, confirmation number 7F9WHBS. Upon arrival to check in, we discovered that the greedy hotel oprerator could not resist the urge on a Notre Dame football weekend to sell our room to someone else, and they stuck us in a room with a king bed and an unfcomfortable pull-out sleeper sofa that they had the gall to label an "upgrade". I can tell you that sleeping on a three-inch pull-out sofa mattress is no upgrade at all from the queen size bed that we had reserved, and the so-called "upgrade" room should have been sold to the folks that the operator gave our reserved room to. To make matters worse, the hotel clerk accepted no responsibility for the fraud that had been pulled on us, and he was offended that I was at all upset at being the victim of the Country Inns' trickery in selling our room out from under us. He offered no apology whatsoever, and all he kept saying over and over again was, "I didn't do it."

We have been repeat customers of this Mishawaka hotel for the past 20 years or more. We'll never go back there again.

Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    26
    19
    10
    5
    5
See reviews for
30
10
7
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kimberly, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2010

This hotel was very nice. We found the room to be very clean, no stains or hair in the shower, no stains on the carpet. The cookies in the lobby were yummy, a nice touch. The staff was very friendly. The breakfast was very nice, plenty of choices for our family of 4. The location is also wonderful, lots of stores and places to eat right nearby. My only complaint had been the scratchy blankets, and after completing a quick online survey I was informed by the staff that they will be getting duvet/duvet covers soon. Awesome!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indy
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2010

We stayed in Mishawaka the night prior to my daughters Lacrosse game. 2 adults and 2 kids. We were looking for a suite type arrangement with two rooms. Perfectly adequate hotel for this purpose. Room and hotel were clean, the price was very reasonable, location near shopping and food is good, and the breakfast bar was decent(and included in the room proice). Good chocolate chip cookies at front desk. On the down side the furnishings were a bit dated, patterned chairs and couch(had some stains on them) and old style tube TVs but only could find one remote for the two TVs, and free internet was not working. Overall though, good value if you are looking for a decent place for family stay at affordable cost.

Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay City, Michigan
Top Contributor
927 reviews 927 reviews
115 hotel reviews
Reviews in 254 cities Reviews in 254 cities
2,026 helpful votes 2,026 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2010

Spent one night here, arriving very late (1:30 or so AM) after leaving Chicago. The hotel was difficult to find, since we could not get good directions from the desk clerk, who I phoned twice. Upon arriving, we saw two young boys running around the pool-at 1:30 AM. After registering, and going back out to the car for our luggage, when we re-entered the hotel, the lights in the pool were off and the boys were going upstairs. Hmmm?

The room was nice and the bed comfortable. I believe this hotel might be new. Very clean. All furniture in good condition. Good lighting. King bed, nightstands on each side. One with phone, one with clock. One luggage rack. Several hangers, one storage shelf. Nice, long wooden dresser with 4 drawers. TV sits on this piece of furniture-and it is an old TV! Desk is nice size and has a good chair that swivels and rocks. A phone located on desk, also.

Bathroom huge! Nice products, good shower pressure, decent towels.

Large parking lot, good lighting. Nice lobby areas with fire going. Check out was better than check in, but still not the friendliest. Breakfast we did not partake in. Pool looked very clean, as was all common areas.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
travelgalindiana, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites Mishawaka, responded to this review, March 29, 2010
Thank you for taking the time to post a response on Trip Advisor. We always like to see that our guests enjoy their stay, and I could see for the most part you did enjoy your stay. I have to say, I was very surprised about the kids in the pool, as children are not supposed to be in the pool area after 11:00pm and must be supervised if under 14? We are working on New TV's and those will be in place by the end of the year, as you know the economy has taken its toll on our industry as well. We truly pride ourselves with friendly service, and will be checking into who checked you in and out, as that is one thing we never get complaints on. We hope that when you return to Mishawaka, you will use our hotel again, and expereience all the positive changes that will be taking place this year, including our new breakfast!
Once again, thank you for your response, and have a wonderful day
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern Indiana
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2009

We were on our college search trip with our son and stayed here while checking out Notre Dame. The night before, we stayed on Purdue's campus at their Union Club Hotel. This hotel was MUCH nicer than the room we had at Purdue. Many restaurants in the area, and only about a 10 minute drive to the ND campus. Front desk was very helpful in giving directions to the campus. I felt like I had to leave a review here as this is the site I used to check out this hotel. We did not have any of the problems mentioned by others. Mishawaka is more commercial/retail than South Bend is, great shopping.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Altoona, Pennsylvania
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2008

My daughter and I just returned from a nine-day stay at the Country Inn & Suites, as we were in town for an event at Notre Dame. We really enjoyed our time at this property. All areas of the hotel were clean, including the breakfast area and pool. Our room was kept spotless by a wonderful staff of housekeepers including Annie, who introduced herself on our first or second day there. The hotel's location is terrific, with a great variety of shops and restaurants within the immediate area. The only drawback, as noted by other reviews here, is that there is no elevator. It wasn't a big problem for us, but I did alert others in our group who were arriving with much more luggage to relocate to a first floor room.

  • Liked — Cleanliness and location
  • Disliked — No elevator
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2008

I don't know about these other folks but I loved it again. I am a very fussy person and this is a very clean hotel! Staff was wondeful as always. First time I stayed was for a death in our family and have returned three times and will always stay here. Rooms are spacious and clean. Location is excellent! Very welcoming during the frozen snow storm we expreienced and the pool was great in the summer. What more can I say. Loved it and will stay again. Feels like home!!!!

  • Liked — Staff and cleanliness
  • Disliked — Nothing...
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Country Inn & Suites Mishawaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites Mishawaka

Address: 120 West University Drive, Mishawaka, IN 46545
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > Mishawaka
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 14 hotels in Mishawaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites Mishawaka 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Here at the Country Inn & Suites we strive to provide a quality product, excellent guest service, and a warm and comfortable place to stay. We offer complimentary high-speed internet, hot breakfast, and fresh cookies and coffee 24/7. We also welcome your furry friends by being pet-freindly. We have designate pet rooms if you would like to bring along your best friend. We also have guest laundry seervices on-site for your convenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Carlson, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Expedia, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Country Inn & Suites Mishawaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn & Suites Mishawaka Hotel Mishawaka
Country Inn And Suites Mishawaka
Country Inn Mishawaka
Mishawaka Country Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Country Inn & Suites Mishawaka, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.