We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Korean food in years” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sunny's Korean Restaurant

Sunny's Korean Restaurant
512 S Spring St, Mishawaka, IN 46544
574-255-5274
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 167 restaurants in Mishawaka
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Asian, Korean, Vegan, Vegetarian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Sunny’s Korean Restaurant has been operating in Mishawaka since March of 1992. For nearly 20 years we have had the pleasure of sharing with the community homemade, fresh, healthy, and delicious Korean cuisine. ‘Sunny’, who hails from South Korea, fuses her style and creativity into traditional Korean dishes delivering something special in every bite. All items can be ordered mild, spicy, or hot according to your liking and include no MSG.We offer an ‘All You Can Eat’ buffet on Friday & Saturday evenings (5p-9p), featuring a 2 or 3 meat special for $16.95 & $24.95. Included is your choice of Soup, Appetizer, Side Dishes, Steamed Rice, and 3-4 Entrees.Reservations & Big Parties are Welcome. Catering, Private Parties, and Cooking Lessons Available.We look forward to seeing you for lunch or dinner soon!
PORTAGE
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Best Korean food in years”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

I previously lived in Hawaii and had authentic Korean food for years. While working in Chicago I never found anywhere that could come close. While in South Bend I found this place on yelp and visited it on a whim. I am so glad I did! The food is amazing and Sunny is an awesome host! Go try this place, you will not be disappointed!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

85% Recommend
    15
    2
    2
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Elkhart, Indiana, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“We love Sunny's”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

We eat at Sunny's every chance we get. Sunny is very personable and always comes out to greet guests. We prefer to go between lunch and dinner rush so we can visit. I always feel like we're eating at Sunny's house instead of her place of business. The food is always fresh and delicious. Sunny makes the best winter Kimchi I've ever had. She also offers cooking classes for those interested in learning how to cook Korean food at home!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Fresh food,spicy, definitely Korean.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012 via mobile

Wanted to try Sunny's for awhile and on this Friday evening took a chance for some takeout. According to my better half the place is a little dated and could use some music. Also paper bags leaked in car on way home. Besides these small complaints, the food is great. Overordered so the bill was large but got plenty of left-overs for the weekend. Next time we want some fresh and spicy fare, Sunny's has proved they can take care of us.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Home cooking Korean style”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

I have been eating at Sunnys since her restaurant was in North Liberty. The Kim Bob is wonderful and we always have to get a second order because it is gone so fast. My favorite is the Bi Bim Bob. Huge bowl of goodness. If you are expecting "food court" taste, you won't get it here. It is authentic Korean. Always good always fresh. Well worth a trip.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mishawaka, Indiana
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

Great food! Inexpensive, huge portions and delicious!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Sunny's Korean Restaurant, responded to this review, July 10, 2012
Thank you for coming by! We are so delighted to know you enjoyed it :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sunny's Korean Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Sunny's Korean Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunny's Korean Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.